We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CJ's Steak & Seafood

CJ's Steak & Seafood
5-4280 Kuhio Hwy, #F, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Chuck's Steakhouse)
(808) 826-6211
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Princeville
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Peyton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

In Princeville, this restaurant has great atmosphere, wonderful steaks, and a great salad bar. Not cheap, but worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    144
    143
    77
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, HI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good variety, reasonably priced in Princeville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

CJ's has a nice bar but we think of it as a family place. Good burgers, salads, fish, steak, etc Kids are usually happy with the choices and adults are always satisfied. It's in Princeville Shopping Center and makes a nice lunch or dinner stop for travellers.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“So Bad It Was Funny & No Answer to My Complaint from Manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I wrote an extensive commentary to the Manager/Owner--the person who's name was on the business card for the restaurant--concerning my $500+ visit to CJ's last week. Since I received no reply, I feel justified in posting my comments: the food was literally inedible. It was made of poor materials, old materials (the salad was soupy), wildly and ridiculously over-priced, poorly cooked, and served with condiments delivered straight from a jar. I took my family of five out to dinner before two had to leave to catch a flight so we had no time to go elsewhere once the food was delivered--by a waiter so surly and yet so dismissive that we were gob-smacked in response; he was a character played by John Cleese but without the humor. We were hostages, in effect, because we couldn't make time to go elsewhere. I spoke to the manager on duty. She said we could have free desserts. We hated everything we ate and we felt disrespected and dismissed--why would want to STAY and eat more? AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Convenient Princeville Stop for Decent Food & Drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

While C.J.'s may not make it to the short list of most finicky gourmets, we have enjoyed good times here for many years (including the former Chuck's Steak House) in pleasant surroundings with good drinks and solid simple food (steaks, seafood, chicken) at reasonable prices.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great Food in Princeville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The waitstaff has been with the restaurant for many years. They are extremely efficient as well as being friendly. The food is consistently good which is a great plus for this area. Great salad bar which is kept spotless. Highly recommended! Some outside seating!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Steak & Seafood also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to CJ's Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ's Steak & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.