We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ in all ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Kuhio Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Kuhio Condos
Save
You added Prince Kuhio Condos to your Saves list
5061 Lawai Rd., Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Bucks County Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A+ in all ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Prince Kuhio #307. The location is Central for exploring the Island.We were surpirsed to see how big the "studio" was. It was delightfully furnioshed, immaculately clean, and well-equipped with anything we would possibly want- even down to snorkel defogger! The lanais were great- very private in this particular unit- the most private in the building. The views were outstanding and even though the area has changed and is built up quite a bit, because of the location bordering Prince Kuhio Park, it gives tthe feeling of being isolated, peaceful, and quiet. This condo was a true haven to start out from and come home to at night. We will return!!!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
129
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

I stayed here during the recent rainy week which saw only a few hours of sunshine which made us get very close with our room.

Positives:
Not a bad location. Near major hotels and bars, great restaurants and beaches nearby as well as centrally located on the island.
You have a kitchen and utensils and a great romantic restaurant and beach right across the street. Be sure to go to the Beach House for a drink.
Nice deck and view which we didn't get to use.
Price was reasonable.

Negatives:
A lot smaller than it appears in the pictures. Couch is literally 3 feet in front of the TV.
VCR doesn't work well....renting a tape made me feel like 1999 again. Owner should spring for a $50 DVD player.

So if you get stuck in your room much due to rain, not the best unit. However, i would recommend the 1 bedroom units which looked spacious or the property accross the street.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2006

We stayed in unit #315 Jan. 24-30, 2006 & it far exceeded our expectations. Plenty of room for a one bedroom with 1 1/2 baths. Excellent view from the balcony for sunrises & view of the ocean across the street. Saw whales several times from our balcony. Awesome place! We would go back in a minute. Excellent location & value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2005

Spent the 21'st to 28'th of November in unit #106.

Not a bad word to say about this condo.

LOCATION

We could see and hear the ocean from our lanai. (200-300 yards away, across a small street.) We could walk to Lawai beach with fantastic snorkeling in 2 minutes. (I've walked much further staying at beach resorts in Mexico and Cuba.) The drive to Poipu beach is under 5 minutes. To Koloa for groceries is 6-7 minutes. To the airport is around 30 minutes.

UNIT #106

The unit is clean, and ideal for a couple without kids. Nice new Sony flat screen Wega TV, a nice sound system, DVD player, great bed and bedding, and nice furniture makes this a cozy home. The lanai/patio furniture could use renewal.

The kitchen had a full size coffee maker, blender, stove/oven, fridge/freezer and microwave. Very nice table settings, and excellent cookware. We cooked all 7 dinners at home. Excellent fish is cheap to buy fresh in Koloa.

The unit is not air conditioned, but had a huge ceiling fan over the bed. Every window was screened for bugs and opened. Cooling the place for sleeping wasn't an issue with the steady breezes and being so close to the ocean.

Nice extras included a hard cooler which we used daily for all of our beach and road trips, beach chairs, and onsite laundry. The unit even had a small vacuum which helped keep things clean quickly considering all the sand on us from the beach.

We liked being on the ground floor as we were always bringing stuff in and out of the car. It didn't negatively affect our view at all.

The unit is value priced, but is spotlessly clean and very well equiped. Highly recomended, this isn't a budget unit. Thank you to the owners Jack and Dorinda who rented us this condo. Here is their link. -------------------

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

My husband and I made our first trip to Kauai last month and were very fortunate to stay at the Prince Kuhio - Oct 11th to 18th. We rented unit #211 direct from the owners and we were not disappointed.
On our arrival we found the condo clean and spotless. It was well furnished and equipped with everything to make our stay comfortable. The large bedroom was nicely furnished with a comfortable king-size bed and sitting area. Off the bedroom was the lanai which overlooked the park and also had a view of the ocean. The perfect place to have breakfast each day before touring the island. The entrance and sitting room overlooked a tropical garden complete with koi ponds and a pool.
Although this is an older complex the building, gardens and walkways are well cared for. We would definitely stay at Prince Kuhio #211 when we visit Kauai again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

We spent an enjoyable, restful week in Prince Kuhio unit #211. This is a large one bedroom, with lovely furnishings and a well-stocked kitchen. The bedroom overlooks the park and has an ocean view with a wonderful breeze. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens and relaxed at the pool. Prince Kuhio is nicely located in a quite area close to many activities. We visited a number of nearby beaches, which were not crowded. If you are a jogger, you can run for many scenic miles just by walking out the condo door. Also you can walk to some of the best snorkeling on the island at Lawai Beach.

Stayed June 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

I was able to book Condo 333 in less then 2 weeks notice after I decided to go to Kauai on a whim. The company I rented the condo through was very accommodating and pleasant. After much internet research, I picked Prince Kuhio Condos for several reasons: location, price, glowing reviews by others and privacy. I was not disappointed when we arrived. The welcome goody bag was a nice touch. Our unit was a studio complete with a small kitchen, air conditioning, iron and cable tv. There were beach towels, silverware and other necessities from previous visitors. It was a more personal vibe then a hotel stay and more importatnly, no bustle. We even got some suggestions for leisure activities from the visitor guest book. The only complaint I had about this cozy studio was the tiny shower. =D But that would not deter me from staying at Prince Kuhio Condos again. We had a great stay.
(One last note, the rambling roosters. They are a fixture on Kauai and are EVERYWHERE.)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Kuhio Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Kuhio Condos

Address: 5061 Lawai Rd., Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Kuhio Condos are offered by individual owners. Our condos are just a few yards from the ocean on the sunny south shore of Poipu Beach Kauai. The complex is nestled between the beautifully landscaped Prince Kuhio Park on one side and a lush, tropical garden and pool on the other side. There are ocean views, park views, mountain views, and sunrise views! You can hear the ocean waves from the bedrooms at night. (Note to Reviewers/Readers: These condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Kuhio Hotel Poipu
Prince Kuhio Condos Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Kuhio Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.