We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomodations in Unit 56” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Kapili

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Poipu Kapili to your Saves list
Poipu Kapili
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very nice accomodations in Unit 56”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in Unit 56 which is an oceanfront unit, and it suited our family perfectly. The unit had been recently updated and was in mint condition. Upstairs has two double beds in one bedroom and a queen bed in the master bedroom. Our oldest son slept on an aero bed which was quite comfortable. We made good use of the well-equipped kitchen for breakfast and lunch. The unit comes with a washer and dryer (VERY handy), and three bathrooms all with showers. There is plenty of closet space, and a safe in the master bedroom. Two A/C units were provided which we used sparingly as the breezes kept the unit nice and comfortable for most of the stay. We spent many pleasant evenings on the patio watching the waves.
The unit also has beach chairs and umbrellas. A number of beach equipment rental facilities are very close with everything else you might need. The closest beach is at the Sheraton – a short walk. We also drove to other beaches, and the kids went boogie boarding at Brenneke’s beach. (It can be very rough there so be careful.) There are many good places to eat within walking distance or a very short drive. Each unit has a reserved parking spot.
The staff was friendly and helpful. It is hard to find anything to complain about… the internet wasn’t working while we were there and it could have been useful. In addition, the unit faces the ocean, with a road between the property and the rocky beach. In August the waves are good for surfing and on most evenings locals would park on the road and either surf or watch the sunset. Usually it wasn’t a problem. We all agreed that this was much nicer than staying in hotel rooms, and the smaller facility made the stay feel more intimate than a larger complex. We will definitely stay here if we go back to Kauai.

Room Tip: The ocean front units are worth it. End units have more windows and natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
124
118
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our trip to Kauai was somewhat unexpected but we were so happy and fortunate to find our selves in condo #32 at Poipu Kapili as it surpassed all our expectations. Traveling with a 6 year old and 1 year old, condo #32 quickly became our home away from home... and for 3 fun filled weeks was simply wonderful!

Excellent ocean front location (#32 has a great uninterrupted water view and yet is not positioned near the road as some other condos happen to be), spacious beautiful interior, fully equipped large kitchen, 2 bathrooms, internet access, big lanai with ocean and pool view - perfect. Poipu Kapili also has parking available (a hire-car is handy especially as there is so much to do and see in Kauai.),

The nearest swimming beach is a short walk to Sheraton's beach. Best beach for the kids was Poipu Beach Park, just a 5 min. drive down the road and we even had turtles swim up to the shore for extreme close viewing fun!

Poipu Kapili has some great places to eat nearby and good shopping as well... we highly recommend staying at this condo. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our family of five stayed in Unit 27, which is a "penthouse" condo on the third floor. It was very nicely decorated and well-supplied. It would have been the perfect location on Kauai for our family ... if it had been air-conditioned. But it wasn't (or, rather, renters are prohibited from using the AC according to the message we saw in the guest book) and as a consequence, we spent five rather sweaty nights lying on top of the sheets with fans blowing across the room. We spoke to the front office about the problem, and they were terribly nice and concerned that we were uncomfortable. They allowed us to look at other units, but none of them had AC or seemed to catch the trade winds in a way that would promise to keep the unit cool.

Since we had prepaid our five-night stay, we chose to stick it out (some nights were better than others.) I must say, though, for $500 a night we would have expected to not have a problem like this. It was especially bothersome when we'd been out hiking all day or playing tennis -- it would have been nice to relax for the evening in a cool condo. But that wasn't possible, and it really affected our stay on Kauai.

We did take advantage of the swimming pool and the tennis courts on the property, and enjoyed those a great deal. We also liked the location in Poipu and had good meals at several of the really nice restaurants in the area. If we had it to do over again, we would have stayed in Poipu but chosen other lodging.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has doors and windows facing the east, where the trade winds blow in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poipukapili, Manager at Poipu Kapili, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We are very happy to say that the owners of condo #27 have installed air conditioning in both bedrooms for their guests to enjoy. There are many condos at Poipu Kapili that now offer air conditioned bedrooms. You will still have the option of leaving the doors open to the beautiful trade breezes but if you do encounter a warm night you'll have the option of closing the doors and turning on the A/C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent four nights at the Poipu Kapili and loved every second. It's a great location just a short walk to the Sheraton's beach (great waves). The place is huge with gorgeous amenities: the full body spray shower is to die for, beautiful kitchen with cabinet-faced refrig and granite countertops, high-end applicances throughout, bathrooms are beautiful, decor is lovely, comfy bed and includes a small washer and dryer. The view to the ocean is great from the first floor and we watched boats sail by in the morning every day while making coffee. I also loved picking up the plumeria flowers that fell from the tree next door and using them for my hair each night.

Be advised: There is NO AC which I was scared to death of, but it wasn't bad at all. The location of the condo really pulls in the breeze and it's lovely at night. Pool is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. Staff - especially Marie and Mary were a delight and very helpful at booking and check-in.

Location is great - close to shopping villages, food markets, Sprouting Horn, Koloa Town and easily accessible to other parts of the island. Easy ride from the airport too. We AGONIZED over where to stay on Kauai and were not disappointed. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room #21 is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Spouse and I have been to P.K. 9 times, sometimes just the two of us, but have been there with other friends either in 2-BR or just staying on property at same time. For us, it's perfect and we've never been disappointed. We have recommended to several people, all but one couple felt the same way we do but I can see how it's not for everybody.
Stay here if you like:
-plantation style cottages, gorgeous ocean views, great lanais; good value
-gorgeous grounds...maintenance workers never use loud leaf blowers, hedge trimmers, etc. But be prepared to hear chickens in early morning - just depends on where your unit is
-eating in once in a while, full kitchen with all the amenities, charcoal and gas grills, herb garden, going to grocery store/farmers market and making it a little more like home
-small but quiet pool, short walk to beach and snorkeling, your own parking space, close drive to several good restaurants
-even the 1-BR has two baths, doors separate space...perfect for the couple or family who doesn't all wake up at same time

Don't stay here if you like:
-pampered personal service, lots of people to hand out with
-lively pool with servers, food/beverage and need something to do for small children
-your room cleaned every day or room service
-air conditioning, fitness center
-on-site bar or restaurant, planned activities(but PK staff can help you)
-beach right on your property

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My husband and I went to Kauai for the first time to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Sunset magazine had just suggested the Poipu Kapili as a reasonable and well maintained place to stay. There are 60 attractive, low-rise condo units located on the South Shore. They do require a three-night minimum so we booked it for five nights this past May 2011. I went online to check out the different condo interiors and we selected condo unit #21. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice decor and the spaciousness of the unit. It was located on the bottom floor and was overall pretty quiet most of our stay until someone moved in above us. There was some foot noise and an occasional shout out from the people above us to their friends staying across the way. Overall, it was very pleasant. We had a nice view from our lenai of the ocean and the pool. It was wonderful to open the sliding windows and feel the balmy, warm breezes. It was amazing! The only downside was that we did not have our own beach, you had to walk next door about a block or so to the beach in front of the Sheraton. Most days we explored other beaches towards the North Shore. We loved Tunnels Beach! We were very close to all of the restaurants and enjoyed the shopping center nearby called Kukui'ula Village. Our condo unit had a nice equipped kitchen with everything you needed, a washer and dryer which truly came in handy. There was plenty of comfortable seating and closet space. I liked having two nice sized bathrooms. I would recommend staying here with all things considered. However, I might like to try and find a place next time that had it's own beach with lounge chairs. The condo did not have good lounge chairs to take to the beach, we recommend they invest in better ones for their guest. Thank-you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed in this unit for our honeymoon in 2011 May for one week and we loved the unit.

One of our favorite things is sitting at the porch to have dinner with an unbeatable sunset view. Make dinner in the house is super easy since you can find all kinds of kitchen appliances there. We also enjoyed the tennis court in the property too. Cynthia kindly provided tennis rackets in the house and that makes playing very easy.

We love the location too, it's a short walk to Sheraton beach and we enjoyed snorkeling and surfing there. There are good restaurants nearby too within reasonable walk distance.

Mosquito was my only enemy in this paradise since the garden seems to attract many of them. But after the first night itchy experience, we bought some trapping device and it got better. The weird thing is my husband didn't get bit.

Overall, we love our experience there and would recommend the place to everyone. :-) Thanks, Cynthia!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poipu Kapili 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a collection of privately owned condominiums in an idyllic setting on one of the most beautiful islands in the world, Kauai. This private resort boasts spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condos ranging in size from 1120 square feet to 2600 square, all with ocean views and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Kapili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.