We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serene and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived on Sunday and were greeted by our personal concierge, Jennifer. She was a wealth of information and very welcoming. She followed our lead in helping us decide what to do, and supported our decision to roam only on the North Shore. The resort is perfectly situated near Hanalei and the Na Pali coast. It is perfectly sited between two serene golf courses on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The grounds are impeccably landscaped, the pool is magnificent, the restaurant is lovely, our room spacious and comfortable. We took in the sites and had two pool days in our five night stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Building 2 is away from the parking lots, as are 6 and 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    373
    140
    36
    23
See reviews for
331
658
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This resort is for people that want to get away from the tourist scene, slow things down, enjoy the scenery that the North side provides, and just relax with the family. Any room you get, whether it be a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom lock off, is fully equipped with all the kitchen necessities. It also includes a washer and dryer which becomes very useful toward the end of the week. Both type of rooms have a pull-out which are great when travelling with little ones. There are multiple building throughout the property with a select few that have ocean views. Beach access is not readily available, however you can drive to the St. Regis (5 star hotel) which is approximately 1 mile and use their beach. Activities are planned by the property which newcomers should definitely consider, and there is always plenty of concierges that could help plan your week. The staff is very professional and courteous, and always seems willing to help. There is a small gift shop/store where you buy essentials (e.g. coffee filters), and there is also a Foodland a little past the Princeville fountain entrance for more variety. Both stores are expensive and I highly recommend that you buy most of your groceries at Lihue when you arrive BEFORE driving North. There is a Walmart and Costco minutes from the Lihue airport. Numerous grills are available around the property for you to grill that Costco steak and eat outside with the family enjoying your favorite glass of wine. Don't miss the short drive to Hanalei, and I highly recommend going to the St. Regis Sunset bar to enjoy the best sunset view (however get their EARLY or else you will be standing outside!). Overall, I would recommend this property to families with little ones (< 10 yrs. old), the older children and younger adults might want more of the “beach scene” which really isn't available without driving. Snorkeling at Tunnels, swimming at Queen’s bath, hiking the Kalalau trail (not for the weary) are probably the most popular items to do depending on how adventurous you are! You are also surrounded by some of the best golf courses around if you are an avid golfer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the SW corner are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Princeville in April 2013 while on holiday I chose the Westin because of its location, its amenities (e.g., pool) and SPG points. Including in my $320/night rate was the daily use of a compact rental car - a very nice and useful additional (note: I did have to pay taxes and overage time/mileage which equated to ~$65).

Some bulletized thoughts:
-location cannot be beat, but still need a car
-villa layout allows you to come in and out through side doors at your convenience
-communal grills are AWESOME
-beds are delicious and the towels are hearty
-chickens are a welcome accessory, but only if you're getting up early
-"access" to St Regis, but don't expect to use the pool
-concierge is amazingly helpful, but still unable to get me onto tours (late planning on my part)
-breakfasts at the Princeville Market were VERY good ... nice touch
-pool is fun for families

Overall, it is a great choice for a family or groups friends that like to cook, otherwise a more traditional hotel (non-efficiency) may suit you and your sig other better

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Westin Pool in Kauai is awesome! The first time I saw it, I wanted to stay there. I went with my family for spring break, but we didn’t stay there. We just went to the pool. The Westin is an ocean view hotel with 3 spectacular pools. There is a water slide for the kids, too. There is also a barbeque area so you can have a cook out. There is a golf course right next to it, but it doesn’t come with the hotel. I think it should be a 5 star hotel! This hotel should be a family hotel for kids under 10 years old.☺

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha vscarlett8,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Westin Princeville. We are delighted to have a variety of facilities available to our guests of all ages. Regarding use of the pools and barbecue grills, however, kindly be advised that resort facilities are for the exclusive use of our registered guests and owners to ensure a relaxing experience throughout their stay. We hope your experience will inspire you to choose The Westin Princeville when you visit the islands next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When looking for a place to forget all your problems the place to go is Kauai Hawaii. I started going to the perfect garden island with the famous Sleeping Giant landmark in 1986. I usually stay in the Kapaa area, but on my most recent visit we stayed at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort/ Villas. It's about a 35 min. drive from the airport. We were greeted by a very friendly valet. We checked into our one bedroom villa. Which was located on the lower level next to the main pool. The fully-equipped kitchen was very spacious and connected with a 6 seat dinning table. The Bose cd player and 2 flat screen t.v.'s (in the bedroom and living room) provided great sound and entertainment. On the first day, we hung out at the pool / bbq pit. As I lay in the lounge chair next to the man made rock waterfall I was catapulted to heaven. The Westin Princeville Villa has full maid services everyday. A washer/dryer in the room, and if you don't feel like going to the store to buy food for the villa, complete the shopping list in the room and they will shop for you. On the last day of our stay at the Westin Villas we had a couples massage outside in the cabana like area where the cool breeze enveloped our senses.In Kauai it's hard to find anything but beautiful nature. If you love deep green/lush land and waterfalls nestled in the majestic mountains seek Kauai and get pampered at The Westin Princeville Villas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is an excellent resort to relax at or for touring the north shore of Kauai. The villas are new and fully equipped. Full size refrigerator, washer, dryer, range, coffee maker, toaster, etc. Beautiful view overlooking the Prince golf course, ocean, and the Na Pali mountains. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha mrhackerott: Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you had an exceptional resort experience at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. The resort amenities provide the comforts of home and make it convenient for our guests to relax and enjoy a refreshing stay with us. The staff strives to provide services that ensure that our guests have a delightful experience. We hope you will visit us again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas service levels were remarkable. From the moment you enter the porte cochere to the beautiful rooms and appointments throughout, you will be able to appreciate Kauai resorting at its best. Perfect for families, economic with a high end resort feel of luxury. Its located on the North shore of Kauai which provides awesome backdrops of some of the most beautiful scenes in the world. Gentle rains keep the area green and the ocean just minutes away. The ability to buy a timeshare if you loved it was an extra plus, otherwise enjoy it as a free independent traveler.

Room Tip: Suites are the ultimate choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Piilanz. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments and for your positive feedback on the resort. We are fortunate to be located on the north shore of Kaua’i which truly does provide the beautiful views of both the vast Pacific Ocean and the majestic mountains at the same time. The gentle rain does keep the area lush and rainbows and waterfalls are frequently in view. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.