We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably very good if you could select your suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lawai Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawai Beach Resort
Save
You added Lawai Beach Resort to your Saves list
5017 Lawai Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Probably very good if you could select your suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you could secure a suite on one of the top two floors of the Banyon Building or the Ali'i Building it would probably be very pleasant. There is no air conditioning, but that would probably be O.K. in a location where you could feel the tradewind breezes and enjoy a view of the ocean, which is directly across the street, where there is a tiny, rocky beach. On the second floor in the Coral Building we did have a thin slice of ocean view and the lawn of the Beach House Restaurant, but mostly we could see the outside wall of another wing of the building. It was a sticky, muggy 80+ degrees when we were there in mid-December. There are ceiling fans and an oscillating fan on a stand, but we got tired of the constant droning of fans inside and when sitting on the pleasant lanai . The suite was clean and freshly painted, and had been remodeled recently, including newer white appliances and cabinets, but it was definitely old-school decor. the walls were recently painted a dark tan and a medium-dark shade of seafoam green. The furniture was dark rattan (in very good condition) with dark Hawaiian print upholstery, and there were matching drapes. Since there was no air conditioning, the living/dining area and bedroom had a lot of jalousie windows designed to let the breeze in, if one came along. They also let in the noise of the elevator, the trash chute, laundry room, doors closing, and guests in the hallway. Did I mention it was dark and noisy? No houskeeping was provided with the one week stay, but it was available for a reasonable charge -- as if we hadn't paid enough already. There was an O.K., plain rectangular pool with jetted spa, and there were somewhat more interesting pools at the other buildings. I suspect whoever owns this well-kept timeshare got a good deal on the purchase, compared to owners of the top floor units in Banyon or Ali'i, but exchanging a week in our Cabo San Lucas timeshare for this unit was not a good deal. That's not the owner's or management's fault; it is one of the challanges of doing an RCI exchange, where you have little idea what you will be getting and no input to the unit selection.

Room Tip: Go only if you can get a suite in one of the top two floors of the Banyon or Ali'i buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. We appreciate all and any feedback as it allows us to continually improve our services for our owners and guests.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    92
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
93
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Lawai Beach Resort November 18 for 4 days I wish I would have booked longer.
The resort grounds are beautiful. Parking is ample. The pool area is clean and well kept. There are books and movies you can borrow. The beach across the street is nice and snorkeling there is fantastic! Everyone was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed playing mini golf and using the gym.
The room was clean and well stocked with everything we could need. The bed was comfy. Our room was ground level facing the pool with a partial ocean view in the Banyan Building.
I have no complains and we will be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

As I type this review we are still at this resort...we are sitting on the lanai drinking wine and watching the sunset. We have had an amazing week here. This resort is lovely. It is not a high end resort like the Hyatt or Hilton but then we were not looking for that. This is a clean, very well maintained resort. It is in one of the best spots on the island. One of the best snorkeling beaches is across the street. Our lanai looks out over the gorgeous ocean and it is an amazing place to watch the sunset. We have met so many friendly people at the resort. People seem to come and stay for 2 or 3 weeks. We will definitely stay longer next time. We have a one bedroom condo.

The kitchen has everything you need In it. Lots of pots, pans, platters, storage containers, wine glasses. There is no mid week housecleaning service but they give you plenty of towels...bath, hand, beach and kitchen to last a week. There is a washer and dryer and they give you one pack of tide so make sure you bring a few detergent pods with you. They give you cascade, dish detergent, and paper towels. Oh and a packet of coffee for your first morning (but I always pack a bag of coffee with me).

The is a costco near the airport so if you are a member stop there. They have wine and beer! They also have huge Maui pineapples for $4. There is a Big Save Supermarket less than 10 minutes from resort to buy most items but Costco was cheaper by far.

the resort has several areas with Webber grills so it is easy to grill steaks, burgers, etc.

We had dinner one night at Gaylords which was lovely....elegant and great food.

we took a sunst cruise with Captain Andys which we highly recommend. Great crew....lots of dolphins...a lot of fun. Highy recommend this.

make sure you go to Shipwreck Beach....ask at the lobby desk about this. It is very close to resort. Also do not leave the island without having a shave ice. I am not an ice person but it was delicious.

Also, the resort does not have a/c....there is a great cross breeze and lots of windows and fans. We did not need a/c in November but not sure about July.

We are staying in the Banyan Building and will definitely return here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort and its gorgeous sunsets. Lawai Beach Resort is truly a place where you can enjoy the many activities that Kauai has to offer and have a place to return that has all the comforts of home. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This resort is a well maintained vacation ownership with rentals available through the front desk. Recent remodeling of units means updated kitchens and baths and switch to tile floor in living areas and lanai which improves cleanliness and overall look. The staff is very accommodating. If arriving before check in time you can still do your marketing at the larger stores closer to the airport and housekeeping will refrigerate your cold items until check in when you can pick them up. Good restaurant across the street. Great shopping area within a one minute drive, less than 1/2 mile walk has every kind of food from snack to nice dinners, plus clothes, art galleries and high end food store.

Ocean views from almost all rooms are incredible with a great snorkeling beach directly across the street! Fitness center, peewee golf, and tennis all on site. Three pools and three spas. With all of this the resort maintains a very welcoming Hawaiian atmosphere and not the glitzy, you could be in a resort anywhere, plastic feel that I dislike in most larger upscale resorts.

Room Tip: There are three buildings and they all slightly different. Best views in my opinion are in Alii bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort and its amenities. Lawai Beach Resort is truly a place where you feel the true Hawaiian hospitality. Our team exemplifies the Aloha spirit and ensures that our owners and guests feel at home.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Kauai and the Lawai Beach Resort is a great beachfront condo with fantastic sunset views. In September, the ocean was a bit too rough for our beginners snorkeling although others were out in front of the resort. We stayed in a really nice newly renovated suite in the Coral building and although the bathroom was small, the great view over the pool to the beach more than made up for that. There is no air conditioning but you can open up the front and back doors so a nice breeze blows through. There was rain showers at night in our area but it cleared up in the day. Lihue however, gets alot more rain and we drove through showers a few times to get to the north and east side of the island. However, I'm happy we staying on the sunny south shore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort and the Island of Kauai.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first visit to Kauai as a family. We went the last 2 weeks of July. I was looking for a large unit with beach view/access and was more than delighted in the room we were given. t was on the ground level of the Ali'i building next to the quiet pool. We felt like we had our own personal garden off our lanai. The room was perfect. A.C is not an issue with the trades blowing. Not alot of counter space in the kitchen but its not a problem. We loved it. We used the gas grills often. Recycling is very important at the resort and on the island. Bring reusable grocery bags-they don't have plastic bags on the island. We gave ours to a family to use when we left.The resort was very clean and the grounds were beautiful.We rented snorkel gear from the shop located at the Beach House Resturant. I don't recommend them at all! The staff was rude, on their phones and would not greet or talk to my daughter and myself upon entering the shop. I used them for the convience only. Rent from someone else. As for the Lawai staff- everyone was helpful, friendly and very concerned that we were having a great trip. We enjoyed the hula show, the activities seminar was informative, and the crafts that were displayed through out the week were beautiful. We went to the Kilohana Luau and loved it! Beautiful costumes and performance,food was good, and the arts and crafts for sale were great! I bought so many gifts there! We took the Sunshine Helicopter tour which is something everyone should do. Breathtaking! Our pilot had great music playing and didn't talk very much-he just let us take it all in. We took the 6hr. Kauai Sea Tours rafting trip.We had an excellent time! Our captain was alot of fun.Make sure to wear sun screen, rash guards and drink lots of water. I got dehydrated and didn't realize til I was back at the resort that night. Not their fault- was having so much fun! Brick Oven Pizza is a must! Running and walking are great in the area. We will be going back in a couple of years. I can't wait! I wouldn't stay any other place.

Room Tip: Ali'i building. Any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort and its amenities during your family vacation. Our team truly embodies the Aloha spirit and ensure that our owners and guests feel at home. It was nice to read that you enjoyed the many activities that Kauai has to offer.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lawai Beach Resort-We stayed here our second week. I was not happy at leaving the Point so was in a contrary state of mind when we checked in but even had I been in a good mood being put in the Coral building would have ruined it anyway. It was small and old and the bathroom was microscopic. Our room faced the parking lot of the Beach House and it was very loud. We spent one night there. The next morning at about 5:30 am while laying in bed and having a conversation and some laughs with my boyfriend (did I mention the bedrooms back onto the exterior walkway and the windows have louvers on them) a woman stands outside our window and screams (literally screams) profanities at us including dropping the f-bomb, telling us to shut up so other people can sleep. I don't think we had been talking more than 10 minutes. She went back into her unit and slammed the door as hard as she could. By 10:00 am I was at the front desk and told them I did not like the room and why and I told them about the screaming woman. They were horrified and apologetic. They immediately found another room for us and gave us the key to let us inspect it first. It was in the Ali'i Building and was much nicer. We moved over and had a wonderful rest of the week. We were on the first floor and faced the ocean. While it wasn't brand new it was nicely updated. What I really liked was the Alii pool which was denoted the "Quiet" pool. Perfect! No screaming kiddies! Just other adults who liked peace and quiet. There was also a very nice grilling area in the pool area. Again, all the staff were friendly and helpful especially Hildi at the front desk who is a jewel. I also liked the fact that they offered Hula lessons on Tuesdays. I also liked that they charged $15 so that kept the attendance to other adults which was nice. The gals that did the Hula lesson had been part of the show that was part of the potluck dinner on Sunday night. They were fabulous and so very nice. I would definately return to Lawai Beach Resort.

Room Tip: The Banyan or Ali'i Building are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I apologize that you had to endure one of our guests screaming at you in the early morning . I am happy to read that our associates were able to assist you and ensure that the remainder of your week was enjoyable. Lawai Beach Resort is truly a place where you feel the true Hawaiian hospitality. Our team exemplifies the Aloha spirit and ensures that our owners and guests enjoy there time with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lawai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawai Beach Resort

Address: 5017 Lawai Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Lawai Beach Hotel Poipu
Lawai Beach Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.