We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay in Princeville, stayed 5 days after staying at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. Was thinking it wouldn't live up to the Hyatt, but was pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded to a one bedroom with platinum status. Liked the pools, and the option to prepare our own meals. The only issue was the chairs at the pool are the most uncomfortable I have ever sat in. I would have thought someone in purchasing would have tried them before buying several hundred of them. Otherwise a great choice if your vacationing in Kauai.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    369
    137
    36
    23
See reviews for
330
647
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

In June, my wife and I stayed here 2 nights as part of a weeklong trip to Kauai. While we dont have kids yet, we knew that the resort would probably have a fair number of families given the amenities, room offerings, etc. We were right, plenty of families taking advanatage of this great spot, reasonably priced hotel/rental.
We stayed in a 'studio' if I recall correctly, which basically consisted of a bed, a small sofa/sofa bed, a nice size bathroom, a closet, a washer/dryer, and a small kitchenette area. It was perfect for us, and it was great being able to freshen up our laundry while we were there.
The hotel has a nice/small deli-convenience store where u can pick up a snack, coffee, or something to throw on the grill. I thought the prices were very reasonable and comparable to nearby supermarkets. Had I been there with a 'family' i think i would have definitely taken advantage of the barbecue grills that are in various spots around the resort.
Overall, this was a nice hotel/rental. Its probably not best for couples/honeymooners unless you dont mind kids, but I would recommend this hotel to families for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

came here on a family vacation with a large group. pool area is great. separate kids pool a plus. we bbq'ed most dinners so we saved a lot of money by not having to go to restaurants. princeville is a beautiful area with great golf courses but it is out of the way. takes about 45 minutes to get to lihue and the airport. these are timeshares so they have kitchenettes and stack washer/dryers in unit. very convenient. would recommend to others and will come again the next time we are in kauai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

After a week in Poipu, we moved north for a week at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We found it to be much more scenic than we expected from the reviews we had read. The landscaping is lush and colorful throughout. The main pool area offered adequate shade and a lovely view of mountain or sea. One of the “quiet” pools had an even prettier vista. Subtle and relaxing Hawaiian music is piped into these public areas during the day. On a couple afternoons we opted to drive to the St. Regis Hotel (free valet parking) to use the beach there. Very nice! Also, as you’d expect, VERY expensive food & beverage service, which at the Westin was more reasonable.

We saw lots of grills on the property, and a convenient grocery store made this an attractive option for lots of families. We prefer to dine out. Nanea, on-site at the Westin, was actually our favorite dining experience in the Princeville area.

Our unit was a studio in building 7, with a view of the Kilauea Lighthouse peninsula. Lots of birds to watch. We enjoyed the friendly pairs of nenes. The accommodations were spotless and spacious enough, although the very tiny kitchen sink was difficult to use.

In October our weather was near perfect. Rain showers at night or early morning gave way to lovely afternoons. We will return to this resort on another trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, MI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first stay at this timeshare property. We found it to be a beautiful and pleasant place to stay. We did not have much interaction with the staff but found those who we did interact with friendly. We would recommend that you go down to the St Regis to see the beach and look out at the bay from the high cliffs. We like to explore the area when we go on vacation. We found the property a long way from the things to do on the southern part of the island. Traffic was nasty during the rush hours times. I wish that they would have had some local entertainment during the evening. Overall it is a nice place as are all of the Westin properties we have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This visit, our first return to Kauau since a visit 42 years ago, revealed a hidden gem. This was just a piece of our six week vacation in the island. The Westin exceeded our expectations in several ways. Firstly was the tranquility of the location - very relaxing. Situated on a cliff above the ocean, surrounded by beautiful golf courses, walking in the morning was a delight. I tend to be an early riser. My routing was to go up to the fitness facility, an excellent facility open 24/7, do some exercises until nearly sunrise. I would then go down to the cliffside pool to read a book and watch the sun come up. The sound of the surf fit in beautifully with that. Then it was back to the condo for a light breakfast with the wife, who by this time was enjoying coffee and a biscoti on the deck, taking in the sunrise, the view, and all the birdsong.

The real golden nugget was a colloboration with the St Regis Resort in Princeville. A shuttle was provided on an hourly basis until 8 PM that allowed us to use all the St Regis facilities, with the exception of the pool. We could take lunch, eat dinner, do most anything and charge it to our room at the Westin - very cool! Just befor the tsunami we had a beautiful happy hour overlooking Hanalei Bay. Being high ground neither The St Regis or the Westin had any worries about the tsunami.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom villa in building 6, with a lanai view of the adult only infinity pool.
The unit was very nice, love the heavenly bed and shower. Beautiful landscaping. There are two very nice grilling areas near the pool. We were unhappy with the gym facilities. Not enough equipment for a resort of this size, about a dozen cardio stations, packed by 6:45am and in constant use until 9:30. The biggest problem are the native geese, which roam the property and you constantly need to what out for their droppings. They are in the pool and all around it. We asked management to have someone clean in the afternoon. The resort has access to the beach thru the St Regis resort but the views are beautiful. We prefer Maui but enjoyed are stay.
How can anyone not like the Hawaiian warm air and water!

Room Tip: Book early, as soon as you know you are going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.