We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 st class facility in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Francesville, Indiana
1 review
“1 st class facility in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was one of the nicest places we've stayed in. Great rooms beautiful grounds and views location was close to golf and great good. We were impressed with the nice grill areas and great kitchens in units. The market there was great with Starbucks coffee. Rated best ever!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Peggyjg: It is nice to hear that you had a great stay. We are located in the Princeville Resort area surrounded by two world class golf courses – The Prince Course and the Makai Course. The resort offers the comforts of home with spacious accommodations including fully equipped kitchens, whirlpool tubs in each villa, the Westin Heavenly bed, complimentary high speed internet access and more. We are glad that you made use of one of the 20 BBQ grills that are located throughout the resort. The Princeville Market located at the resort has prepared grillable steaks, chicken, fish, and vegetarian items as well as Starbucks coffee drinks, delicious smoothie and many more grab and go offerings. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the islands. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    350
    133
    34
    23
See reviews for
316
631
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Westin Princeville is a stunning property. The villas are well appointed and in great shape. There are five different pools on property to choose from and the grounds are immaculate. The restaurant has great food and Katherine M. does a great job. She is pleasant and engages you in conversation. Her service was excellent. James at the registration desk was also a shinning star. He explained the necessary details about the property but also engaged us on what are plans were while on the island. He was great to interact with and showed genuine concern with making our trip memorable. The concierge staff was also friendly and helpful. Not a fan of having to pay to park but that seems to be the indurstry standard. Overall we had a great experience and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The one bedroom studio was ok but we upgraded to the one bedroom suite and were much happier. A lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Aloha mark1018: Thank you for the great review on your recent stay and the wonderful comments you posted recognizing the great job that Katherine M, James and the concierge staff does to ensure our guests have a nice guest experience. The resort has several pools spread throughout the 19 acres which enables guests to find a nice area to their liking. Although we do have a daily overnight parking fee which are the same whether you self park or valet park, we do not charge a Resort Fee. Amenities such as high speed internet access in the villas and public areas and shuttle service within the Princeville Resort area is complimentary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

High on a cliff overlooking the magnificently blue Pacific Ocean sits the finest property in Kauai. 175 perfectly situated units all with an Ocean View. Five Pools, Three Hot Tubs, a fully equipped work out room, and a fine restaurant complete the package. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with everything you need to feel right at home. The service staff is the best. If you need to get away and relax, give this one a try. You will love it.
Leighton Rockafellow
Tucson, Az

Room Tip: All rooms are good but building 3 and building 7 are closest to the cliff and give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Aloha Leighton R: Thank you for outlining the many features and amenities of the resort. We are delighted that you had a nice stay with us. Mahalo for taking the time to also mention the service that that staff provides. The resort truly provides a relaxing and rejuvenating experience. We hope you will return soon. Until then, Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from an awesome trip to Kauai. We traded into the Westin with our timeshare unit via II and had a spacious 2 BR unit which comfortably slept 7 of us.

Pros:
-A fantastic resort, great pools, friendly staff, beautiful views. -
-Upscale Princeville neighborhood & golf course.
-Very clean, lots of pool space, well maintained grills and seating areas.
-Close to Na Pali coast and Hanalei Bay.

Cons:
-Possible spotty weather in winter, may need to drive 30 mins to Kapaa or 1 hr to Poipu for sunny weather. Just plan on a scenic drive if you want better weather.
-Vacation counselors seemed only interested in setting up timeshare presentations. I had two separate interactions with them and as soon as I said not interested, friendly, personal touch was gone. Could be less obvious.
-Workout room extremely small given the size of the property and number of occupants
-No oven, just a stovetop, so couldn't cook a pizza.

Would highly recommend and would love to stay at the Westin Princeville again.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 4 in room 4105. had a great view of the golf course and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Quite a bit late with this review, as I stayed here almost a year ago, but would still like to give a quick review. We really enjoyed this property, from its location near the water, to its golf course and ocean views, and it's proximity to the St. Regis where you could take a shuttle and use it's beach (but not the pool). My only issues were that the pool area was often very windy, and that it was not beachfront. Even though it's pretty easy to take the shuttle to the beach by the St. Regis, it's still a bit of a hassle, especially with kids. I would return though if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our experience was good but not what was expected. We booked a 500 plus square foot studio which should have translated into a very large room. The room was large but the space did not provide for an adequate bedroom sitting area. No better than a less than average hotel room. The problem is that the layout of the room is so poor. A spacious bathroom and entry area eat up much of the square footage. The balcony/outdoor area is totally inadequate, barely enough room for someone to sit and read. Room service while prompt is very limited and imagine paying $12.00 for a pitcher of iced tea. Together with tip and taxes the iced tea added $15.00 to a bill for a small pizza, total $35.00 for the two items. There is a $13 per day charge to self park your car, another way to pick your pocket since it's impossible to get around without a car.
This is not an upscale experience as in The Four Seasons Residence group, but adequate for a family vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha StanLee0413,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas for your recent stay in the islands and for sharing your experience with us. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the property, location and friendliness of the staff, however, we are sorry to hear that your expectations were unmet in other regards, such as your room's layout and your room service experience. We were also disappointed that you did not find the value in the option to self or valet park for a nominal fee, as items such as Wifi and several resort activities are complimentary to our guests with no resort fee. Your comments have been shared with our team to continually improve the guest experience at The Westin Princeville, and we hope you will consider a future stay at our little corner of paradise. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I love the Westin Princeville! The rooms are spacious and clean! We appreciate having a small kitchen , washer and dryer! The views and pools are gorgeous! Our favorite being the view of the ocean (day) and stars (night) from the back hot tub. We went to Hawaiian night at their restaurant Nanea. We had our own private guitar player and hula dancer-they took requests, very fun! We saw a double rainbow and the whales & dolphin playing at sea! However, our favorite part of the Westin Princeville was the people! We were there when the surf was huge and it was a little chilly in the mornings. Several mornings we decided to try some of the activities at the resort. (We usually don't participate in these types of things when on vacation) We made a fresh flower lei, got airbrush tattoos, learned a hula dance and watched and then tasted the cooking demo (pukka? Some type of yummy fish!). The girls there at the activity hut -Mytra and Karlyn went out of their way to make sure we we having fun and gave us some good tips on fresh fish markets and waterfalls to visit! If you visit the Westin Princeville and your weather is a little iffy, don't miss the fun at the hut!! Flowers are gorgeous! Love all the lit torches at night! We travel quite a bit, our only complaint about our trip to Kauai was that we just didn't stay long enough!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean or pool room view. Everything pretty centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Cindy44077. Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort including the rooms, amenities, on site activities and other experiences you encountered during your stay. It is nice that you were able to participate in some of the Hawaiian cultural activities that our staff loves to share with our guests at the same time they also share different island experiences that may interest you. Poke which is a Hawaiian seasoned raw fish popular with residents and is a favorite for many of our guests. It is offered on the Nanea Restaurant lunch and dinner menu. We are happy you had an opportunity to try it. We hope it will not be too long before you have an opportunity to visit us again. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.