We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRIP OF A LIFETIME!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Kapili

Save Saved
You added Poipu Kapili to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poipu Kapili
2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Two Bedroom From $325
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Gold Hill, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“TRIP OF A LIFETIME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our family stayed at Poipu Kapili #54 July 31st through August 7th, 2012 and we can't say enough about this lovely condo! We had everything we needed to enjoy snorkeling, boogie boarding, tennis, swimming, etc. The views of the ocean from the master bedroom are amazing. The weather was perfect and the condo is located close to shopping, restaurants and the best beaches. We also enjoyed the complex pool in the morning and in the evening before relaxing on the patio while watching the beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: Sheraton has a work out center 100 feet away from condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    30
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
105
98
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Poipu Kapili and are already planning our next trip to Kauai.
We absolutely loved our stay in #25. The condo has recently been renovated and the owners did a lovely job! We chose this unit for the view and it did not disappoint. My husband and I spent a lot of our time sitting on the lanai and looking out over the ocean.

The condo was stocked with laundry/dish detergent, beach towels, various spices and a small packet of coffee. I would recommend hitting up the Costco in Lihue after arriving in Kauai. We stopped and bought beverages, breakfast and lunch items. After checking in we headed back to a small store to buy condiments, sugar and butter. We also checked out the farmer's market at the Kuku'iula Shopping Center (on Wednesdays) and ended up buying fresh pasta, sauce and a salad for dinner.

The grounds of Poipu Kapili are gorgeous. Very well maintained. The pool is clean and very refreshing.

The staff at Poipu Kapili was very friendly and helpful. We stopped by the office to borrow a tennis racket and buy a can of balls. We also were able to buy some delicious Kauai coffee at the front desk.

I truly can't find one negative thing to say about Pipu Kapili. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Kauai!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

First off, a big thank you to all the folks that work at Poipu Kapili. They are very welcoming and call you by name or nickname when they see you. There seems to be an endless breeze flowing through the condos. Relaxed is how you should feel throughout your stay. The sound of the waves crashing out front puts me right to sleep every night within minutes. The sunsets are amazing, so be sure to head out to 'the wall'. Again, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was our first tiime to stay in Poipu Kapili #54 and we loved it! It is beautifully furnished and has fantastic views of the ocean. A short walk to the swimming beach, shops and restaurants. We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Poipu Kapili numerous times through the years but this is the first occasion we had to rent one of the 'penthouse' suites, unit 27. We were traveling with a friend and wanted the extra space. We were not disappointed to say the least. Beautifully furnished, spectacular kitchen and plenty of extra added attractions (huge soaking tub with ocean view, steam shower, wireless and computer access to name a few) this place was the far and away the best we've ever had at Poipu Kapili.

But there is a but. I know this is out of the out of the owners and operators control but there is an another side of the coin to unit 27. You see, there is a large resort under construction (and has been for at least 3 years) to the rear of the unit. Sadly, the second bedroom and it's lanai
overlook this construction site. So, if you have the master bedroom you gaze across the paradise that is the Pacific ocean and Kauai. If you have the second bedroom you overlook, as we called it, East Berlin 1960. I hope that they complete construction soon but you know island time.

Anyway, that is why I dropped one star on my review. Outside of the jarring rear view, our stay in unit 27 was incredible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our second trip to Kauai, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is wonderful and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, and the condo's are very nice! It a short walk to shops, dinning, and the beach! The sunsets are amazing!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, Ca
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 9 days at the Poipu Kapili and had a mostly very good experience in spite of the often inclement weather. Unit 32 was large and nicely furnished with a beautiful ocean view. The staff here are all very friendly and efficient and made us feel right at home. Kahuna Beach is only a short walk away and many other beaches are within walking distance too. Poipu Kapili is centrally located in South Kuai and handy to most sights and restaurants. 32 also has a recently added air conditioner in the bedroom. Unfortunately for us, what we needed more was a heater. This doesn't happen often in Kuai.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a collection of privately owned condominiums in an idyllic setting on one of the most beautiful islands in the world, Kauai. This private resort boasts spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condos ranging in size from 1120 square feet to 2600 square, all with ocean views and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Kapili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.