We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise... with a kitchen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise... with a kitchen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are quite pleased with the Westin in terms of location, the room and the overall property. I loved having a kitchen and full size fridge. They also offers gas grills throughout the property, which we took advantage of a few times. There is also a grocery store just a few miles down the road. These all gave us affordable options vs. eating out for 3 meals. As this property is on the north, keep plans and timing in mind for any activities on the south side of the island. We actually split our days between the north and south. The room was equipped with a washer and dryer, meaning you can bring less clothes. The property was beautiful. Very lush. I was happy with the number of pool chairs and umbrellas. We could always find a spot with a bit of shade. It could be the time of year as this felt mostly adult with very few kids. Made for a very relaxing time. The property offered a number of activities, wine tasting, etc. but our schedule didn't allows for us to take advantage of the offerings. We were there on Halloween and the hotel employees created and adorable haunted house in one of the rooms for the kids on property. I thought that went above and beyond.. Possible negative... This property does not have direct beach access as it's on a cliff. However, you can take the shuttle to their sister property that is right on the beach. We did so and it was very nice. Overall, I'd stay her again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Be specific about what you like... Ground floor, morning sun, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Aloha Dmctimm: We are delighted that you were pleased with your recent stat with us. Thank you for recognizing the team and the efforts they made to create a fun guest experience over Halloween. We are happy that you enjoyed the villa amenities which include the fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and more. The resort has 20 BBQ grills spread throughout the resort that provides the option of a casual meal with family and friends or dining out at Nanea Restaurant. Although the resort is not beachfront as we are located on an ocean bluff 200 feet overlooking the Pacific Ocean, there some of the most beautiful beaches on the north shore of Kaua’i. The staff offers a Beach Guide that outlines the beaches located a short drive from the resort. The guide outlines the facilities at the different beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    386
    143
    36
    23
See reviews for
344
677
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Property was under construction in certain areas, outside our room in building 5. Very family oriented with no kids specific area, so tough to find quiet spot by pool or in hot tubs - even in two smaller pools or at dinner / bar area in Nanea restaurant. Conceirge had a "personalized Conceirge" concept, but ours was rarely there. Room Rate was ok, all rooms have w/d, kitchenette. Self park an addition $13. Rooms are standard tile and lights took a few minute after flickering. Westin Workout room was highlight. Great location on north shore and two miles from St. Regis and prince golf course. Good value hotel and service friendly, but not luxury.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear ksaridakis: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the location on the north shore of Kaua’i. The minor construction that we had around the entrance to building 5 is part of an energy sustainability project and work around this building is just about complete. We are delighted to be working toward being sustainable and energy efficient by producing our own electricity with this Co-Gen project. We are located adjacent to both the Prince Course and the Makai Golf Course and both courses offer special golf rates to registered guests of The Westin Princeville. The resort has 4 pools in which one is the Malie pool designated as the “quiet pool” for our guests comfort and one is a designated Kid’s pool with spouting turtles and slide. It is great that you enjoyed the Westin Workout which also includes a steam room and sauna. Thank you for recognizing the staff friendliness. We hope to see you back on a future visit. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just added a third Starwood week! What a great property! Only 174 villas and well laid out to make it easy to move around. Plenty of pools and gas grilles for everyone. This is truly a slice of paradise. Can't wait to come back New Years of 2015!!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear greendragon63: Thank you for your review on the resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and have added a third Starwood ownership week. The resort is spread out on almost 19 acres which provides a feel of relaxation. Some of the many amenities in addition to the 20 BBQ grills are complimentary high speed internet access throughout the villas and public areas, 4 pools and 3 whirlpools, the Nanea Restaurant, Princeville Market, Westin Workout, Westin Kid’s Club and of course in the villas are the Westin Heavenly Beds and Heavenly Baths that all include whirlpool tubs and separate showers. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was a 40th birthday gift to myself and one well worth it. Along with the kitchenette, the view from my room offered a daily time of reflection. I also loved having access to two Troon Golf Courses on property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Aloha ELS: Happy belated 40th birthday. Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate this special occasion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the villa and the view and amenities that were included. We are fortunate to be surrounded by two world class golf courses. On the east side of our resort is the Prince Course, named the number one golf course in Hawai’i by Golf Digest. On the west side of our resort is the newly renovated Makai Course operated by Troon Golf and named one of the top 5 courses in Hawai’i by Golf Digest. Both golf courses offer special rates to registered guest of The Westin Princeville. We hope you will stay with us again. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently stayed there on a six day package offered by Starwood. Just before we left, we saw a highly negative review here from someone who apparently stayed here on a similar package. The reviewer gave it just one star, and complained about several things, including not being able to access the pool, and dissatisfaction with room choices. Since my wife and I were planning to spend our anniversary there, we arrived with a great deal of trepidation, and actually made plans to stay elsewhere if we were dissatisfied.

However, when we arrived, it was if someone yelled "April Fool!" We were astonished about how far the review was from our reality. First, the main pool, which was under repair just a week before, was now fully operational. We were assigned to a "studio villa" with a view of the rear pool and a partial view of the ocean. The ocean view was stunning. Our room was big, with a desk, a whirlpool bath, walk in shower, marble countertops, full-size stainless steel refrigerator, two burner stovetop, kitchen sink, plates and utensils. washer and drier, free wi-fi, "lanai," and on and on.

The previous reviewer complained about being assigned a room facing another building. Like many resorts, this is true to some extent-- however, the buildings are separated by trees and greenery.

We were contacted by the concierge before we arrived, but because she wasn't there the first day, we dealt with a couple of others. They were very helpful, making reservations for us for Smith's Luau, Sunshine Helicopter tour, and reservations at the Kauai Grill at the nearby sister St. Regis resort. However, it was clear that they also had other agendas. I had done research on the various luaus in Kauai and decided that Smith's was the one we wanted; however she tried to push another one which was more than double the price.

She also encouraged us to go to a time share demonstration for Westin Princeville (yes, it is a timeshare, although a relatively good one, despite their insistence that it was not)), by doubling the resort credit. She assured us that it wouldn't take more than an hour and a half, which was a concern because we wanted to sight-see on the island and get to our luau in time.

If there is a reason I don't rate the Weston higher, is because of the time share presentation, which actually took THREE hours, plus plan to spend another hour if you decide to buy. They made several unverifiable claims. For instance, they offered us 130,000 Starwood Points if we immediately bought the lowest level of time share , which they claimed we would be able to fly round trip to Europe and stay in a hotel for more than two weeks. While 130,000 points could get us a very nice vacation, their claim was a gross exaggeration. In the end, we decided to buy, knowing that we could cancel within a short time frame if we changed our minds. We did research and canceled after we found that resales were available for a fraction of the offered price (albeit, as the salesman said, "without all the bells and whistles.")

We had a wonderful time at the Westin Prniceville and Kauai, and highly recommend this to others, particularly if you can get the six day package with mid-size automobile and resort credit. The reason I don't give it my highest rating is because of the time-share pitch. However, you won't be required to attend the session if you take the package.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Enable:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. The villas are spacious accommodations with 500 square feet of space in the studios and almost 800 square feet in the one bedroom villas. Our guests enjoy the conveniences of home including a fully equipped kitchen, whirlpool tubs, separate shower, Flat panel TVs with DVD players, complimentary high speed internet access (both wireless and wired) and more. In addition, the resort offers complimentary shuttle service within the Princeville Resort and there is no resort fee. We apologize that the voluntary vacation ownership presentation took longer than you expected and we are looking at this area to address any opportunities to make revisions. We hope you will return on your next visit to our beautiful island of Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, relax, and disconnect from the rest. Beautiful grounds, luxury units, gorgeous views, and very friendly staff. World class golf and just a quick hop to horse back riding, surfing, and snorkeling.....but scuba is way out on the other side of island. A short drive to Hanalei with good restaurants. The only negative is lack of beach access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Aloha SH_PDX: Mahalo for the review on your recent stay with us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. It is nice to hear that you had a relaxing getaway with us. Thank you for your comments on the grounds, villas and also for recognizing the friendly staff. The North Shore of Kaua’i offers many activities such as golf, tennis, zipline, horseback riding, kayak and more. Over the late spring, summer and early fall, there are many beaches nearby with great snorkeling. Although we are not a beachfront resort, there some of the most beautiful beaches throughout the islands nearby. The staff provides beach guides that outline the beaches located near the resort. The guide provides information on the beaches, facilities available at the beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the islands. Thank you and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days of our 10 day honeymoon. We fell in love with kauai and this resort! The rooms were absolutely perfect. We had a 2 person bathtub, shower, kitchen, couch, and heavenly king bed. We loved having a kitchen and being able to save costs by eating in. We loved the pool between bldg 6 and 7. One of our best moments of the trip was being in that pool while the sun was shining and it was raining. The nanea breakfast was better than any other brunch we had in Hawaii and well worth the money. The dinner we had was also delicious. Get the hula chicken you will not be disappointed. Also, take advantage of the free valet at the st Regis and go spend. Few hours at the beach there and get lunch by the pool. It was magical. Please stay here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Carrie M: Congratulations on your recent marriage. We are happy that you were able to spend part of your honeymoon with us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. The spacious one bedroom villas provide lots of living space with the separate living room, fully equipped kitchen, bedroom with the king size Westin Heavenly Bed and large bathroom with whirlpool tub and separate shower. We are delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner at Nanea Restaurant and the featured island inspired cuisine. We hope to see you back with us again soon. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.