We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our time at Kiahuna Plantation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our time at Kiahuna Plantation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in Bldg. 26 unit 170, to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. It was nice and had a partial ocean view. We walked 2 minutes to the beach. The unit was nicely decorated and clean. The bed was comfortable.

One problem I had was finding the cutting board, of all things. It was under the sink where I never looked for it! The other thing was the refrigerator is old and runs constantly.

Most of the "windows" in these units have no glass, just shutters with screens. We didn't know this. We could hear a man nearby snoring at night and also coughing and sneezing loudly. Other than that, it was quiet.

I would go back but would probably spring for a full ocean view.

Going in the winter is different because the weather is so variable. We didn't spend a lot of time at the beach. This is definitely a nice place to stay if you're in a unit close to the beach like we were. Overall, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Definitely look at the map of the place. Choose a place with an ocean view if possible. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    191
    54
    22
    13
See reviews for
143
253
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bldg 10 unit 80 was very disappointing as there were numerous issues with the unit ranging from the inability to close the screen doors leading to the patio to banging your knees on the tub when using the toilet.....Drive to the pool across the street or walk 10 minutes to the beach...If I had small children it would be a nightmare.....Perhaps my expectations were too high based on others description but this property overall was a complete and utter disappointment....Never again!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for an easy to use and readily accessible beach and pool area....RUN while you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are very sorry that your recent stay was not perfect for you. As you booked directly with the homeowner of this unit (which gets great reviews normally), I shared your comments with them and invited them to respond to you. Below please find thier comments:

"We were very surprised to see this guest's review. I was sad that he was so unhappy with our unit 80. We have been renting our home away from home for the last 6 years and have never had a problem with a guest being unhappy. We have had numerous repeat guests as well as excellent reviews. Please see our December review on TA from a very happy recent guest. I am very surprised at this screen door comment as they are new. The bathroom was also just remodeled. His comment about the beach and pool does not make sense. We rent to a lot of families due to our location. I guess the truth of the matter is that you can't please everyone all the time but we will keep trying. Aloha, Alan and Denise Owners of Unit 80"


Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room far exceeded our expectations! Huge 2 story with washer and dryer. Nicely decorated and very comfortable and lovely garden view. Short walk to beach, just an overall great place to stay. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden deluxe is great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at Kiahuna Plantation, and again we LOVED it. Beautifully maintained landscape and facilities and everyone was so friendly! DEFINITELY go for a room on the top floor (no noise from people above you) and with a view of the ocean. Even on gray days it's a glorious view! You will be awakened by the roosters (and they get up early!), but we were able to adjust. There is a cute shopping center just across the street with plenty of restaurants, shops and even a general store. Really everything you could want was within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossfield, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is officially my favorite place on earth. Everything you could want is here; a pleasant stroll to the beach, amenities within walking distance, friendly service, ocean or garden views and a beautiful tropical room. We were put in the rooms closest to the road, and I still didn't mind. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic or family getaway.

Room Tip: Having a room on the top floors gives you a great view, but if you have kids a bottom floor one will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! As we are now offically your favorite place on earth, we will expect you back soon!

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley BC Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Kiahuna Plantation is a real treasure from its lush gardens to the great accomadations. We have stayed the many times now and will be going back soon!.. there are a couple places to avoid if you want peace and quiet all day and night.. these would be the condos over by the maintenance yard, the work in the yard starts around 6 am and goes ALL day.. the other spot is the row of condos up by the main road .. this area can be noisy with traffic and sirens but it usually is quieter at night!... Great restaurant across the road called "Kiokes" ( that may not be spelled correctly)..There is also a great beach on the property.... Great beach, great service from all the staff.. don't miss out..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We hope that you can come back and visit soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a very nice room with a garden view at this lovely and well maintained property. We were able to visit our family staying at an ocean view property and it was lovely. There are many options for every budget. Having an ocean view if a bonus, but in reality, if you just bother to get out of your room, you can have a beach view in a very short walk. As a matter of fact you can be sitting on the beach in no time at all. Of course, watching the spectacular sunsets and whale watching this time of year (January) is a must. Also, the high level of maintenance of the property was very impressive (painting, trimming, cleaning, security).

Did I mention you have access to a very large pool and tennis courts across the street with access to Casablanca bar a restaurant. They make a killer Mai Tai and Lime Margarita. Did I mention they make a great Lime Margarita? How about outdoor Sunday brunch for $15? Are you kidding? Nope. It's not buffet but includes a selection of cocktail ( I loved the make your own Bloody Mary), brunch specials including Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine, incredible French Toast, and a Lox and Bagel you would not believe, plus coffee.

Room Tip: We roamed the property and I could not find a location I could not recommend. Obviously, ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Mahalo for your nice review! I am glad that you enjoyed yourself here, and obviously at Casa Blanca as well.

Please come back soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu
Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.