We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Westin.com
and 8 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Princeville
schaumburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our second time at this resort, even more enjoyable than the first time last year, as we were more familiar with the area and resort amenities. We will definitely make this an annual experience. Our "personal" concierge, Tracey, was in contact with us pre arrival, and was instrumental in arranging a studio room on the second floor of bldg. #4. Building 4 is a bit isolated from the pool area and other facilities but is quieter and great views of the golf course and ocean, and affords great sunset views. The resort grounds are beautifully maintained, and plenty of parking in close proximity to most units. All rooms are beautifully furnished, and kitchenettes well equipped. There are numerous viking gas grills throughout the property, for grilling fresh fish or steaks from the nearby princeville market. The main pool area has numerous umbrellas and tiki huts if you like to avoid full sun. Melissa, the pool waitress is extremely attentive and friendly, as is the rest of the staff throughout the resort.
Truly a great place to stay on the north coast of Kauai.

Room Tip: second or third floor rooms to reduce the effect of constant rooster crowing...building 4 is wuieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    330
    131
    33
    20
See reviews for
298
605
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a property not to be missed. Outstanding views of ocean and mountains. Very close to shopping center with grocery store. Villas are very clean and roomy. Property is beautiful throughout and service is great. Westin did a great job on this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at this property! The front desk staff (Liela) worked so hard to find us just the right room - and she succeeded! The concierge "Jennifer" was so helpful and welcoming, and the pool waitress "Melissa" remembered our names from day one, treating us extra special. We've never felt so pampered at a hotel! We LOVED how much shade there was by the pool - that was a huge plus for us. The view of "Bali Hai" was dreamy, and every pool has its own special personality. Everything on the property was in pristine condition. So enjoyed the yoga class too. And the little market is a wonderful little store and deli type restaurant. Great place!!

Room Tip: We loved building 4 - the view of the golf course and Bali Hai sunsets was yummy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A relaxing resort to explore the North Shore. My hubby and I enjoyed our 6 nights here as part of our honeymoon. The rooms were comfortable and modern and were equiped with most things that we needed. The pools were great, although getting a chair by the cliff pool was impossible (it wasn't even that busy). The staff by the pool and the bar were friendly and accommodating. We used the BBQs one night which was a nice change from eating out. Our only gripe were the cleaning staff - we were in building 7 (for memory) and each morning we were either woken by housekeeping (even though we had selected the go-green option) or the staff yelling to each other up and down the hallway. On the morning of checkout we were basically chased out of our room by housekeeping at 9.30am, despite not having to check out until 10am. It was such a pity as we otherwise had a great stay. Eat at the restaurant - it is AMAZING! Best food we had on our holiday by far.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We’re long-time Marriott timeshare owners and rarely trade into another property, but were able to grab the Westin in Princeville, on the north shore of Kauai, the week before our regular trip to the Marriott Waiohai on the south shore. The Westin resort is beautiful – located on a bluff overlooking the Pacific, the grounds are lush and well-cared for, and the service is top-notch. We had a 2 bedroom unit; the “efficiency” had a mini-kitchen, with a 2-burner cooktop and full-sized refrigerator, which was a real plus. There are “serenity” pools behind the two sides of the resort, which were nice for adults who wanted to enjoy some quiet time.

Just a few minor irritations, our being used to Marriotts: there are no coffee filters in the kitchen, there are only 3 packets of dishwashing detergent (with a note that it will not be replenished during the week’s stay), the living area is small (only 1 armchair; we had to use a dining room chair for the 4 of us to sit comfortably), and the furnishings and carpet are beginning to show their wear, with the resort now being 5 years old. One concern is that the parking lots are not key-controlled; we saw people parking there and walking down the path to access Anini beach, which made finding a parking spot close to your unit very difficult. There is also no monitoring of pool chairs ... people would come down early to save the best chairs, then not return until nearly lunchtime - we were told "there's really no policy".

All said, tho, we’d return if the opportunity arose – it was nice to spend a week on the north shore for a change from Poipu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The grounds are beautiful perched a top a hill in Princeville. I stayed in a one bedroom and there was plenty of room, with a view overlooking the adult pool. It just really felt like paradise. There is beach access near the hotel entrance, down a hill a little, but I never went there. I usually went to Hanalei Bay to the beaches there or somewhere else to explore. The main pool area is very nice too and family friendly. I just wanted to stay here in the comfy dream beds forever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here during near the end of May 2013. Staff was excellent and very hospitable. Rooms were clean and we had no problems. Grilling poolside was a definite highlight and our view of the pool was great. My wife and our 20-month old son stayed in a 1 BR. Qian K. was at the front desk when we arrived and was very accommodating, even taking care of fixing our mixed reservation (initially had a studio for a few days and a 1BR for the others). As a Gold member, I really appreciated her assistance. Natalie, the concierge, was also great and got us set up on a great helicopter tour. One of the best vacations I've ever had!

Room Tip: Be sure you get an ocean or pool view and not the parking lot. We loved our pool view (bldg. 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Westin Princeville
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.