We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Service Hit or Miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Beautiful Property, Service Hit or Miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

When we first arrived, we were taken aback by the beautiful property and it's location. Checking in was seamless, our Front Desk Agent, Matthew was very friendly knowlegeable and helpful. He helped us with an upgrade without being too pushy. The room was beautiful, great location and very clean. We were met in our room by Clifford a very personable bellperson. He was great and gave us great dining and Kauai To-Do reccomendations. The housekeeping team did a great job of servicing the room and making it perfect and spotless. Unfortunately, the service at the restaurant Nanea and the concierge desk did not meet expectations. For dinner at Nanea, we waited for 15 minutes for our server to just introduce herself to us. When she finally did make her way to our table she blamed the Hostess for not telling her that we were part of her tables. She also blamed the back-of-house and runner staff for our food getting to us late for our entrees and dessert. She did not check on us, during our dinner and returned curtly to deliver the check. When we walked through the lobby, the concierge never once greeted us. I had a quick question for the concierge agent, and she failed to even acknowledge that i was standing there until I said "excuse me". She then looked up with an annoyed look on her face that i was bothering her. When i asked her where i could print my boarding pass, she told me to go to the business center and if i had any problems I should go to the Front Desk. The Bell and Valet staff were always smiling and asking us if we needed any help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Aloha Sharon S: Thank you for your positive comments about the overall beauty of the property and location. We are delighted that you had a seamless check in experience with Matthew and that Clifford was able to give you some great Kaua’i recommendations. It is nice of you to also point out the great job that our housekeeping team does in ensuring the cleanliness of the villas and resort. We apologize that you did not have the same personal experience in Nanea Restaurant. This has been brought to the attention of our Food & Beverage leaders to address and take time to identify improvement areas and re-train the dinner staff. It is also disappointing to hear that you did not get the service level expected from our concierge. Both the Nanea and the concierge experience is not typical of the service level we provide and appreciate your feedback so that we can look at improvements in these areas. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    419
    158
    46
    29
See reviews for
379
747
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spent 5 nights at the Westin Princeville Resort Villas in mid-July. Overall very good property with great view and location for a Hawaiian vacation. It has the amenities and quality of a typical Westin hotel property right in the middle of Princeville on the bluff directly overlooking the ocean. Having said that, this is not a hotel and the main purpose is to sell the actual units as timeshares. Any special offer you receive from SPG or Westin is to get you to sample the property and go through the sales presentation. Even if you are skeptical about traditional timeshares, a few days here will have you reconsidering because of the property itself and some of the attributes of the Westin timeshare story.

The property itself is in Princeville which is in the Northeast corner of the Island. Its about a 45-drive from the airport in Lihue. Note that Kauai is one of the larger islands but is mainly rural with just a handful of towns. That means basic (but good) roads - but it takes a while to get around because even a few cars can seem like there is lots of traffic. The airport is small but efficient. Tip is to send one person to get rental unless you are top tier because most of the planes come in at once. Spending an hour+ getting your rental car is not a good start to a great vacation.

Once you drive up to the property you are greeted by great doorman/valets. We knew this was a condo so we had stopped at the grocery store at the Princeville turn in and had lots of provisions that the bellman loaded onto baggage carts with our luggage and started for our room. Check in was quick at the desk but you are "encouraged" to meet with your concierge at that time to go over your "coupons" and other things (meaning your appointment for the timeshare tour). Our host was super nice and friendly and though it took a little longer than we had hoped (about 45-minutes) we were off to our room. We booked a one bedroom full suite compared to the smaller unit (they have two options). The difference is the larger one is like a full apartment with separate bedroom w/ king bed versus the smaller unit which is more like a regular hotel room. Both rooms have the same size bath and the larger unit has a larger kitchen area. Being only two of us, we could have been fine in the smaller unit. It had ample space and they are paired together to form one timeshare unit so the views and locations are all the same. Our larger unit had kitchen/dining/living area with a fold out couch. Would be perfect for a small family.

The unit itself was clean, fresh with contemporary styling. Same look and feel as a Westin hotel property including bath amenities and the great bed. The units have a small washer/dryer unit that we used several times to cut down on packing. My wife only had two huge suitcases versus her regular 3! The kitchen area is large with everything you could need for a week on vacation including plates, utensils, big fridge, etc. We cooked our own breakfast every morning which was both convenient and saved us some bucks. Our view was of the golf course with a small glimpse of the ocean through some of the trees. Though the property is on the bluff over the ocean, only a few units actually have ocean views. Not a bad thing since the pools and common areas have great views and the complex is more about a base for adventure than destination. The bathroom is large with double sinks, walk-in shower, separate toilet area and large jetted tub. You will not be disappointed in the bathroom. We were there five days and you schedule one day of housekeeping during your stay. They will come if you ask for more but we were fine. We did ask for additional towels once but they were sent right up. The bedroom is good sized with its own TV with big windows out to the golf course. Westin has the best beds - slept great. Know that Kauai is the chicken sanctuary of the world. That means nature alarm clocks every morning! After a couple of days you don't even hear them. The feel of the unit is like a nicely appointed efficiency apartment with plenty of room.

The property itself is great. Large condo-type complex with the clubhouse housing the market and restaurant. The main pool is large with a couple of levels with straight view of the ocean. Both sides of the complex have smaller infinity pools that are also very nice. Great landscaping and clean. Parking can be either valet or self-park (same price at $13/day). We usually scouted close to our unit for a spot to self-park and if it was full we would valet.

We ate a couple of meals from the market (pizza and breakfast sandwiches) and were satisfied. We did not eat at the on property restaurant.

Some of the stuff not as impressed with. No beach. You can go to the St. Regis sister property about a mile away and use their beach. It was very good but you cant use the St. Regis pool. Also service at the beach regarding drinks and such was very poor. I don't want to think it was because we were Westin guests (they can tell by your scarlet letter towels that are different from the St. Regis) or just not a good day. It happened to us twice is the only reason I bring it up. We did eat at the St. Regis beach side grill and thought the food was great. Highly recommend. As far as the Westin - this is a family type place. There were couples and several newlyweds having a great time, but the pools and common areas are dominated by families and kids. Traveling as a couple we would have liked an adults only pool area like the Hyatt at Popui. Not the property's fault and everyone was having a great time as they obviously cater to the family demographic. Our fault for not doing a little more research. 10-years ago with our kids this would have been heaven.

Overall a great property. When you go on the timeshare tour you will be tempted because Westin does it right.

Other tips - Try the Tavern at the Prince golf course and the Shrimp Station in Kaapa. Aninni beach is near and you can find a spot usually right on the road to park, swim and chill. Napoli catamaran tour (Capt Andy) was awesome. St. Regis spa one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear TXScooby: Thank you for taking the time to share details of your recent stay. It is nice to hear that you had a good experience at the resort. The one bedroom villa that you experienced is the larger accommodations at almost 800 square feet including a full kitchen, separate bedroom with a king size Heavenly Bed and a living room with a queen size sofabed. This is in comparison to our studio villas which are approximately 500 square feet including a queen size Heavenly Bed and double size sofabed. Both units have whirlpool tubs and separate showers. The larger bathroom in the one bedroom has double vanity sinks and overall a larger bathroom space. Of the four pools at the Resort, the Malie pool is designated as the quiet or tranquility pool. This is for our guests that want a quiet pool experience. In addition, The Westin Princeville guest have privileges to use the lap pool at the Makai Golf Course which is typically quiet for most of the day. Our resort shuttle will provide transportation to both the St Regis for our guest to enjoy their private beach, the Makai Course for golf, tennis and lap pool use, the Princeville Shopping Center where you mention you stopped for groceries, the Prince Golf Course, Princeville Airport and Princeville Ranch Adventures. We hope to see you return to our resort on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel right near the beautiful hanalei bay! Studio rooms are fine but fairly dated. Great infinity pools overlooking the ocean but overall an ok 4* but I've stayed in much better for less. Store on resort is pretty limited and your much better off going to the nearby store which is half the price and easily accessed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Travellingagent007: Thank you for your review. The Na Pali pool which is an infinity pool overlooking the ocean is one of the 4 pools on property. The Malie pool is the quiet pool available for our guests that want tranquility. The Na Pali pool and Malie pool are the smaller pools at the resort with the main pool being our largest that is two tiered where the upper infinity pool flows down a small waterfall into the lower pool. The Princeville Market is the store at the resort for the convenience of our guests. Offerings include some grocery items along with beer, wine, sundries, gifts and “to go” food options such as Starbucks coffee drinks, pizzas, hot and cold sandwiches, salads, side dishes and also features marinated steaks, chicken, fish and vegetarian options that make it convenient for our guests to purchase and cook on one of the 20 BBQ grills throughout the resort. There is a main grocery store located a mile from the resort at the Princeville Shopping Center and our resort shuttle is available to transport our guests to and from this area. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came to Kauai to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. Our first experience at a Westin property was awesome. Our concierge, Jana von Bormann, gave us a hospitable Hawaiian welcome. The Anniversary gift of a bottle of champagne was a big surprise. Our villa was perfect for us.

On more than one occasion we sat on the edge of the ocean front bluff to relax with the gentle tradewinds in our face and the warmth of the awe-inspiring sunsets in our souls.

We would return to this location again and again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed ground-level access to a small plunge pool next to Bldg 7. Otherwise, go for upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Aloha JMarkMyers: Congratulations on your special 20th Anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We are delighted to hear that your experience at the Resort was awesome and that you especially enjoyed the Na Pali pool that sits at the edge of the ocean bluff. Thank you for recognizing Jana and the Hawaiian hospitality she provided. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 6/5-6/11. We loved our garden studio room (and we did have an oceanview--it was just preceded by a parking lot -- but it didn't matter to us). Our room was spacious, the bath area was HUGE and wonderful (I loved the 2 person jetted, soaking tub!). Everything was clean and appeared well cared for. We really enjoyed the free breakfast every morning -- especially the Kauai fried rice (I got it 3 out 6 mornings!!). My husband's only breakfast complaint was the coffee -- only Starbucks -- and he HATES Starbucks coffee (as do many other people we know) -- come on -- give a choice!! The pools were AMAZING! The grounds were IMMACULATE and beautiful. The staff very friendly (especially the woman that brought our breakfast most mornings--sorry, can't remember her name but she was THE BEST!!). All the weber grills and outside eating areas were nice -- we cooked out 2x's just because we didn't feel like getting "dessed" to go out to dinner. Having the grocery store about 1 mile away was very convenient! We went to the Kilauea farmer's market on Thursday and loaded up with rganic veggies and fruit, too. Yummy! IF we ever have the chance to go back, we would stay here again. As a matter of fact, friends of ours just asked ofr a Kauai recommendation and I didn't hesitate to say the Westin!

Room Tip: If you really want a "garden view" make sure you ask -- you could get a parking lot like w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Aloha JMSPennsylvania: It is nice to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. Thank you for recommending The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas as a place to stay on Kaua’i to your friends. The studio villas are spacious with almost 500 square feet of living space and amenities that provide the comforts of home. We are delighted that you took advantage of using one of the 20 BBQ grills that are spread throughout the resort and had an opportunity to experience one of the 3 Farmer’s Markets on the North Shore of Kaua’i for organic fruit, vegetable, bread and more. The Kaua’i Fried Rice is one of the delicious items currently offered for breakfast in the Princeville Market at the resort. The Princeville Market does offer Starbucks coffee and we also provide Hawaiian Coffee in our Villas and in early August will offer coffee options in Nanea Restaurant for breakfast. We look forward to satisfying your husband’s coffee request when you return on your next stay with us. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at the 1 bedroom villa this summer. Look For the Starwood Preferred Hotel packages.We got breakfast for free everyday. Our daughter slept on the queen size sofa sleeper and we had the specious villa overlooking the ocean. We are not timeshare owners. You can opt out of the housekeeping and get a $10.00 green card which you can use just for that day on food and meals. The service was excellent. The pool is wonderful and we loved driving to Anini Beach.We DID not like using the beach at the St. Regis. The beach is one big reef and no sand to stand on. For your ladies who need a GREAT mani/pedicure, I recommend Lynn's Perfect 10 who gave me THE best GEL french manicure ever (better than in California) She works at Bali Hai Salon in Princeville Shopping Center http://www.balihaisalon.com/index.html ) ASK FOR Lynn.. ACTIVITIES: My daughter took a 2 hour private horseback riding lesson at Princeville Ranch which was amazing.

Room Tip: Join the SPG club (Starwood Preferred) for free upgrades. NO noise at all. Rooms are great and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

1 week stay in Bldg 4 (rooms 4103 and 4104) two bedroom villa. First time at this property but we believe this building location and partial view of the ocean facing the sunset are better than the majority of the other villas. The Westin was said to be full. There was always enough parking but if you arrive late and are staying in the building towards the cliff, your walk will be longer.
There are no beaches as part of this Westin and I do NOT recommend the public [name 'secret' beach] next to the property.

We enjoyed our stay. The BBQ areas at dinner time was in use every night but it appear there are plenty enough so we never had to wait. There are several tables with covers to help enjoy eating outdoors next to the grill.

Several pools and spas. We did not use these very much because we rather enjoy the local beachs (Hanalei, Tunnels and Ke'e)

The Foodland grocery market is a short drive (wife walked there to picked up a bag of stuff once too). The Princeville Market at the Resort seem to have every thing for a standard BBQ and cooking but did not have a big variety.

Cudos to the Night Staff at the front desk and porter on 7/10/2013 who help me get a dollar coin and make an origami folder bill for the tooth fairy. They went above their call of duty.

Room Tip: Some of the buildings [villas (rooms)] face a parking lot or are behind some trees. I can say Bldg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear windiveski: Thank you for your review and for recognizing the staff for going the extra step in providing a “tooth fairy” experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the use of one of the 20 BBQ grills we have throughout the resort. We are located on the North Shore of Kaua’i that has a number of beautiful white sand beaches for visitors and residents to enjoy. The staff will provide a Beach Guide that outlines the beaches nearby which provides information including facilities, driving directions from the resort and Ocean safety information. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to see you back at the resort soon. Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Amex, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.