We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VRBO run by Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“VRBO run by Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We rent out a VRBO at Kiahuna Plantation but it was run by Castle. We were in Bldg 10 which is in the middle of the resort. It was a few minutes from the beach and a few minutes from the shopping center (and pool) across the street. The grounds seemed to be well maintained and the staff were friendly. You receive towel cards which you cash them in at the beach activity center. They also have beach chairs there. The room was a perfect size. It had a full kitchen, tables and chairs, living room with a flat screen tv, bathroom, and bedroom. Our balcony overlooked a grassy area with wild chickens (who crowed around 6ish). Our room was updated with granite, but the actual decor would vary by unit. There is plenty of parking and a laundry building which costs $2.50 per wash and $2.50 per dry.

Our only compliant was our sleep quality. The unit did not have a/c and it was always hot (the lack of trade winds could have influenced this). We kept the ceiling fans going, but had to close half of the windows since we were a ground unit. We're use to cooler temperatures when we sleep so this was very uncomfortable. Also, the bed had extra padding in it so it was too soft for me (most likely different for every unit). Every night I woke up with an aching back. I would recommend this resort if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    212
    64
    28
    13
See reviews for
165
296
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous, the sunsets from the property are amazing, loved the lanai for morning coffee and evening cocktails, appreciated the complimentary lawn chairs to enjoy the sunsets on the expansive green lawn. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 15th anniversary and our second stay at Kiahuna. We were first there on our honeymoon. Our condo was updated and very convenient to the beach. Lots of amenities. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant there is excellent. The sunsets were awesome; you can view the sunsets from the beautiful manicured lawns or the beachfront, your choice.
We had a wonderful Lanai overlooking beautiful tropical gardens, so relaxing and so much paradise!
The units are not air conditioned but the trade winds, efficient fans, and open plantation style windows kept it cool enough for us (almost 100% of the time). We were there in Oct both times so i'm not sure if it's much hotter in the summer.
The owners of our unit left info on their favorite things to do which was helpful to us.
Some of our favorites were kayaking the Wailua, visiting Atherton botanical gardens, hiking the first 2 miles of the NaPali trail, and beaching & snorkeling at Mahaulepa beach.
We will definitely go back and we will definitely recommend this resort. It's 4 star!!

Room Tip: End rooms near a walkway may be noisy with foot traffic. Choose a room away from Poipu Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just got back from Castle Kiahuna Plantation in Kauai and I highly recommend it. Our first floor unit was spacious, with a wonderful lanai. It was well-appointed and had the amenities that we wanted. Our unit overlooked a spacious lawn facing the ocean, with the beach just steps away. There were numerous restaurants in Poipu Beach and Koloa and many activities originating there. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I, along with our 9yo daughter stayed a week at the castle portion of the kiahuna plantation resort. We found it via VRBO.com and stayed in a newly remodeled condo. It was a short walk goths beach, and you can get towels from the beach shack at two locations. There are new gas BBQ's all over the property, convenient for cooking your own dinners. Great unubstructed sunset views and a large manicured lawn with palm trees to enjoy them on. The beach is narrow, but soft sand and lots of snorkeling to enjoy. Overall, the place is great and I would recommend to anyone traveling to the south shore of Kauai.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the Kiahuna Plantation!! It was our first family vacation with our 4 year old and our 2 year old, and we all could not possibly have had a better experience. We loved our unit (140) which was beautifully updated, with clean tile floors and bright whitewashed ceilings that made the building seem 3 times its size. We loved the sophisticated decor, and the unit had everything that we could have asked for... including a washer/dryer and boogie boards which we used at Brennecke's beach with the kids. The unit also has an office nook which was perfect for the work that my husband was unable to leave behind, complete with free Wifi. The easy access to the internet and good cell reception actually made the trip more relaxing. The snorkeling was great (SO many sea turtles!) and our kids adored the pool right across the street with the water slide and the two waterfalls. We went to the farmer's market in Koloa on Monday and ate the delicious produce all week, grilling on the barbeques just outside the building. We're so thankful for our relaxing a peace-filled week and we would come back in a heartbeat. Thank you Kiahuna!!

Room Tip: Each unit is privately owned and there is a spectrum in the the amenities offered and the quality of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Loved this unit. Located on the end of the building so our first floor lanai had privacy and space. Unit was clean and nicely decorated. There was a nice assortment of beach stuff to use. Umbrella was great except it had a hole. Had 2 hairdryers one with a diffuser. They provide bath amenities but they are not high quality ones. Well equipped kitchen. Usually stayed at four seasons and we loved this so much more! Freedom to cook, staff attentive but not intrusive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.