We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveliest of vacations ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Kuhio Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Kuhio Condos
5061 Lawai Rd., Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loveliest of vacations ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

What can we say? Absolutely THE MOST relaxing vacation of our lives!!!
What a choice spot #106 is!! No steps to climb, no condo to view out the living room & lanai!!
Cool breezes plus the fans made the place fresh and refreshing.
The shower's large and hot water plentiful.
Outside the noise from walkers chatting as they walked by the front door (kitchen area so no big deal) only the noise of the wind and the waves and Prince Kuhio Park out the lanai.
The private resort garden is lush and beautiful.

The little beach next to Beach House across the street is super. Walked over there with our coffee in the big cups every morning. At 7 usually just us and the waves.

To sum up -- if you want to get away from the hi-rise hotels and crowded beaches and tons of tourists, go to Prince Kuhio -- the one bedroom #106 is perfect for two, maybe three or four with two on the fold out couch. The walls are concrete so no noisy neighbors!! The garden is lush and the pool clean and pretty and the gas BBQ always set up for on-demand and there's even charcoal and lighter there (and in the unit) if you so desire to "rough" it.

We thought it was nice when we arrived but didn't really realize how wonderful P.K. was, especially #106, until after we had driven around the island and saw the other resort areas.


We certainly DO wish to return!

  • Liked — privacy and views
  • Disliked — parking sometimes awkward
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
120
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mlps
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

The condo was as advertised. The Balcony was only 2 feet wide in our unit, #305. We had ocean view across a road. There was some noise from the parking lot and the pump on the fish pond needs work as it cycled loudly. I would stay in a unit farther from the road and ocean next time. There was very good snorkelling a few hundred feet to the west across the road. Go at low tide for calmer water. Watching the sunset there too! To the East a mile down a dead end road is a great wave beach. Some parking but of course not enough. Very sandy. Other wise the unit was just fine.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed in Prince Kuhio 211 from 4/7/08-4/12/08. The condo is nicely equipped and a good size. It was very clean when we arrived. Very nice breeze for sleeping with the slider open. The pool was never too crowded. The grounds were well kept and had a tropical feel. Having the laundry room downstairs was very convenient. There was plenty of parking. The Beach House restaurant, which was very good (a little pricey) is right across the street. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary while there and enjoyed the Beach House for our anniversary dinner.

When we had flight problems and had to adjust our schedule, Jack and Dorinda were very helpful and understanding. They were a pleasure to do business with.

  • Liked — Comfortable Bed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

Stayed at this condo complex in Poipu on the south shore. Only a 20 minute drive from the airport. We were in unit 315. I think we paid about $150 a night or so.

The condo was very large with a full size kitchen, 1.5 bath, large living room and bedroom. Balcony overlooked the Prince Kuhio park and you can see the ocean through a few palm trees. Bed is a true King with great sheets (kinda velvety feel). They provided all you would need including collapsable cooler, beach chairs, one snorkel gear, pleny of plush towels, lotsa closet space, coffee maker, knives and utensils, and salt/pepper. TV was fine with all your major channels with VHS/DVD available. Nicely furnished and everything in good, clean condition.

There is a strong breeze from the balcony which helps cool the condo if your sliding door is open. However, if you close it while you're gone, it does get warm. There is no AC. They do have some fans though. We didn't like the idea of having the sliding doors open while we slept because the neighboring balcony can look in easily, with the curtains blowing around because of the strong wind.

So, other than no AC, great place. They could use an elevator though. We were on the third floor and lugging suitcases up and down is kinda a pain. Pretty koi pond in front. They have a decent pool and some bbq grills. Their parking lot is busy but they have a parking garage in the back. Coast is across the street. Beach House Restaurant also across the street as is a small beach. Plenty of people snorkeling there, which we did as well, but be careful. The current took us a bit and we ended up on rocks because we couldn't swim against the current.

Overall, liked the condo. Was good value and good location. 20 minutes to Lihue, 45 minutes to Waimea, 60 minutes to Princeville (north shore), 90 minutes to Haena (northwest).

  • Liked — Large size
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covington,la
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed at Prince Kuhio in unit 302 for our honeymoon April14-21, 2008. It was just wonderful. The view was great.look left there are mountains, trees and the Prince Kuhio park, look right for the wonderful ocean. Kauai Vacation rentals was very easy, and nice to work with. There was a fruit backet and flowers awaiting us. Great breezes and ocean wave sounds all day and night. 1 ceiling fan over bed and 2 portable fans helped a lot.
Great location across from PK beach, Lawai beach, Beach House Rest. Not a busy street at all. Off the beaten path, yet 5 min from Koloa town for supplies etc.
The remodel in this unit was top quailty all the way. Bed was super comfortable. Shower was huge, beautiful and had a VIEW!
The value of this condo versus Kuhio Shores across the street really sold us on this unit.
3 small issues:
1.Living room area needs light-no big deal just a thought
2. no closable door to the bathroom, yes this is weird, the rental co. hung a shower curtain for me as no-one had ever commented on this before.
3. I know a/c is rare, but about 3 times we sure would have enjoyed some really cool air.
Overall great place, great grounds, great location, great value,

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

We stayed in 102 April 3 to April 11, 2008. This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have done. The condo is perfectly located to walk to the beach for snorkeling or swimming. It was just right for us. The condo is very clean and provides everything you need. We also enjoyed being able to BBQ some fresh fish and have fresh pineapple and mango available in the room. It is not the fanciest place we have stayed in but it's perfect for folks that want cleanliness and like to do a little (or a lot) of their own cooking.

The Beach House restaurant was great. Try the Kauai Duet for dinner and the seafood corn chowder was so rich one bowl can be shared with another person. We will stay there again and we will rent another condo for our kids and grandkids. I can only describe Kaui as friendly, beautiful, and relaxing. Dennis Mozeleski Santa Cruz, CA

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Prince Kuhio in January 2008. We were in Unit #337, which was recently remodeled. It was a studio unit with a full kitchen. All accommodations were excellent and the location couldn't be beat. It was directly across the street from the Beach House Restaurant and Kuhio Shores. A small beach was within walking distance - perfect for sunset watching.

The Prince Kuhio has a parking lot for guests in addition to an adjacent parking garage. The entire building was very quiet and noise between units was never an issue. Even though we visited in the high season, we were able to get a rate of $125/night, which we were very happy with. It sure beats paying $250+/night at the huge resorts around Poipu.

Photos of #337 can be seen here: http://www.prince-kuhio.com/site/337.html

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince Kuhio Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Kuhio Condos

Address: 5061 Lawai Rd., Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Kuhio Condos are offered by individual owners. Our condos are just a few yards from the ocean on the sunny south shore of Poipu Beach Kauai. The complex is nestled between the beautifully landscaped Prince Kuhio Park on one side and a lush, tropical garden and pool on the other side. There are ocean views, park views, mountain views, and sunrise views! You can hear the ocean waves from the bedrooms at night. (Note to Reviewers/Readers: These condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Kuhio Hotel Poipu
Prince Kuhio Condos Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Kuhio Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Prince Kuhio Condos to your Saves list