We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six days of fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Faribault, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Six days of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Despite the questionable need for updating decor-wise, unit 65 at the Kiahuna Plantation was comfortable and relaxing. We found the unit the perfect distance from the beach, beautiful, and with all the comforts of home. It was a short walk to the shopping center and restaurants across the street, and a short drive to other restaurants and fun throughout the island. Truly enjoyed our stay and will plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Mahalo for your visit, and your review.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    196
    58
    25
    13
See reviews for
148
272
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from our vacation in Kauai. The grounds and gardens of this property are beautiful. Building 17 is not beachfront but the water is a stroll away. Breezes through the unit kept us cool at night. When the breeze died, the overhead fans kept us wonderfully cool. Loved the open airy feeling (high ceilings help) and listening to the night sounds as we went to sleep. Unit 104 has tile floors, new furniture, washer & dryer, Wifi router (thanks to the owners), dishwasher, etc. Well kept and upgraded.

Housekeeping and reception were good, staff pleasant and attentive. Plentiful towels and chairs available at the Beach Activity Hut.

Lots of coral and rock as well as sandy spots in front of the property so snorkelling was quite good in terms of variety of fish. Visibilty was ok - we were fortunate to have surf (we like playing in the waves) so the sand was kicked up a bit. We did see turtles (husband actually removed a fish hook from a turtle's flipper when it came up to him), octopus, eel, Humuhumu and a monk seal dropped by for a bit of sunning.

This was a great place to relax, read, swim, and soak up some sun. We have 2 teenagers who enjoyed surfing lessons (of course) and the shopping & restaurants across the street. A couple of days were spent visiting the Island. There's plenty to do for active travellers. My preference was sitting on Kiahuna's beachfront lawn with a good book, topped off by cooling dips in the ocean, favourite time between 4-6:30 p.m. Come to think of it, I really didn't get much reading done - too busy watching the surfers. Have to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Mahalo for your recent visit. It sounds like Kiahuna is perfect for you!

We hope to see you back soon.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This unit was a pleasant surprise! There was an old posting regarding noise as it is close to the laundry and it was further from the truth and appeared to come from a disgruntled owner!

Anyhow, the location was great as we were traveling with our 4 year old. It is close to the laundry (but not too close), close to parking and right in between beach and pool. It is true that you have to walk a bit to the pool but it's Hawaii and it's a beautiful walk all around the resort grounds so not a problem. The inside of the unit was middle of the road as far as appliances, furniture and upkeep which is what I expected given the middle of the road nightly rate on vrbo. It suited us fine as we were out and about anyhow most of the time.

We were there in May which is off-season but can't even imagine that anywhere in the resort that traffic noise would be a problem so if on a budget, I wouldn't hesitate to go for a condo along the main road also.

The pool was also a very pleasant surprise as it seems to get downgraded on this site. For the under 10 yrs old crowd, it was great! A perfect 1.5 ft area for toddlers and then 3-4 feet good sized area with a waterslide for the older kids. The pictures don't do it justice. For the adults, the poolside restaurant happy hour drinks were perfect and very nice dinner there one night when pool time ran into dinner time!

Room Tip: select a condo near parking if you have small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed #55!

The Garden Paradise room category that 55 is in is a great bargain - close to the beach, but you don't pay the high price that you do for ocean view or beach front. Outrigger does not offer this category, only Castle.

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We rented unit 19 directly from the owner:
http://web.mac.com/ndkosterphoto/Kiahuna_Beachside_Rentals/Welcome.html

The unit is in building 4, which is considered beachfront. The unit has obviously been redone recently and is well furnished and the kitchen is well equipped. The unit is designed for great air flow through the unit, so it was quite comfortable all day long even without A/C. There are great views from the lanai, which has high quality patio furniture. The king bed was very comfortable. The unit is equipped with wireless internet and cable TV.

The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained and the location right on Kiahuna Beach is great.

There were only a few minor issues, which appear to be due more to the rules imposed by the property as a whole rather than anything to do with the specific unit. When you arrive, there is nothing in the refrigerator - no condiments, etc. There is also nothing but salt and pepper in the cabinets - no spices, no oil, no foil or plastic wrap, etc. I'm sure this is probably the rule for the entire property but it really adds significantly to what you have to buy if you want to cook meals here.

This unit also had no beach equipment, coolers, etc., also understandable, but people need to be aware. Beach towels and chairs must be obtained from the little hut by the beach. The towels are really lame, more like hotel bath towels. And it's a pain to have to go get towels from there if you're going to another spot on the island. These issues are the only reason the unit didn't get a 5 star rating.

If we were ever to return to Poipu, we would defintely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I also read with interest your postings on the Kauai forums. Very nice reports, and very fair.

I should mention that we do classify unit 19 as Ocean View, rather than Beach Front.

We hope that you return to visit us again very soon.

Aloha and Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just returned from a week here. I picked it from the internet, primarily Tripadvisor. We rented a one bedroom Ocean View using AAA. First, I highly recommend researching the AAA rate and whatever you do, get the Ocean view, well worth the extra money. If you have a family you’ll spend much of your time sitting out there while they shower, dress, sleep and get ready. It’s an extremely enjoyable part of the trip.
The property is old but it works towards its advantage. It’s lush and the foliage is genuine, while certainly planted by man, it’s been there long enough that it’s become a natural part of the landscape. There are multiple Koi ponds and man-made lakes that are full of fish. A big part of the entertainment was taking the leftover bread from dinner and feeding it to the fish after dinner. If you’re there in the morning, the groundskeepers will seek out your kids and give them fish food to feed them with. Believe it or not, it was a real highlight.
Thankfully there is no air conditioning. Living in San Diego we rarely need it and being in Kauai, it would have taken away from the experience. During the day it could get a touch warm but the ceiling fans keep it fine. The evenings were perfect and with the windows open hearing the birds and breathing the fresh Kauai air was why we were there.
There are plenty of comments about the pool, all well founded. It’s across the street; you have to drive to it, no real services and a bit of a letdown. On day one I was miserable, day two a little upset, by day three I was glad since the real fun and the reason for the trip was the ocean. To the left of the beach was an area where the waves came in on two separate breaks that was calm enough for little kids to feel the waves. By day four we were in the big waves, on Boogie boards getting tossed in the breaks….again why we came.
So a couple of notes:
• Staff – Incredible and not just the ones who are paid to be nice. The groundskeepers who picked up every stray leaf and made sure to point out something interesting to the kids.
• Units – A little dated, but for the money they can’t be beat.
• Restaurants – On premise is the Plantation (I think). We ate their twice and it was wonderful. About 2/3rd the price of the fine dining establishments off property and equally as good.
• Dining nearby – Many of the fine dining restaurants had lower cost versions either downstairs r to the side. You could eat in some really nice places for what you would pay locally (in San Diego).
• Other meals – Stop at Walmart in Lihue or one of the local supermarkets for breakfast and lunch. You can cook in your unit or BBQ at one of the MANY BBQ’s…which were cleaned every morning.
If you want to feel good about your stay, take a short walk next door to the other locations. By 9:00 AM it looks like a storm blew in leaving towels, flip flops and books on every lounge chair. If you weren’t up by 7:00 claiming your territory, too bad.

Room Tip: AAA to keep the cost down, Ocean view to bring it back up...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was great to see that our staff shared thier aloha with you and your family.

If I can ever assist you with setting up a return visit, please do contact me for assistance.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked a one bedroom one bath room and had an upstairs unit. We loved it! It was spacious and had the things needed to completely cook all our meals. Our whole family loved the swimming pool with the water slide. We spent everyday there. Sure it is a bit of a walk but we didn't mind the exercise. One of our favorite parts is every night around 6 p.m. some of the families gather on the front grass area to have a glass of wine and watch the sunset. All of the kids play together. It was a great social time for our whole family. There are so many large grass areas to just let the kids run and play. This place is spread out nicely!
My only complaint would be their standard of housekeeping. It was very inconsistent, We only had one stellar maid the whole 11 days we were there. Not once did our carpet get vacuumed. I wouldn't have minded if our unit had a vacuum cleaner but it didn't. You can imagine how annoying this can be after a few days with kids in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. I will PM you to find out what unit you were in. All should be equipped with a vacuum cleaner, so we fell short here. Please accept my apologies.

If I can ever be of assistance to you, please feel free to contact me.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We started out with a little scepticism when we saw that there was no air conditioning, but quickly learned that the constant Poi pu breeze kept us sufficiently cool day and night! We also thought the living quarters were a bit small upon first entering, but quickly realized that our travel agent was right when she said our living area would be outdoors, making the size of the accomidations moot! The kitchen and bath seem to have been recently upgraded and were more than we actually needed! The grounds of the plantation are beautiful and the staff very helpful. We dealt with Skylar at the beach hut on many occasions and his knowledge of outings and excursions was a great help to us, as we only had a short time on the island.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.