We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, relax, and disconnect from the rest. Beautiful grounds, luxury units, gorgeous views, and very friendly staff. World class golf and just a quick hop to horse back riding, surfing, and snorkeling.....but scuba is way out on the other side of island. A short drive to Hanalei with good restaurants. The only negative is lack of beach access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Aloha SH_PDX: Mahalo for the review on your recent stay with us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. It is nice to hear that you had a relaxing getaway with us. Thank you for your comments on the grounds, villas and also for recognizing the friendly staff. The North Shore of Kaua’i offers many activities such as golf, tennis, zipline, horseback riding, kayak and more. Over the late spring, summer and early fall, there are many beaches nearby with great snorkeling. Although we are not a beachfront resort, there some of the most beautiful beaches throughout the islands nearby. The staff provides beach guides that outline the beaches located near the resort. The guide provides information on the beaches, facilities available at the beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the islands. Thank you and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    355
    134
    34
    23
See reviews for
318
634
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days of our 10 day honeymoon. We fell in love with kauai and this resort! The rooms were absolutely perfect. We had a 2 person bathtub, shower, kitchen, couch, and heavenly king bed. We loved having a kitchen and being able to save costs by eating in. We loved the pool between bldg 6 and 7. One of our best moments of the trip was being in that pool while the sun was shining and it was raining. The nanea breakfast was better than any other brunch we had in Hawaii and well worth the money. The dinner we had was also delicious. Get the hula chicken you will not be disappointed. Also, take advantage of the free valet at the st Regis and go spend. Few hours at the beach there and get lunch by the pool. It was magical. Please stay here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Carrie M: Congratulations on your recent marriage. We are happy that you were able to spend part of your honeymoon with us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. The spacious one bedroom villas provide lots of living space with the separate living room, fully equipped kitchen, bedroom with the king size Westin Heavenly Bed and large bathroom with whirlpool tub and separate shower. We are delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner at Nanea Restaurant and the featured island inspired cuisine. We hope to see you back with us again soon. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

There's nothing like going to a Starwood Category 6 resort. Natural wake-up calls were provided by roosters at 0500 (or earlier) right outside your Garden View Window. The light fixture was falling out of the ceiling over the dining room table and the shaving mirror was installed upside down. That's what I call attention to detail! That being said, the food was very good at their "formal" restaurant, Nanea, and the staff was very friendly. They also repaired the light fixture and reconfigured the shaving mirror promptly.
If you go… 1) Make sure you request an interior view room on the highest floor possible.
2) Wear noise abatement earphones.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Aloha Andrew R,

Mahalo for choosing The Westin Princeville and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We apologize for the status of your room amenities upon your arrival, as this is certainly not indicative of our standards. We appreciate you reaching out to our team to remedy your concerns. We apologize that your sleep was disrupted by the surrounding wildlife. While many of our guests find the chickens to be a charming aspect of Kaua'i, the resort is working with the Department of Land and Natural Resources for an environmentally friendly solution to reduce such inconveniences. We hope you will consider visiting us again and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at the Westin Princeville Resort in Kauai, HI. The apartments are beautifully appointed, very clean and well kept. The grounds are exquisitely kept, the pools are lovely, as are the areas around them. Good restaurant on the site.

The scenery around the resort is fabulously Hawaii, cliffs and mountains. In the apartment, the Westin bedding is superb for a good night's sleep, in fact when we came back home, we ordered pillows from the Westin website!!

The staff at the resort were very friendly, helpful and so accommodating to our every need.

The area is close to a shopping center where one can shop for food for the apartment and there are nice restaurants not too far from Princeville.

This is a fabulous resort and we will surely be returning for this Hawaiian hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Aloha Rebe K: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your return stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on your positive experience at the rsort. Thank you for recognizing the staff friendliness and helpfulness. We are delighted that you had a fabulous return visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

After expressing dissatisfaction with a one-bedroom unit overlooking an industrial-sized central a/c unit outside building six, we were offered a similar large & well-furnished room overlooking the main pool & gardens.

The facility is very spacious, nicely landscaped & does not feel overcrowded like the big resorts in Poipu. Lagoon-type pool was enjoyable; ditto for the pleasantly hot outdoor "tub." Numerous Viking propane grills are available adjacent to each building, plus a restaurant where food was quite good except for a very mediocre buffet breakfast.

Location is great for North Coast hikes, surfing, golf, birding around Kilawea Lighthouse or other outdoor activities. Recently resurfaced tennis courts & pro shop are available just down the road at Makai Golf Club, where a $70 one-month membership is an excellent deal unless you hit a week of rain like we just experienced.

Major downsides are 1) few if any rooms have ocean views, and 2) no easy beach access. There's a pleasant enough sandy public beach down a moderately steep dirt road by the resort entrance, or Westin guests have beach use rights at the St. Regis, about a mile down the road.

In short, this Westin is not nearly as fancy or well-equipped as the Grand Hyatt, but it's a lot more tranquil & family-oriented & not so obviously aimed at just the 1%, though it's still quite pricey.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear DonL. We are delighted that you enjoyed a tranquil escape with us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. Thank you for mentioning that it is a great place to stay when exploring the North Shore of Kaua’i and the many activities and attractions nearby. The one bedroom villas are spacious accommodations with almost 800 square feet of living space with many amenities included such as fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, whirlpool tubs and many other comforts of home. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

great cliffside location next to Hanalei where theres shopping and good eats. Not much else in Princeville except the more expensive homes and a small shopping center where we went to Foodland for steaks(grills are available on the property) poke (seasoned raw tuna- really good if you're into sushi) even souvenirs. we stocked up on macadamias and hawaiian sea salt for gifts. they also have fresh leis. This Westin showed us great Hawaiian hospitality; all employees very nice and accommodating. we were here last week for a promotional deal; had to sit through 1 hr sales but we are already SVO owners in cancun and are happy with current ownership. bed, room, kitchen, bath all in good order very clean. mind the wild chickens and roosters that have free run of the place and all over the island- i was surprised the roosters crowing in the morning didnt wake me up- good windows!
we had a wonderful, relaxing time on this quiet, green, beautiful island- didnt want to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear firsttimetogermany: Mahalo for staying with us and providing a review for our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments and recognition of the employees providing you with great Hawaiian hospitality. It is very nice to see that you enjoyed one of the 20 BBQ grills we have spread throughout the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Kaua’i. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beautiful resort (we are Starwood owners). Clean villas, beautiful pools. However, customer service issue again. We requested one villa type in a particular building because it has a great view of the ocean and the "cliff pool". When we got to the resort, we were assigned a villa that was away from everything, including the ocean. We asked to be moved and was said that there was no way, but perhaps our "second week" we could have what we wanted. I talked to manager, same story, my husband got steamed and we were escorted outside where we wouldnt draw attention. We did finally get the location we had requested (a year in advance) and was able to stay the two weeks in the same villa. All was fine in the end, but wish I didnt have to go through the drama. I also think that guests should have some courtesy for other guests and if not, the staff should suggest "options". We were at the main pool and this man was playing his foot stompin' country music on his radio or CD player. I was hearing piped in Hawaiian music in one ear and that in the other. VERY annoying. I shot some great frowns over at him, but he wasn't getting it. I asked a staff member if she could ask him to turn it down a bit so not ALL the guests at the pool had to listen to it. She said that she couldnt do that, that a guest can listen to whatever they wanted. Well, how about earphones???

Room Tip: Building 6 or 7 is the BEST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Aloha lvemaui08, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We love to hear from our owners and are pleased you enjoyed the clean and beautiful facilities of The Westin Princeville. We are sorry to hear that your check in process was not up to your expectations and are pleased that your preferred location was available during your stay. Kindly note for future stays that preferences for villa locations are strictly based on the time stamp of your confirmed reservation. With regard to your experience at the pool, we are sorry you were inconvenienced by another guest. Our team does gently encourage guests to be mindful of others, and we are pleased to provide the lush Malie pool area for those seeking quiet relaxation. Your feedback is taken seriously, and we appreciate the opportunity to improve our guest experience. We look forward to your return to the islands soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.