We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Gresham, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Awesome 2 bedroom condo, everything you needed close to restaurants and shopping. Free towels and chairs for the beach. Very clean and quiet. I condo was great ceiling fans in every room and it just felt like I was at home. I will stay here again. The staff was great we went grocery shopping and they used the golf carts to take our food to the front door.

Room Tip: Garden view means you see plants no water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Mahalo for your kind remarks. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    217
    66
    31
    13
See reviews for
172
306
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had eight nights in Kauai and stayed at here. The apartment was fantastic, in fact there is nothing bad to say at all. Clean, big, well equipped, beautiful garden views - perfect. No noisy air conditioner just lovely big ceiling fans. Free towels for the beach was a bonus I would definitely recommend it for a stay in Kauai

Room Tip: We had a beautiful garden view which was a five minute walk to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha from Kiahuna!

It is nice to see that someone who traveled as far as you did appreciates our beautiful property.

We hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
280 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you are looking for a place that is clean and quiet, look no further. We just spent a week at Castle Kiahuna Plantation and it was great. The place was very clean, we had a great ocean view (Unit 207) and plenty of space. Free towels and lawn chairs are available.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much! Unit 207 is really nice.

Please come back soon.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I personally loved this hotel! But there are some things you should know to make sure that it is the right hotel for you.
First I'll tell you what I loved. The grounds are beautiful! Every view is awesome. There is a full kitchen, which helped us save a lot of money on eating out The staff was friendly and helpful! Also after much research this is one of the only hotels without a resort fee. It is within walking distance from shopping and restaurants and the beach of course.
The things that you should know about is that there is no air conditioning which didn't bother us because we were not there during the heat of the day. It was so comfortable there in fact at night it would get chilled enough to use a blanket. Good crosswind!
There is a lot of bugs, not roaches or anything like that. Bees is what we saw a lot of. That didn't really bother me I am a believer of if you don't bother them they won't bother you. If you are allergic to them though this would not be the place for you.
The rooms are set up beautifully and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants the best bang for their buck.

Room Tip: I asked for a corner room on the top floor, they gave me a corner room on the bottom floor which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, and we were pleased to see that you enjoyed yourselves.

Yes, Hawaii does have lots of bugs! We like bees to be honest. Some of our other bugs are not quite so attractive. :)

Please come back soon.

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We decided to spend the extra and go for an ocean view room which turned out to be a 2nd floor unit with distant ocean view. Nicely renovated, comfortable bed, very clean, everything you need and plenty of space. But there's no A/C, I knew this before booking but didn't realize the room would be so hot, it was pretty uncomfortable until things cooled of after mid night. No A/C also means windows open 24/7 so you hear all the noise from neighboring units and the restaurant.
There is no pool at the moment (perhaps they should reduce the rates) and the beach is small and can get crowded, Anini beach (1 hour away) is better for families and snorkeling. We picked Poipu as base for exploring the canyon which is further away than I expected.
If you like piece and quiet and eating local food, this area is not you. Go for it if you like pricey restaurants and designer stores.

Room Tip: We got a great room (building 34 unit 217), but some of the units especially garden view could be bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Mahalo for your recent visit.

We hope that you come back soon.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stay in unit 316 for 5 nights at the beginning of October. The unit was as pictured on its website, and so we were not surprised. We enjoyed the cross-ventilation and do not need air conditioning, but the heat of the afternoon sun could be unpleasant if you chose to stay in the unit instead of hitting the beach. For sightseeing Kauai, this is a wonderful location, in close proximity to great horseback riding (CJM stable), catamaran cruising (Capt Andy), Weimea Canyon, as well as a beautiful beach and fantastic orchid garden on the Kiahuna Plantation. We were told about the pool closing when we registered, but that absence did not inhibit our enjoyment of the site.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the third floor for the cross-ventilation - a corner room would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review!

#316 is indeed a nice unit. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pros: location cannot be beat. Best beach in Poipu runs from the Sheraton to the Marriott which the Kiahuna is sandwiched between. The great lawn is beautiful, best part of staying here was the lawn at sunset or taking a nap under one of the palm trees. Mostly remodeled unit & the washer/dryer came in handy. Easy check-in process. Cons: roaches, I would not mention this if I only saw one, maybe two. But this place needs better extermination. No pool. Beach hut does not rent umbrellas (one in our unit was broken). Lanai furniture filthy & falling apart (this was not true for all units just ours). We paid $275 per night for an 'ocean view' unit, barely a sliver in view, but it did offer nice access to the lawn. I think if you are paying up to $200 per night given the location, it would be a good value. Next trip we will find someone renting out their time share at the Marriott though. Much better amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Yikes! I apologize that everything was not perfect for your recent visit. I hope that for your next trip you will allow me to assist you in setting up your reservation here.

I assure you that you will enjoy your stay.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.