We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Kauia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Kauia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, 5 year old son and I stayed here for 8 nights in November and we were very pleased with our choice. The property is made up of privately owned condominiums spread out in these 2 to 4 story buildings but which are also managed as a resort by Castle Resorts. (Outrigger Resorts manages a number of the units as well).

What this means is that there are, or can be, slight differences in the units themselves. We stayed in unit 72, building 13, which is considered ocean view. It is, but you also overlook the gardens and is about a 2 minute walk to the beach. The lanai was a great place to have breakfast and supper, though it got a bit hot and sunny for lunch as there was no shade.

The units come with a full kitchen (fridge/freezer, stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher), dining room, sofa (with a pullout bed), flat screen tv, dvd player, iPod docking station, free wifi (worked well), small beach umbrella, folding table, vacuum, separate bedroom, room safe, plenty of drawers and a nice sized bathroom.

The units don’t have a washer/dryer but the resort does have a self serve laundry facility, which was located really close to our building, so that wasn’t too bad. One thing though is that the machines only take quarters and the change machine was out of order. Luckily, a member of the staff was there who just had enough for us ($5 worth).

There is no air conditioning but that was not an issue at all for us, and I am someone who LOVES AC! There are two ceiling fans and they have these shuttered screens that let in the ocean breezes. On a few occasions, I even had to lower the fans because it was getting too chilly during the night! On the other hand, you may want to stay away from those units that are close to the road, which might be a bit noisier.

There are a number of communal bbq’s, available on a first come first serve basis, but I never had an issue using one. Not sure how this would be in a busier season though.

For groceries, your closest, best option is Big Save in Koloa but around 10 to 15 minutes away, there is a larger Times Supermarket as well as a Kmart and a Costo, and a bit further off is a Walmart. You will pass all of these on your way from the airport, so you might as well stock up.

The beach area is really nice, and the resort provides lots of chairs. You can also rent equipment from the beach side concierge, which is also where you get/exchange your beach towels. Note, this is not Poipu Beach Park, but you can walk through the adjoining resorts if you really want to but we found our beach to be just great. There is also pool area across Poipu Road with a small water slide that my son just loved. No need to bring your towels here as they are provided at the shop.

It is also possible to take surfing lessons and rent surf boards. When you hit the beach, take a right turn and walk around 25 to 50 meters. You can book through the concierge or you can book directly (I used Kauai Surf School, which I loved and could not be booked with the concierge, and which accepts credit cards at the beach).

We also had dinner at Keoki’s Paradise (not affiliated with the resort) twice during our stay, which we really enjoyed, hence why we returned for a second go Both times we ate in the more casual, bar section. There are also a number of shops, including a Whaler’s Village, in the same complex. We did not try the restaurants on the resort.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    191
    54
    22
    13
See reviews for
143
253
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great beaches in this area. This property, which shares grounds/building plots with Outrigger, has one of the best stretches of sand in the area. Nice ~10yd sand area at low tide, about 3yd at high tide. Ocean is has some sand and coral, but simple to navigate because the water is so clear. Location to shopping food is fantastic, walk across the street for a plethora of options, notably Puka Dog, Roy's, and Keoki's Paradise. Property is about 30min drive from Lihue airport. Not a bad jumping-off point either for traversing counter- or clock-wise around the island.

Check in is a smooth and simple process. Rooms are grouped in separated blocks, typically 6 per block, 3 up, 3 down. This review focuses on Unit #33 - labeled as ocean view. Ocean view is up for debate, as we could not see the beach or breakers, but you do have some line of sight to the water and palm trees that front the beach area. Most notably for the grounds, the groundskeeping - unbelievable, rivals Augusta National. Every time we walked the grounds, it felt like we were traversing a golf course, one gentlemen was even playing plastic range balls from his lower lanai one evening. The grounds are immaculate - swept every day.

As for our room, the setup was odd for a family of three; luckily, the 3rd is a toddler, so the free pack n play provided by the resort was placed in our bedroom. Had it been an older child, it would have been odd, even if a sofa-bed or roll-away was available - not sure where it would have gone. Quarters are not that cramped, but there was a lot of furniture and furnishings in ours. About the decor, the unit was furnished to a throwback 80s beach house - complete with faux teak/wood furnishings. Jalousies are common to every unit and really do a nice job of cooling the units night or day - some reviews comment they make the units a bit dark, which if closed they do, but most times the are open 50%+ during your stay. Bathroom was newly renovated and had a spacious walk-in shower, but cramped toilet space. A second sink would have been nice considering the occupancy. My BIGGEST gripe was the bed - totally AWFUL. About as firm as quicksand, very restless nights, but at least was able to easily nap on beach a few days in compensation. Terrible 'body grooves' on both sides of the bed.

Units have fridge, range, sink, microwave, and in most cases small appliances such as blenders and toasters. The lanai is large, enough for a lounge chair and table of four. Housekeeping varies depending on the rate/room booked, ours was a daily towel/trash/toiletries replenishment with new linens every three days.

Were we to come back to Poipu with our immediate family (as this case) or larger party, this location is certainly tops on list for value and experience. More recently updated units are on property as well, based on our walks and conversations with other people, but also older or less tasteful furnished units too. Most guide books are correct to call this a mixed bag, but a lot of that can be avoided by choosing Castle over Outrigger, and also requesting known room numbers if a repeat guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Left Thanksgiving Day for Kauai for a week stay. Weather was perfect. No rain.We had used points from American Airlines to cover our stay. We had a Ford Focus rental car for for the week..I had found a super low rental rate for a week. The Kauai airport does not seem to be too efficient in getting your baggage in the claim area. Car rental counter was 1/2 mile from airport via shuttle. We arrived at the resort about 8pm. Registration was fast and we got to our unit in short order. The rooms did show some ware but were clean. No air conditioning but fans in the bedroom and living area. Kitchen was small but outfitted very well with quality cookware and everything you needed in the kitchen. We did breakfast and some other meals there.
The beach area was very nice with free beach towels and chairs. The swimming pool was
across the main road for the resort.We drove around the whole island. The resort was next to Po'ipu beach which is named one of the best on all the islands. We went to the Luau at the Hyatt Hotel and it was very good. We saved about $20 per person by using a discount online
site. We drove almost around the whole island. We visited Waimea Canyon at over 5000 ft
to see the look alike Grand Canyon. We also visited the Lighthouse on the North east part of island.It was a very relaxing vacation. We have been to a total of 4 islands, This one is beautiful.. Til next time. Happy traveling

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The condo units are fine-depending on if the unit has been remodeled. Also offers a friendlier reservation process (no damage deposit and only one night rate holds reservation until check-in ). Depending on your unit location, it may be a walk to the beautiful beach. And no matter your unit, it's a walk (or even a drive) to the pool across busy Poipu Road. Once there, the pool is small and tired looking. Check prices around the area, then decide. There are also two rental companies managing the property so be sure to compare.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had the best time at Kiahuna. This place is truly a paradise and it has beautiful grounds and one of the best beaches on this island. The staff was very helpful and polite. The rain storm we had on the night of December 4th was incredible! The thunder that hit was awesome. The next day we still managed to go to the beach. Awesome Thanks

Room Tip: We had a paradise view and it was so quiet. Just awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not much for staying in condo's but the wife convinced me to give it a try. Arranged a location through VRBO and stayed in Unit 236 which was a 2nd floor unit with a Garden view (opted not to pay more for an ocean view since it was right around the corner). These places are all individually owned and rented out I believe so the upgrades and furnishings vary on where you stay. Our place had an extremely comfortable king bed that we slept soundly in every night. Many amenities as well, including beach items, cooler, boogie boards, etc. We just went to Costco and Walmart beforehand and stocked up on food. Cooked breakfast every morning, had a Costco pizza in the oven one night, it was great. There's a TV and dvd player as well, so we rented a movie from Redbox in the General Whaler's store across the street as well.
As for the complex, you get towels and chairs at the beach hut and can rent snorkel gear too if you want (we brought our own). Snorkeling available right from the beach (visibility wasn't great when we visited). Small sandy beach and a shower facility to clean your feet when you leave. Great views around there too in the big grassy area of the complex. Lots of chickens, roosters, a few cats, lizards too. Beautiful plants, well-maintained facility. The pool across the street was nice to sun-bathe in too if you want to avoid the sand (tiny bit of a walk).
One of favorite parts was the concierge service though... we had so many ideas of what we thought we wanted to and she helped narrow down our choices based on cost, season, weather, value, reviews, etc. Saved us so much time and then she organizes everything, takes care of all the costs, prints out directions to everything from the condo, creates an itinerary..... hey I've never used a concierge before but my god she made it easy. Definitely recommend checking it out. I believe her name was Gayle.
I would stay in the complex again and would consider staying in the same unit again as well.
One con to the units though are they not very soundproof and you hear when your neighbors take showers or walk around (so get the top floor) and the bathrooms though private, could use a full door vice a light wooden shingle door where no sounds go unnoticed. If you can deal with that, then you're fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagash, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a 10 night stay at your resort. We absolutely loved it, beautiful condo, friendly and accomodating staff. Our 3rd night we had guests move in upstairs, they were loud and ready to party. I called front desk, and security was there in minutes to resolve the issue. We never heard anything the rest of our stay. The location is perfect, shopping and restaurants accross the road. We did find a hidden restaurant called "cassablanca" off the main road, beautiful food and great happy hour. This was our second time to Hawaii, both times were at Poipu. We absolutely love it and will definitely be back to Poipu and Kiahuna Plantation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu
Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.