We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place Great Staff Always ready to Help!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Place Great Staff Always ready to Help!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at this Property recently with my Kids, It was a 2 Bedroom with pool View, Property is right next to the famous Princeville Beach but only few units in this Property have an Ocean View, Staff was very friendly and available, Attention to detail was appreciable, knwoing that kids would be staying in the room they had a bucket full of toys and Duckies in the room, though it was a 2 bedroom but we had requested for a crib so 3 year old can be sleep in the same room, they made sure to bring the plush mattress for the Crib too. Great location, great facilities, I was not too thrilled with the in house resturant, but there is a shuttle which takes you to the St. Regis hotel and they have Amazingly great resturants, Kauai Grill tops the list, little expensive but worth the money and the view, make reservation in advance and ask for a ocean view table, it was food everywhere with 3 year old but hostess was good and she was very attentive and made sure kid got everything and anything he wanted.
Princeville is a real nice town with plenty of Golf options, horse ranches, Ocean activities and there is a local market right at the Princeville resort with many local and multi cultural resturants with real reasonable prices and good quality food.
There is lot to do at the Westin including many pools for adults and kids, a real good place to take your family! we stayed there for a week and we look forward to going there in May.

Room Tip: Lucky if you can get a third floor with Ocean View but all the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    415
    152
    41
    29
See reviews for
370
734
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week after first visiting the Poipu side of the island for 4 nts. Overall we loved Kauai, it's our favorite of the Hawaiian islands.

The Westin Princeville isn't on the beach, but it has great oceanviews. The resort is too big for our tastes but our 1 bedroom residential suite was large and very comfortable. We made many meals right in our condo's kitchen. We also ate in Hanalei Bay many nights as well. We walked down to the St Regis which is affilated with the Westin to use their beach but guests aren't allowed to hang out and use their towels or pool.

The Westin has lot of activities which we felt were more "family-friendly" like Koi feeding, hula lessons and crafts. We probably should have brought our kids too, but mommy and daddy need a break from kids sometimes. :) We did take a timeshare owner's update tour and pass on this as you are really getting the full court press to buy a $30,000 timeshare at the Westin. We didn't jump on that option because we already own another Starwood resort and can trade into the Kauai location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Hi, I originally booked this stay for one week during Feb 2012, to coincide with other friends who were staying at the nearby hanalei beach resort ( mostly timeshare place). The westin room had a nice mini kitchen facility, full size fridge, washer/dryer, big jetted tub, and convenient access to a hot tub and pool near the complex.

The room was a bit small if you are using the sofa bed too, but overall couldn't complain.

Only problem was the weather - I wouldn't' recommend staying on that side of kauai during the winter season, as the rain was not JUST in the mornings ( which websites often say), but could be all day. Also, the hiking trails were pretty slippery / muddy so you could do any decent length hikes without being a bit miserable or rising a broken ankle.
We rented a car and drove to the lihue side but you can't be driving 45 min-1hr every day to escape the rain!

Excellent hotel pick if the season is right. Note no direct ocean views, but the ocean is visible if you walk to the edge of the property. Note - I saw my friend's place at Hanalei bay resort, it was a similar price ( compared to westin with discount), and the hanalei is much older, dated resort. If you want big rooms then hanalei bay prob better, just a bit inconvenient as very spread out resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My new husband and I stayed at the Westin Princeville for our honeymoon, from Feb. 4th-11th, 2012. The majority of our stay was truly heavenly. We felt valued and our needs were met. However, sadly this positive experience quickly turned sour when it was time to check out. We remember being told during the check in process that hospitality suites were available to use as the majority of guests have flights that leave the island at night. We appreciated this offer and looked forward to taking advantage of it. I called the morning of check out to reserve a hospitality suite but was told that a suite could only be reserved in person while checking out. The day prior, we were able to secure an 11 am check out (normally it's 10am), due to being an SPG member. So my husband and I were at the front desk promptly at 11 to check out. When we requested a hospitality suite, we were told the only times left were at 1:00 and 8:00. Dismayed, neither of these times worked as our flight departed at 9:30. Needless to say, we were incredibly disappointed to learn after the fact that the hospitality suites are reserved on a first come, first served basis. And that there are only two available. The inconvienence of this policy baffles me. The bottom line is, whoever checks out of their rooms first, with all bags present, gets the best chance of securing a suite. My husband and I are both in the aviation industry and stay at hotels equally as often as our own home. A 10am check out is very early comparatively speaking, especially when the majority of guests flights leave that island in the evening. Then to only have 2 suites available to better assist the policy doesn't even come close to accommodating all the guests who require it. It became quite clear to us that the policy is set in place to get guests to check out as early as possible. All of a sudden we went from feeling like valued guests, to loiterers who were not welcome. The only backup plan we were given was to shower in the public bathrooms which are attached to the workout room. I'm still reeling from the experience of attempting to use their backup plan. There is only 1 shower available. Not a single locker. And only 1 small bench to place a suitcase. No towels available. Hard rock music playing. I asked the front desk to call housekeeping for towels. 10 minutes passed. I asked a second time; and towels appeared 10 minutes later. When I walked into the bathroom the shower was already in use and there was no place to put my suitcase as the person in the shower was already using the one bench available. My only option was to use the diaper changing table. Not very sanitary to say the least. By the time I got out of the shower there were 2 women waiting in line, bags everywhere. Nobody looked pleased. Another woman said, "this is impossible." It was clear that numerous guests were also adversely affected by the 'hospitality suite policy.' To make matters worse, we asked to speak with the manager to discuss our displeasure with this policy. She was in a meeting so they took our number for her to call us later in the day. The manager, Carla, called my husband in the late afternoon. Unfortunately, she was not very receptive to what my husband had to say about our being inconvienced by the hospitality suite policy. Carla even felt it important to mention that we were the first guests to complain about it; we found that hard to believe. Our disbelief proved true as we ran into countless guests complaining about it in the lobby and bathroom as we were all getting ready to depart. I'm certain this is a common occurrence every weekend in the early evening hours. Carla had no other suggestions, alternatives, or extended offers to help ease the situation for us. My husband even suggested to Carla a more fair policy in the form of a lottery system explained during check in, and to directly specify during check in how the suites are on a first come, first serve basis. The way we were told during check in made it sound like a guaranteed offer. Studies have shown that people remember first and last impressions the most. It's a crying shame that our last, lasting impression of the Westin Princeville is one of feeling rushed out, inconvienced and undervalued. This certainly isn't the Westin experience that is so openly touted as 'relax, refresh and renew.' The Westin Princeville has a lot to learn about how to send off their guests. We didn't even get asked a "how was your stay" during check out. So I'm left to write my answer to that question which should always be asked during the farewell...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Pleasant, clean, well landscaped property, but definitely missed the ocean front aspect. The Nanea restaurant has good food if you like to dine on site and their Sunday brunch seems to be quite a hit with lot of guests as it was packed and the wait was 20 mins, but lot of items from the menu are available at the poolside Wailele Dining & Bar. The Health club is well equipped and the Sauna Steam are well maintained.
Even I found them charging for coffee tea packs in the room a li'l tacky, but well what do you do:( Other than that, I would recommend this property for anyone wanting to spend some quality time with each other or the family.

Room Tip: We were on second floor of Bldg 2 in room 2016 with a jacuzzi right below our room and ocean view, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

These are upscale timeshare villas. Large bathroom showers have two shower heads. Bedding is SOOO comfortable. Design of the property is a little odd. Our building overlooked a golf course and the ocean, but a parking lot was built between the building and golf course which detracted from the view. Be prepared for roosters making noise starting at 3AM -- part of the ambience of Kauai! We loved the grill stations throughout the property and enjoyed the on-site restaurant. There is no beach, but there is a shuttle to the nearby St. Regis where guests can use the beach. Pools are beautiful and chairs were always available. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the grounds or the ocean, but not in a building that overlooks a parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Beautiful property, ok rooms with lighting so poor it is impossible to read or play games and wondful, helpful friendly staff.

Peaceful and relaxing, no. Got little sleep. 6:30 am sceaming kids running up and down the halls. 7:00am. Adults yelling from room to room and outside to the rooms...yelling at screaming kids. Beautiful pools, especially the quiet pool full of screaming, rude kids who can not read the words "quite pool" and/or don't care.

We agree with the many comments that the 10am check out is awful. Parking is very difficult, often requiring long walks from the car. Of course they want to ding you with valet parking, which is ok, but you have to tip everytime you want your car. And, our car was smashed in the rear in the too tight lot...EXPENSIVE!

Then there was the matter of the no obligation, no pressure presentation. To be fair, the salesman was most agreeable. Then came the closer!!!! Wow, he would make any used car lot proud. Rude, crude, abusive. It all went to pot when he suggested we were so old, why were we holding on to our money, just spend it and enjoy it!!!!

When we asked why we should spend 55k when we could buy a resale of the property for 10k or less, it really fell apart. (We did our homework and there are many, many available) Also, why would we just not rent from the many desperate owners wanting to sell, rent or whatever for about the same cost as the yearly maintenance fee and keep the 55k invested and producing? He became very angry and we walked out.

We love Kauai, come often. There are so many wonderful places to stay on the island, why deal with all of this?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.