We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds, great location, unfriendly staff at concierge lots of extra fees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Princeville
dc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice grounds, great location, unfriendly staff at concierge lots of extra fees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We just spent a few days at this resort and we had a nice stay. The grounds are lovely, the gym is well equipped and the location is great for day trips. We had booked a package that includes breakfast. However, once we had arrived there we were told that the breakfast is not a regular served breakfast but that we can pick up some bagels and coffee from their shop. We were extremely disappointed and eventually they took the price we had paid for that breakfast off our bill and we went for breakfast into town. They also offer you a 10 dollar resort voucher which you can use for food if you don’t want your room cleaned. We said immediately that we don’t want that and prefer our room to be cleaned but the next day no one came and we found a voucher under the door. After we called them several times, they sent someone. Twice we went to the front desk to get some information about day trips. But both times two different women were quite unfriendly and couldn’t provide any useful information so we went back to our room and googled several things. I also found it rather disappointing that one has to pay a rather high parking charge every day, even though it is self-parking. Everybody arrives by car here, this charge should really be included in the not so cheap room price. One day we went to the beach of the St. Regis Princeville. We weren’t informed that we had to bring Westin Towels. They refused to give us them at the St Regis. Hence, the shuttle bus had to bring two towels from the Westin to the St. Regis to us. These hotel s belong to the same group, this really shouldn’t be that difficult. The hotel is nice, although quite unpersonal, but everything just seemed so complicated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha katinska,

Mahalo for choosing to stay at The Westin Princeville and for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. While we are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay overall, we were disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in several areas, particularly with breakfast, our Make a Green Choice program and service at the concierge. Please accept our apologies for the miscommunications that occurred. With regard to parking, The Westin Princeville is pleased that a daily resort fee is not assessed to our guests, and that many amenities, such as hi-speed internet and daily activities are offered complimentary. As valet parking, in addition to self parking, is open to all of our guests, we are unable to modify the fee based on what services go unused. Again, we appreciate your comments and have shared your feedback with our team so that we can continue to improve our guests’ experience in the islands. We look forward to the chance of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    330
    131
    33
    20
See reviews for
297
603
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We got a deal because they probably wanted to sell us a timeshare but we never made it to the sales agent (called concierge). As beautiful as Kauai is as ugly is Princeville: a place of worst American suburban architecture and taste. Everything here caters to golfers and people who don't expect anything unfamiliar to enter in their vacation. The Resort was carpeted throughout and the bed had feather duvets- remember this is Hawaii. The room did not get cleaned every day but the gardeners started leaf blowing at 8 in the morning. The whole place had a Boise Idaho feel to it. They do have a wonderful snorkel beach next to it, but warn people off which we appreciated. Down at this beach are wonderful houses which are vacation rentals (more expensive but so much better) one of which I will rent if I go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Front Office Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha jolandadora,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville for your recent stay in the islands and for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. We were disappointed to hear that you were displeased with our historic Princeville location as well as the resort’s decor. While the designers thoughtfully incorporated Hawaiian influences throughout the property design, we understand if this does not appeal to every one of our guests. We certainly hope you will choose to give the resort another try, as our staff’s warm aloha, the resort’s beautiful location and our facilities have inspired many guests to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this resort the from 11/7 - 14. It was a beautiful property very similar to the Maui one (except the lack of walking distance beach access).
Location wise, it is the North shore, so you definitely get the quite and residential feel to it. But we did end up driving a lot to get to places. It does have a good size shopping plaza right at the main entrance which also has a full-size grocery store - Foodland for you to stock up your needs (a bit pricey compare to the ones at Lihue).
We have kids under age 5 and we loved the kids pool/slide. It was just perfect for them!
We did use the St Regis beach, we drove there (not taking the shuttle) and it is all valet parking only, but free! The beach is small and very shallow with reef, which makes a good snorkeling spot.
We did use the business center to print out ticket vocher for our Luau show that we had booked online. It did cost about $6 for the internet access and printing. So the lesson here is, print out your ticket before you come! They do have free boarding pass printing if that applies to you.
Finally, we wanted to thank the house keeping service for contacting us after we left. They had found some of our kids items left behind - small bib, sand box toys, and some T-Shirt, small items that I wouldn't think they would care calling us. When I contacted them, they appeared to keep a good log of everything found in the room, very impressive.
Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 6 amazing days there.
The rooms are clean, big and well-stocked, specially the kitchen, so you can buy everything in the supermarket (3 minutes by car) and make a delicious meal in the barbecue outside. They have many all around the Resort.
There are many nice pools, but the best is the whirlpools, very warm to relax in the end of the day.
What is different from the other resorts is that you don't feel in a Hotel, but you have all of the services and facilities if you need.
Hopefully we will return soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Westin when we received a great deal from them to go. We have spent timeinother Westin properties and so I had certain expectations from them when staying.

The resort was nice. The property is beautiful, not close or up against a beach but that was okay. Our room was clean and for being a studio was roomy. I was a bit disappointed in the quality or design of one thing and that was privacy. They have shutters that can open up in between the bedroom and bathroom. That's fine but when fully closed you can still see through them. If we had kids on this trip this would be a serious problem. Also, the sliding door to get into the restroom has a wide gap even when slid shut and you can see into the restroom. Again, an issue for privacy.

The staff was kind, pleasant, and made me feel welcomed and comfortable. Service by the pool side was a bit slow. If there were many people I could understand but there wasn't.

I don't remeber the name of their restaurant that they have on their resort but it was really good and would recommend eating there.

Westin tends to be pricey and if I were paying full price I don't know that I would have stayed here. There wsn't anything special about this place that made me think higher end and Westin is usally known for higher end. I would go again and stay if I could rent it at the deal we got last time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a lovely, new timeshare resort on a bluff overlooking the ocean. The location is good: close to the Princeville shops and Hanalei. The units are beautifully decorated and well-stocked. Yes, the pools are not warmly heated but we thought they were fine. The "quiet" pool is a lovely small plunge pool and it really was quiet. The other pools are full of children. If you are NOT traveling with children ask for a room away from the kiddie pool unless you enjoy shrieking toddlers. One big plus is the reciprocal privileges at the St. Regis, about 1.5 miles away. The beach setting there is spectacular, the amenities nicely done (free use of lounge chairs, umbrellas, ice water). This really helps make up for the lack of a beach at the villas. Note that most of the rooms are not ocean-view. But, the location at the end of a road is private and the property does not feel crowded, even during a fully-booked holiday week (Thanksgiving).

Service is warm and professional. We were offered a food credit of $10 per day in lieu of daily maid service and we took it. Since the units have washers, dryers, vacuum etc. we were happy with that. Concierges are plentiful and helpful. Since these units have little kitchens, a trip to Costco is a must. It's about three miles from the airport and has snorkel gear, beach towels, sunscreen, shorts, beach chair, inexpensive liquor ($30 for a big bottle of Bombay Sapphire) and of course the pizzas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We chose to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the Westin Princeville. While it is certainly a lovely resort with stunning views out across the ocean, we would visit other Starwood properties before coming back here.

Location: Lovely, convenient location about 25 miles north of Lihue airport. The resort is located at the end of a road, so even though there are many other timeshare resorts surrounding the property, we felt pretty secluded. There is no direct beach access, which could be a problem if your goal is to spend every day on the beach, but Anini is just 10-minute drive and there is a shuttle to the St. Regis beach. Hanalei Beach is also pretty close.

Just past the entrance to the Westin/St. Regis resorts is a little shopping area with a wonderful Foodland (fresh fish, good produce, wine, etc.), Lappert's ice cream and a wine shop. There are also numerous farmer's markets nearby and the concierge can tell you which ones are on which days. We bought absolutely fresh, fabulous produce each day and feasted on mangoes, papayas, pineapple, home baked cookies, etc.

Unit: We were in a 1-BR on the 3rd floor in building 4, overlooking the 14th hole and on out to the ocean. We could hear the waves crashing and the view was just stunning. Our unit was in great repair, comfortable, well stocked and spacious. Our one complaint is that the day of our "tidy up," housekeeping simply put out fresh towels and emptied the trash, but didn't really clean the room. We were a little disappointed.

Pools: This was our one major area of disappointment. While there are several pools on the property, including a beautiful plunge pool with views out to the ocean, the pools are "heated" to between 76 and 78 degrees, which by any standard is way to cool to enjoy. We inquired one day and were told that the goal is to keep the pools between 78 and 82, but there is no way the water was 78. The only people in the pools were parents with children, and we saw numerous guests stick a toe in and walk away. By the third day, we submitted an email complaint to the property via the website, and did receive a phone call the next day from maintenance/engineering. The gentleman was incredibly nice, but said that because of high heating costs, the resort management keeps them cool and 76 is considered "legal."

Given that the pools are the main attraction here, we found it incredibly disappointing that the water was so cold--it really had a negative impact on our experience and was one of the main reasons we opted not to buy at this property, although we are owners at two other Westin timeshare resorts. If I had been paying the nightly rate instead of using this as our timeshare week, I would have been even more upset!

Facilities: Grounds are beautifully maintained--lots of flowers, grass, koi pond, etc. One other thing to note is that while there are many grills around the property, many of them will not light. One night it took us 4 tries to find a grill that would work. We made note of this at the front desk but the grills were never repaired. This is not up to Westin standards!

Staff: Everyone we met was very nice and helpful. The woman who checked us in was a little nervous and didn't give us towel cards, etc., but that was easily remedied.

Bottom line....lovely property on the beautiful north short of Kauai. Villas are pretty, but pools are unusable which means you have to go elsewhere to enjoy being outside.

Room Tip: Building 4 is a great choice--a little removed from the rest of the resort and most rooms with ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Westin Princeville
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.