We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Have To Stay Here...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“You Have To Stay Here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai end of August and you know what they say about first impressions...as soon as you walk into that lobby and view that panoramic beach you realize just how beautiful and idyllic your stay will be! The hotel is large but easy to navigate esp. with 2 small kids in tow. Our room was spacious and large with refrigerator and overlooking the adult pool...amen. incl. plasma tv and refrigerator and two large beds. The beach was rough for swimming but the freshwater pools and hottubs abound and the saltwater lagoon is very refreshing. There was enough space to find lounges at any time of the day. We ate breakfast at the buffet on the ilima terrace and was able to get 2 for one and kids ate free...The poipu area is easy to get around and it is always easy to go out for lunch or dinner. Things to do at the hotel were tennis and golf and other excursions. You could easily spend the vacation at the hotel but it is always nice to know that after a day out discovering kauai you have a wonderful place to return to... by the way.... the staff at the GH are soooo nice and accomodating that they really make your stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,347
    654
    195
    81
    37
See reviews for
781
1,660
40
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

My family and I just got back from our trip to Kauai, it was the second year we've gone and stayed at the Hyatt. We loved it so much the first year, we went back this year and loved it just as much. The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are great. But don't go for the rooms, go because at the Hyatt you can swim in a salt water lagoon if you don't want to be in the pool, and there's multiple pools and they are mostly all connected, so it's a fund place to play. There is also a great waterside fun for both the young at heart and the young travelers. Overall we found the price/ value of the hotel overall to be very fair - but the food is over priced. In general the food on the south shore of Kauai is not great. (My family likes to eat organic healthy food - and we didn't find lot of that or any of it on the south shore. You can find it on the North Shore).

By the way the beach closest to the Hyatt is not very safe, the waves are rough. It takes about 5 min to drive to a safe beach. We also highly recommend Capt Andy's and the toobing ride down the sugar cane "river".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Spent my 10th Anniversary here. You get what you pay for. The view when entering the hotel lobby was breathtaking. We paid extra to stay in the executive lounge area and oceanview room. Rooms were nice...nice.

Food was pricey (of course) but worth it. You are far away from the better shopping. Poipu does cater to tourists.

This is without a doubt the best hotel in Kauai if not one of the Top 5 in the Hawaiian islands.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I was remiss not to review this place sooner. The 5 nights my friend (now fiance) stayed here were magical. It is without doubt, for both of us, our favorite hotel in the world. We loved the island, but honestly we are going back there soon as much for the experience of this hotel as anything else. Great food, tremendous service...top notch. And the perfect ending to any trip is a late flight with the post-check out day spent at the spa...super relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at the Hyatt on the last leg of our honeymoon for 6 nights starting August 9. While the hotel is beautiful with lovely grounds for strolling, we felt the staff to be rude and arrogant. Our room was not ready by the 3:00 check-in time and had to wait until past 4 to get into it and when we did, we realized the toilet was not working. When we called down to the front desk, the person who answered the phone acted like we were bothering them, put us on hold, and proceeding to hang up on us. Same thing happened a number of times when we called for other various reasons. The room was beautiful, ocean front views, and was very clean. The food was average. One night in our room we came across a biggest cockaroach I have ever seen and then a salamander in our room. We were told it was common if we want them to take care of the problem, we would have to leave the room for 2 hours and this was around midnight. For the amount of money we spent, I was expecting so much more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fullerton california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Grand Hyatt and we thought this was a beautiful hotel. Most of the guests were either couples or families--not a good choice for single people looking for a vacation romance. I am not a huge fan of vacationing in places that cater to children, but as long as you stay away from the waterslide, it wasn't do bad. The hotel is large but not so expansive that you have to walk too far to get from one end (parking lot) to the other (our room was on the other side of the hotel) and the landscaping was beautiful and immaculately groomed. Our one complaint about the resort is that the food and drinks are outrageously priced. When you are already spending $600 dollars a night on a room, the last thing you want to buy is a $16.00 martini (not even super premium brand!!!). This is more expensive than the Ritz Carlton in Laguna Beach. We choose to eat out side the resort more often than not to escape these high prices. I understand that food costs more in Hawai'i, but I think the Hyatt would do better to include lower priced food options in its resort. **It is only fair that I point out that the Hyatt does provide small drink fridges in the room so that you may buy beer, wine or soda from the grocery store. This does give some relief from the $14 poolside mai tais. We bought a small cooler and took it down to the pool with us (despite the fact that they post signs saying "NO COOLERS"--no one bothered us about it).
Tips-If you are going on your honeymoon and you have booked a mountain view room (really a view of the parking lot) ask the person at check-in if they wouldn't mind bumping you up a level--even garden view is better than the parking lot. It worked for us. Also, they give honeymooners a free poolside cabana. If you plan to use this, try to set it up with the recreation desk a day in advance so that you can have your choice of cabanas. The best ones book up really early in the morning and if they are not in a great position, they can actually be hotter than a regular lounge chair in shade of a palm tree.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My husband and I spend the first part of our Hawaiian vacation at the Grand Hyatt. We spent 6 wonderful nights and wish we stayed for our entire vacation. Everything was simply perfect. From the quick check-in with complementary leis to the incredible brunch each morning. We had an oceanfront room that was gorgeous. There is a 24-hr state of the art gym that we enjoyed- I even took some of the classes offered for free. We also did a couple's massage and enjoyed a day at the spa. I definitely recommend getting a bottle of the mange lotion for home!

The grounds and pools were better than anything we have ever seen (and we travel quite often). The place was great for a honeymoon. Although it was large we NEVER felt crowded and could also find our own quiet spot.

The hotel also gave us some nice extras for being on our honeymoon: a picture frame, free champagne, a free cabana for a day, and a free dessert at Tidepools (great restaurant).

If you are going to Kauai do not hesitate and stay here. It was simply the best place we have ever stayed and we would go back to the Island just to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.