We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Odessa, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly staff and nice amenities. Their units had a washer/dryer and a kitchenette, and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds were very nice, but I would not call it a "beachfront" hotel, but we did not have time for the beach anyway. The dryer was very fast and helped clean all our stuff for the next location. I really liked their little country store that had wonderful breakfast and lunch sandwiches, and small salads, etc, and it opened early enough for us to catch a meal to go as we went to catch our tours. The pool and hot tubs were nice and convenient to the rooms. We did not bring children but it waqs very child-friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They offer a (one) free breakfast each morning if you do not require room service, but make sure tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Lexaqua: Thank you for your review and for highly recommending The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas as a place to stay. We appreciate that you have also recognized the friendly staff at the resort. The spacious villa amenities have the comforts of home including the fully equipped kitchens, flat panel TVs with DVD players, Bose Stereos, whirlpool tubs and separate showers in the bathroom, the Westin Heavenly Beds, washer/dryers, complimentary high speed internet access and more. The resort is not a beachfront resort being located on an ocean bluff 200 feet above the Pacific Ocean. There are some of the islands most beautiful beaches within a close drive from the resort. The staff provides a Beach Escape Guide which outlines the nearby beaches, facilities available, driving directions and ocean safety information. We are delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of the Princeville Market which opens at 6:00 am and closes at 8:00 pm. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    415
    152
    41
    29
See reviews for
370
734
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We got an offer to visit on a timeshare presentation that was mandatory and were told it would have no pressure. The manager was all high pressure; be prepared for high pressure if you take the timeshare presentation. The manager we had was rude as well.

The grounds are lovely but they do not have beach access. You can use the beach at the Princeville but not the pool. The beach is public access anyway so you could go to it regardless.

The quality of the rooms is questionable as well, we had a door fall off of a kitchen cabinet and we could hear conversations in the rooms on both sides and above us.

One more thing I was traveling with an infant that is learning to walk. The luggage delivery guys move those carts so quickly through the resort they almost hit my infant twice. That was with me trying to stay out of the main traffic areas. I understand they need to get places quickly but I shouldn't need to worry about my infant getting hit by a luggage cart.

Overall, we had a bad experience and will not be returning. There are a lot of places to stay in the Princeville area I will look into anything else if we return to this island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Aloha 77swimmer,

Thank you for joining us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and for taking the time to share your experience. We were disappointed to hear of your negative experience during your tour and would appreciate the opportunity to learn more. Please reach out to us at 808-827-8700 and ask for Mike Schorr, Project Director. Further, we apologize for the scare with our luggage carts as this is not indicative of our standards. The safety of our guests and associates is our top priority, and we have addressed this issue with our team to ensure this does not occur again. We hope for the opportunity to turn around your impression of The Westin Princeville and look forward to speaking with you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Got an offer from Westin to stay here for a week for a discounted price in exchange for letting them sell their timeshare presentation. Stayed in a studio villa for 6 days, 5 nights in building 4

Pros:
-First of all, their timeshare presentation is NOT mandatory. But we decided to go anyway and they were really friendly and didn't pressure us whatsoever. It was nice to just learn more info without getting pushed to buy right away. Plus, they're part of Starwoods so if we were ever to do a timeshare, they'd definitely be a solid option.
-We stayed on the first floor in building 4. The studio villa itself is pretty comfortable for 2 people and it comes with a kitchen (I highly suggest you hit up Costco when you land at the airport since it's only 5 min from the airport and it's WAY cheaper than the Westin Market and all the other stores).
-3 pools - 1 main and 2 adult-only pools
-It's located in NorthShore so it's really easy to access the best beaches and highway 560 for the pretty drive
-Staff is very friendly and always helpful
-24 hour gym. This is apparently a pro for my husband (who woke up at 3AM due to jetlag and went here lol)

Cons:
-Although it was relatively quiet, you CAN hear the neighboring rooms talking (loud enough that you can sort of make out what they're saying)
-It was raining a lot when we were there so there were several blackouts that occurred. Luckily, they didn't last longer than 10 min and they either happened while we were sleeping, or during the day when it was really bright out. But still.
-No beach access but you can access it from St. Regis. The only thing here is that St. Regis is significantly nicer (duh) so it might make you jealou/sad but whatever. You should still check it, at least from the balcony of their amazing view.

Tips:
-If you don't have kids, request building 4 (building 6 books really fast). I was hesitant since building 4 overlooks the parking lot BUT...it actually doesn't. There's only rooms on one side of the building (which overlooks the golf course and gives you partial ocean view AND sunsets). The only downside is that if you have a room on the first floor, there will occasionally be golfers right in front of your room. I woke up one morning and opened the curtains to 3 people standing right in front of our room and it scared the crap out of me.

Overall, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Building 4 (it's further BUT all their rooms face the golf course with a partial ocean view (AND...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Diana Y: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay. It is nice to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. The villas provides the comforts of home including a fully equipped kitchen, whirlpool tubs in the rooms, washer/dryer, DVD players, the Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, complimentary high speed internet access and more. Our guests also like the option of using one of the 20 BBQ grills throughout the resort for casual dining or choosing to dine in Nanea Restaurant to enjoy some island inspired cuisine. We are happy that your husband was able to use the Westin Workout early in the morning. Although we are not a beachfront resort as our location is on an ocean bluff 200 feet above the Pacific Ocean, there are some of the most beautiful beaches on the island within a short drive from the resort. , The staff provides guests with a Beach Guide that outlines these wonderful beaches and provides information on the facilities at the different beaches, lifeguard information, driving directions and ocean safety information. Mahalo for recommending our resort as a place for people to stay while on Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived on a busy day but the staff was efficient and helpful. Our room was a perfect size with a separate bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and had a nice deep Jacuzzi tub. The kitchen was well equipped and the bbq's outside were well maintained and we enjoyed using them. We found it very helpful that there was a small washer/dryer combo. The bed was very comfortable and their was very little noise so we slept well. The pools we beautiful and we particularly enjoyed the pool with the infinity edge that looked out on the bluff above the ocean. Beautiful sunrises as we sat by the poolside or in the hot tub. The sunsets were easily viewed on the golf green just around the building. We had dinner in the dining room and it was excellent and we enjoyed our friendly waiter. Breakfast was a little less enjoyable as some birds were at our table relentlessly harassing us while we ate. We ordered pizza from the little market and it was very good as were the morning lattes. We had some trouble with our a/c and a wet rug. It took about 3 days for it to be fixed but the staff tried hard and were very attentive. The grounds were beautiful and the sunsets unforgettable. We hope to return.

Room Tip: If you have children you may want to request a room near the kiddie pool area. As a couple we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear shasta1520: Thank you for your review and for recognizing the staff efficiency and helpfulness. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations which all include a deep whirlpool tub, fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, the Westin Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Bath, complimentary high speed internet access and more. We apologize for the issues you had with the Air Conditioner and wet carpet and are glad to hear that the staff was able to resolve the situation to your satisfaction. We hope you will choose to stay with again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We had reservations at the Marriott. They were doing construction and the noise was bad. Our friends were at this Westin Resort and were able to get us in. We loved our room equipped with a kitchenette and washer and dryer. We all decided to cook out using their grills and outdoor seating. It was so relaxing. The pool was right outside our door and the baby chickens were pecking at our doors to give them food. We had been traveling all the Hawaiian islands for weeks. This was our last stop and we decided that Kauai and this resort was by far the favorite. Food was very good. We recommend this island and this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Aloha Hockeymomgg: Thank you for your review and recommending The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort as a place to stay. We are happy that we were able to provide you with a nice relaxing last stop for your Hawaiian Island visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities including the in villa amenities such as the fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryers as well as using one of the 20 BBQ grills located throughout the resort for our guest use. We hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We visited this past week with my in laws and two small children. The resort was gorgeous! The staff and concierge were very helpful and hospitable. The keiko (kids pool) was a highlight for my little girls. We also enjoyed the activities (lei making) on property. The staff even allowed us to borrow beach chairs and boogie boards for the week! I cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the quiet pool which was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was the second time we stayed here and we enjoyed it again. We were only here a week this time as opposed to two weeks last trip, but this week seemed as if it were much longer. Everything about this resort is top notch. We are owners at the Kierland Villas in Scottsdale, but we come to Hawaii more often. We had the option of exchanging daily room cleaning for breakfast vouchers and took advantage of that. The breakfast buffet was wonderful each morning.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a studio and this trip we upgraded to a one bedroom. The studio is OK if there are...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are recycle bins located in all rooms and throughout the property. You can choose to get fresh towels and linens or reuse the ones you have.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.