We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 102” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Kuhio Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Kuhio Condos
5061 Lawai Rd., Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unit 102”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

First Impression, Dark and Dreary and I paid how much for this? The decor was early 1980's. One of the two chairs was broken and unusable, the other produced a noxious odor whilst sitting in it. The bed is sway backed and in order to sleep we had to purchase foam mattress pads. If two people want to read in bed, forget it, only one lamp and nightstand.
The pictures on the walls look exactly like my grandmother sold at her garage sale 30 years ago. The kitchen is not well equipped unless you don't need a sharp knife to cut anything. Try turning your pancakes with a spoon and feature cutting a large fresh pineapple with a paring knife. We booked this for 12 nights and were allowed 1 roll of TP. The toilet caulking on the floor was covered with what could only be, well you can read between the lines. The unit is hard by the road and headlights dance through your room all night and the noise is such to wake the dead. Overall, the unit is the most depressing I have ever stayed in.
The only redeeming features are the grounds that are nicely kept. I travel quite a bit for my company and would never recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't book #102... I can't comment on the other rooms as I haven't seen them. I'm st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanKauai, Owner at Prince Kuhio Condos, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are very sorry that one of our guests found Prince Kuhio 102 to be so terrible that they could not recommend it to anyone. They did not contact us and we were unaware until we saw this review. We take pride in our condo and do whatever it takes to make our guests happy. We only wish they had contacted us and given us a chance to work through their issues.

We examined the things mentioned in their review after their departure. Our bed is a 5 year old luxury mattress in excellent condition. It is medium firmness and the guest obviously needed very firm for health reasons. We did not see the foam mattress pad they purchased or the new spatula. Perhaps they were able to put them in their suitcase and fly back home with them. Also, neither chair in the living room is broken. The knives were dull and we purchased a new set. The condo is always exceptionally clean and our guests always comment on how clean the unit is when they arrive. The caulk around the toilet is old and slightly yellowed but for heaven's sake it is not pee stained!

This couple complained about the cost of 102 but they only payed $135/nt during the Christmas and New Years holiday. The condo is about 30 yards from the ocean and you can hear waves crashing on the shore from the condo, see the ocean and walk just out front to a nice beach. We do not think our condo is dark and the decorations are Hawaiian style which some people might confuse with early 80's. The kitchen is well stocked and we keep our linens and towels in new condition. We are very particular and we feel very sad when someone is not happy with our condo.

We contacted these guests after we saw the review to find out why they did not call us and give us a chance to work with them before posting such a nasty review. They said it was too late because it should have been perfect when they arrived. They also said, "To be quite frank, the place kind of grows on you after a while." They mentioned only the bed and knives and in the end said, "We may have had a different outlook had we been on a higher floor".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
120
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just spent a week in PK 212, a large one-bedroom unit about two-thirds back from the front/street. This is a condo complex with no on-site "manned" office. It is beautifully decorated and has great cross-ventilation. The rooms are spacious and the unit has granite counter tops and fully equipped kitchen; can park in the parking structure in the back (no charge); quiet complex. The view from the porch and bedroom facing east is of the ocean and waves--so relaxing and beautiful. The Prince Kuhio Park is east of the unit. The view from the living room is lush green palm trees and other tropical landscaping. This unit is on the second floor of a three-story complex, so you have the view but also it should be cooler in the warmer months. There is no air conditioning, but great ceiling fans and cross ventilation. The complex is across the street from the Beach House restaurant and a wonderful snorkeling and (experienced) surfing beach. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this unit. You can google Prince Kuhio owners and find their unit, dealing directly with the owners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in condo #234 in Feb. for 8 days and heading back this coming July for 15 days. This condo is perfect and the bed is amazing! Clean, clean clean. The owners are great and easy to work with. The location is perfect and to be honest they could charge over $100 a night and get it easy. You won't e disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We rented condo #105 (first floor) through Kauai Vacation Rentals and are staying here a week. We wanted the first floor because we're divers and we wanted quick access to the car. This has been a great little condo, with everything you need in the kitchen, beach towels in the linen closet, even DVDs (for both adults and kids) to watch on TV. There's also a great selection of Maui guidebooks (hiking trails, sea life, etc.) that I used for planning day trips. There are laundry facilities that take credit cards (you just have to pay for detergent with quarters). There are also two BBQs onsite near the pool.

We spend most of our time (when we're not out) in the living room with the curtains wide open. We can look at the park next door, watch the chickens meander about (they are everywhere on Kauai), and see the snorkeling bay across the street. The dive shop (Seasport Divers) is five minutes away, which is super convenient, and the overpriced restaurant, Beach House Restaurant, is close too. Great place for drinks and appetizers. But that's why the kitchen at the condo comes in handy. You can save money making most of your meals here. There's a "Whole Foods-type" market up the street, and a regular market a couple of miles away where you can get everything you need.

Check-in was super easy. Kauai Vacation Rentals left the keys for us at the car rental counter.

Overall, we are very pleased with this rental.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I spent part of our Kauai vacation here in #136. It was perfect! The unit is at the end, away from the road, so very quiet and easy loading and unloading from the parking garage. The grounds are lovely and the BBQ area very clean and well maintained. The unit itself was very clean and cozy and also well stocked with not only all the kitchen items you could need, but also lots of towels, beach and bath. Beach chairs, snorkel gear, and such. We had stayed our first part of our trip at the Marriott which was also lovely, but we so enjoyed the Prince Kuhio #136, we will make it our main destination for many years to come!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a great condo, and this unit is one of the larger ones in the building. It is spacious and well appointed. It has everything you need for a great stay in Kauai...beach chairs, snorkel gear, pool noodles, a big flatscreen TV, full laundry, nice big kitchen, and a comfy bed.
I love the pool at this place, and the garden that surrounds it. It is lush, and exotic. You can tell it is cared for really well. You could wander around just counting the different types of palms. There is also an orchid that smells exactly like grape soda! The fountain in the koi pond can be heard from the front of the condo, and the surf can be heard from the back. This is a nice little benefit to this unit.
The best snorkeling on the island is right across the street, about a 30 second walk. This is also where everyone shows up to watch the amazing sunsets. There are also 3 good surf breaks in the same area. If your rental car got a flat tire...you could still have a great time on foot.
Overall, this place is a bargain. It has everything you need. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location is convenient but very noisy as a tremendous amount of traffic passes by this property on the way to two popular destinations, The Beach House and Spouting Horn. And since there is no AC you cannot shut out the noise or the lights from passing cars without cutting off your air flow, so it was very difficult to sleep. The kitchen ceiling fan was wobbly and noisy, the screen door to the back patio stuck and was very difficult to open/close, and there seemed to be an electrical problem with the bathroom light switch. If a window AC unit was installed, as other units had and other necessary repairs were made, it would be very quiet and comfortable. Besides that, we were very pleased to find beach chairs, beach towels, a boogie board, cooler, washer/dryer and a well-equiped kitchen to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: Lots of traffic and street noise; earplugs are not enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince Kuhio Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Kuhio Condos

Address: 5061 Lawai Rd., Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Kuhio Condos are offered by individual owners. Our condos are just a few yards from the ocean on the sunny south shore of Poipu Beach Kauai. The complex is nestled between the beautifully landscaped Prince Kuhio Park on one side and a lush, tropical garden and pool on the other side. There are ocean views, park views, mountain views, and sunrise views! You can hear the ocean waves from the bedrooms at night. (Note to Reviewers/Readers: These condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Kuhio Hotel Poipu
Prince Kuhio Condos Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Kuhio Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Prince Kuhio Condos to your Saves list