We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer on Sale
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    195
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
148
274
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first visit to Poipu in 25 years and we had a wonderful time. The setting was excellent and our accomodations were great. We really enjoyed the barbeques scattered throughout the beautiful premises. We will be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 5 or 6 nights in a one bedroom unit at this lovely resort. The grounds are really beautiful with a gorgeous orchid garden close to the Plantation Garden restaurant. The location is perfect, right on the beach with lots of deck chairs and beach towels available for guests to use. In the late afternoon, everyone seems to migrate to the lawn overlooking the beach with a glass of wine to watch the sunset over the sea. Our unit was one of the further ones from the beach but nevertheless it was only a few minutes walk to the beach through the beautiful and very well maintained grounds. Thus this was very pleasant for us although some may prefer the units closer to the beach. Our particular unit itself was quite large, on the second floor on Bldg 40. It has a large living room, dining room and a reasonable kitchen and bedroom. The balcony has a table and 4 chairs plus 2 loungers but we didn't end up using the balcony very much as it was quite sunny most of the time. Others have noted the lack of air conditioning however we didn't find this a problem with the ceiling fan and the pleasant breeze coming in the windows. My one complaint is that the daily cleaning service tended to be quite superficial and some of the bathroom fixtures could use some maintenance and updating. The pool is quite a distance away (across the road) and we didn't use it at all as the beach was so nice.

Room Tip: There is a wide variety of units and prices so select what suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had 4 nights at this resort after a week in Princeville. This was our first time staying on the south shore. We enjoyed the easy access to the beach the most as well as the sunset views every night directly from our lani. The location can not be beat! The units on the lawn are the best! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is the furniture is dated and there were many, many "bugs" in the kitchen, it got to the point that I did not want to cook. I understand this is normal in Hawaii but this was my 6th trip and the worst bug problem by far. We were in unit #21, building 5 for 3 of the nights. Kitchen was smaller then most in the complex but worked fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

By far the best place to stay in poipu!! Don't think I would stay anywhere else if my family and I were to return. I traveled here with my husband and 2 boys. its great for kids. but would definitaly be wonderful for couples as well.Although each suite is a little different they all looked up to par. We stayed in room 165. it was beautiful. although the rooms are not air conditioned it wasnt that big of deal because where there are supposed to be windows there are screens with shutters that allow a awesome breez in the evening and theres nothing like hearing the tropical rains in the middle of the night or waking up the the sound of birds. it paradise. The beach Is amaZing and the grounds are well kept. It is one of the only three resorts that are ocean and beach front. Nothing like waking up with the sun and taking a 1.5 minute stroll down to beach to watch the sun com up over poipu in the morning. Other places you have to drive. No thanks!! It's very quiet and clean. Suites have individual kitchens which is really nice as well as the many outside bbq's they have available for use. The location is perfect across the street from a little shopping center where there are shops Starbucks and eateries and next door is the Sheraton a short walk to get awesome cocktails. A lot of reviews talk about the pool being far away. Can't comment on pool much we never used or even went to see what the pool was like my family had to much fun and found more enjoyment on the beach. This place is worth the money!! Don't look any further!

Room Tip: If you can ask for a ground floor room that's ocean front or partial ocean front that way you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We rent out a VRBO at Kiahuna Plantation but it was run by Castle. We were in Bldg 10 which is in the middle of the resort. It was a few minutes from the beach and a few minutes from the shopping center (and pool) across the street. The grounds seemed to be well maintained and the staff were friendly. You receive towel cards which you cash them in at the beach activity center. They also have beach chairs there. The room was a perfect size. It had a full kitchen, tables and chairs, living room with a flat screen tv, bathroom, and bedroom. Our balcony overlooked a grassy area with wild chickens (who crowed around 6ish). Our room was updated with granite, but the actual decor would vary by unit. There is plenty of parking and a laundry building which costs $2.50 per wash and $2.50 per dry.

Our only compliant was our sleep quality. The unit did not have a/c and it was always hot (the lack of trade winds could have influenced this). We kept the ceiling fans going, but had to close half of the windows since we were a ground unit. We're use to cooler temperatures when we sleep so this was very uncomfortable. Also, the bed had extra padding in it so it was too soft for me (most likely different for every unit). Every night I woke up with an aching back. I would recommend this resort if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous, the sunsets from the property are amazing, loved the lanai for morning coffee and evening cocktails, appreciated the complimentary lawn chairs to enjoy the sunsets on the expansive green lawn. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.