We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Alamo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful Resort

What a great time we all had. The property is just beautiful and well maintained. Take a walk around and enjoy the spectacular ocean views. We were able to watch the whales during our recent visit from the rear pool area (great location to relax). The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The staff very friendly as well.
G & J
Alamo, CA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha G & J:

We are delighted to hear that you all had a great time at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We are fortunate to be located on the ocean bluff located 200 feet above the Pacific Ocean with views that include watching the whales during whale season. Our Na Pali pool is located cliff side and provides the perfect vantage point to see the whales. In addition, 8 of our 20 BBQ grills are located in the same area which ensures that those who want to experience a nice casual meal can do so whether it be with friends and family or the special someone you are traveling with. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Princeville on your next trip back to Kaua’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    415
    151
    41
    29
See reviews for
370
732
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in a 1 bedroom villa on March 12-14 to spend some time on the North Shore.  Here's what you need to know:

The Good: relatively spacious suites, very large bathroom with jetted tub, amazing water pressure in dual shower head shower, nicely equipped kitchen.  There is a welcome package of dish soap, dish scrubber, dishwashing detergent, laundry detergent which is nice.  We booked an island view but ended up on a room which overlooked the parking lot and neighboring golf course but had ocean views which was great.  Excellent and fast wifi access. Washer and dryer combo.  Food and service at the restaurant onsite (Nanea) was very good and the ambiance was warm and the outdoor seating area was lovely in the evening.  Amazingly, the restaurant has a separate vegan menu with several choices for apps, entree, dessert... woot!  Updated decor and furniture.  Staff was uniformly friendly and helpful-  Beautiful grounds in and around the hotel.  There's a walk/run/bike path that leads out of the hotel property which is nice (running maps available at the concierge).  

Make sure you check out the hidden beach (Hideaways) that is accessible after a walk/drive to just before the St. Regis property.  Park at the tiny lot next to the Puu Poa condo tennis courts. There's a dirt path that leads to an overlook and super steep steps/short trail leading down to the beach.  Note that this will be challenging to anyone with ambulatory issues and possibly very small children but should be doable for anyone else if the ground is not wet and slippery (although it requires a bit of a scramble and there are only rope railings for the most part).  Not a good swimming beach but beautiful for relaxation on the beach away from crowds. (see YouTube link I found which shows the spectacular beauty of the beach, as well as the condition of the path to get down to the beach: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8GX486ym9Q&feature=youtube_gdata_player). 

There's another beach accessible on the property to the right of the lobby, next to the parking lot (it's marked by a small sign).  It's a relatively easy walk on a wide path (5-10 minutes) to the beach which had gentle water and easy snorkeling,

The Bad: No housekeeping, even though our rate was to include daily housekeeping (and we were not given the option of trading housekeeping for the vouchers other reviewers have mentioned).  We were there for only 2 nights so by the time we realized it wasn't happening, it  wasn't worth it for us to ask for it and didn't make a difference but if you have a family or it's otherwise important to you, you should confirm with the hotel.  Paying for self parking at a hotel in the middle of nowhere is really pretty terrible.  Finishings and appliances at the property were not really high end, if that sort of thing matters to you.  A lot of ceramic tile in the bathroom (although granite counters), perfectly functional but dated black appliances in the kitchen.  Reeeeeeeally uncomfortable couch.  Walls are pretty thin, the unit next to ours had a family with small children and we could definitely hear entire conversations and people sneezing... There's also construction going on at the pool so the noise was a bit of a distraction pool-side although you can kind of tune it out.  The 11 am checkout and 4 pm checkin are pretty ridiculous.

The Ugly: The room seemed pretty clean upon arrival, but I discovered the following icky items: clean sheets but with some stains and there was a clearly used bar of soap and half empty shampoo bottle remaining in the shower from the prior guest which had not been cleaned.  Ick.

Trip Tip: in retrospect, because we stayed for the majority of the time on the east side in Kapaa, which is central to Poipu and the North Shore, it really wasn't necessary to stay on the North Shore (it was about 45 minutes from Kapaa) so you may want to skip a stay as well.  You can really see everything you want to see in a daytrip without the necessity of staying over.

Room Tip: Room Tips:  If you are not a fan of the ubiquitous Kauai roosters running around, doing their rooste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha starhawk,

Thank you for choosing The Wesitn Princeville for your accommodations on the north shore of Kauai. We appreciate you highlighting our spacious villas and our signature restaurant, Nanea. However, we apologize that we fell short in several aspects, particularly in regards to housekeeping. Our green program is strictly optional, and this certainly should have been relayed to you upon checking in. Further, we apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our standards. We have shared your comments with our team to improve our guest experience, and thank you again for bringing these items to our attention. We hope for the chance to welcome you back to The Westin Princeville in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I will start by saying that we had visited Hawaii, Maui to be exact, six years ago and really hated it. It was full of tourists and the horrible honeymooners. If I heard a conversation at breakfast about how one of them didn't know that the other liked eggs, I was going to puke.

So, we had owner time with our Westin ownership and we decided, based on comments from our friends, that Kauai may be better for us. Our experience was much better and Kauai is certainly better suited - quiet, less touristy, less commercialized and fewer egg discussions. We will probably not go back to Hawaii for awhile, though, as we really are more Caribbean people.

That said, it was a very nice property. We had the small one bedroom, studio. It was okay sized for the two of us, but we did have some challenges. But on the whole, the pluses far outweigh the negatives.

Prior to going we read a bunch of reviews on TripAdvisor. We noted the comments, especially the complaints. So to do this review, we will address these:

Plusses:

1. Quiet, very quiet. Yes there was construction noise due to the redoing of the children's pool. But this was only during daytime hours and it needed to get done. If I owned the place, I would choose low season to do it, and that is just what they did. Would you rather have a place that is falling apart??

2. Full size fridge. For the size of the unit, this is a big plus. Plenty of room to store stuff.

3. Good bathroom. Functional and well sized.

4. Parking - It is free for owners and it was NOT that hard to find a place. The reviews made it sound like you had to walk a mile to park. From what we saw, most of the people could use the walk.

5. Convenient to a very good market. The food store in Princeville Shopping Center was great. Sure its expensive, but it is Hawaii. The selection was very good and they had a great meat and produce department. The beer and wine prices were as expected.

Side note: Avoid going to WalMart in Lihue - its like going to Cambodia.

6. Great Happy Hour and specials.

7. Clean and functioning BBQ's. We had read how the BBQs didn't work and were dirty. We noted that every night they removed the grills and they were spotless the next day.

8. Sales Presentation - We did not feel pressured or anything. We did our "owners update", collected our points and had a nice chat in less than 60 minutes.

The Bad:

1. The lounge chairs at the pool are just not comfortable. No way around this one. They are clean and in good repair, just not very good to sit in.

2. AC noise - we agree with the complaints. It was bad. And worse, the vibration due to the AC unit in the adjacent units. Poor design. Did it ruin our trip? NO, but it was a noticeable thing.

3. Unit lighting - they went minimal on it and better tasking lighting in the kitchenette would have been good. Another design problem.

4. Cheap pots and pans - Really hard to clean if you burn something in them. Come on and step up to some non-stick cookware. Go to IKEA and do it cheaply.

A few additional comments:

Beach - we walked down to Anini Beach. It was a simple walk, the trail is a bit rough in spots, but it is easy to navigate. The people who complain about the walk are the same ones that complain about walking to their cars.

Beach II - we didn't go to the St Regis beach, as we saw that the one that you can walk to is much larger and the water is calm for swimming.

There are some good restaurants in Hanele Bay, but if you are looking for 5* dining, you probably should stay on Maui.

Thats it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were quite disappointed when we found out that the beach access was a steep 10 minute trail hike to the beach. The resort was beautiful and our room was even better. The resort lacks in places to eat though. They only have one restaurant and the outdoor grill by the pool, which had a very limited menu. They did have a complimentary shuttle that took you down to the little shopping center that had a couple of great places to eat and a grocery store. We ate breakfast in our room every morning and cooked outside on the grill one night. They also have a little market by the lobby with a lot of food but very pricey. Service was okay, not great though for what we paid. Our kids really missed the beach so probably won't stay here again for awhile.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront suite on the 2nd floor. Beautiful view, quiet and overlooked the ocean. Couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha lfarmwife,

Thank you for sharing your comments of your recent stay at The Westin Princeville. We were delighted to hear that you found the resort and our accommodations to be beautiful, however, we are sorry that you were disappointed by our location. While we are located 200 feet above the Pacific Ocean rather than directly on the beach, the complimentary shuttle you utilized during your stay also takes guests to the beach at St. Regis Princeville, which has a lovely view of Hanalei Bay. We hope you will rejoin us at The Westin Princeville in the future and look forward to your return to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First off, I really like the location of this hotel. I wanted to hike the Na Pali coast, spend some time in Hanalei and go to the beach. While there is no beach on premise, Anini beach is a short walk down the trail behind the hotel and Hanalei Bay is a short drive away. The concierge will tell you to absolutely not go to the beach down the trail and I have no idea why. It is a short, wide, well groomed, if moderately steep trail. If you have a car and children, it is better to drive, but the trail is totally safe.

As for the service, by the end I was more than a little annoyed by little things that after 7 days just seemed to be out of character for a luxury brand.

First, throughout my stay many of the pools were out of service. Usually this type of maintenance is called out on booking, and sometimes there is a discount, and this time it unfortunately was not. As mentioned by others, this is potentially annoying, because the main pool is not the least bit relaxing due to all the children. I ended up spending a lot more time in my room or on my balcony than anticipated b/c of this.

Additionally, I did this trip by myself and chose Kauai largely due to safety. The fact that I usually saw no less than 5 staff on any trip from my room to lobby should have been comforting. However, it was in fact strange b/c the staff spent more time watching what the guests were doing than working, and if they were working (taking garbage, laundry, mulching, doing security, etc.) they often got in a guest's way -- which is a huge pet peeve of mine.

Finally, the main role of the concierge (and there are a ton of concierge) appears to be to get the guests to go do the vacation ownership presentation. When I asked for any other help the level of help they gave was moderate at best, and my concierge even made me miss a shuttle to the St. Regis trying to get me to do the presentation when I explicitly told her I had a deadline. I ended up needing to wait an hour for the next one b/c as I was told by the bell hop the shuttle is "only allowed to go to the St. Regis once per hour." If you are both Starwood properties how does that make any sense?

Finally, I also got the strong sell into the green choice program. I'm totally OK with that as I make little mess. However, on the one day that I did get service, they really only swapped my towels. They didn't swap sheets and they didn't wipe down the bathroom at all. If you're only going to get service once in a week, it'd be nice to get more than a towel swap (I could have asked the front desk for new towels).

In the end all minor, but when it builds up over a 7 day stay, worth noting the oddities here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property on a Pleasant Holidays package during part of our honeymoon in October 2012. We were greatly impressed by the friendly lobby staff, concierge assistance, and the complimentary bottle of wine we received. The Westin is situated on a bluff above the Pacific Ocean and adjacent to one of the Princeville golf courses. We stayed in building 3, facing west, with a distant ocean view across the lawn. Our one bedroom villa had kitchenette with a full size fridge, small stove, dishwasher and microwave. Also convenient were a washer and dryer right in the room. The bathroom was oversized with a whirlpool tub, which was also a plus. One of the best features of this property is its 3 pools (with adjacent hot tubs), 1 of which has an amazing view out over the ocean (adjacent to Buildings 6 & 7). The 2 smaller pools (one with the view) are a peaceful alternative to the larger main pool in front of the restaurant/main building. The hotel has a "green" option of receiving maid service on alternating days in exchange for food credit at either the general store, main restaurant & bar or poolside bar. This can be a good deal, but if you don't go to certain dining locations at particular times (the general store for breakfast, for example)--the value is lost. The hotel should make the credit available at all of its dining options throughout the day.

Although not especially convenient to sightseeing on the west end of Kauai (Waimea Canyon, Koke'e State Park, etc.), the Westin is very close to Hanalei, the Kalalau Trail and other north shore attractions. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: ask for room with ocean view--especially Buildings 3, 6 & 7; we recommend a ground floor room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Peter M:
Congratuations on your recent wedding. We are delighted that you chose to spend your Honeymoon with us at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. Mahalo for your comments on your recent stay. Thank you for recognizing the staff friendliness as we strive to provide this for all of our guests. We are fortunate to be spread out on 19 acres with several different pools to choose from. Our Na Pali pool provides you with the best ocean view and whales are often sighted during whale season. Our Malie pool is our quiet pool as we understand that some of our guests want a quiet pool area where they can rest and relax and perhaps enjoy a good book. Our main pool is adjacent to the Keiki (kids pool) and it enables guests of all ages to enjoy the pool experience under the wonderful Hawaiian sunshine. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas – perhaps on a special anniversary visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a 1 Bedroom studio in Bldg 3 for a week Feb 16-23, 2013. Loved it! Small kitchen area, but great view of the ocean. Bed and bath were good. Some wasted space as you enter the unit, but if we'd had beach stuff, that would have been a good place for it. The staff was good, got in at midnight on first Saturday, and front desk lady was gracious and welcoming. Lady at SVO concierge was extremely helpful and only pushed a bit about scheduling for the owner's update. She guided us to the Holo Holo tour up the Napali Coast. Now, February on Kauai is a bit rainy and windy. Other boat companies decided day by day, but she assured us this company would take us all the way up and around, and they did! Good advice from her. The little shop was good. Pools looked great, but with so much else to do and weather so iffy we didn't spend much time by the pool. Reciprocal program with St. Regis for their beach, so we went over there one cloudy afternoon to experience that amenity. All in all, for the time of year, it was a good stay and a wonderful studio unit. Westin does it right.

Room Tip: Since this is vacation ownership, you don't have a choice. Most or all the rooms have a good oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Tennessee Traveler057

Thank you for your review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing that our staff was gracious and welcoming, especially with your late arrival. Our concierge team is very knowledgeable about the different activities around the island and work closely with the vendors to ensure that they have a nice experience. We are glad that you were able to experience the Napali Coastline as it is a fun activity with a breathtaking vantage point of the coastline from the ocean. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kaua‘i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.