We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life of luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Life of luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel and staff are top notch. Remember that this also comes with a price. Everything is extra and I mean everything. The top restaurant has to be the Italian one and the poolside Tidepools is second. Just remember on the terrace upstairs you can have excellent food at a reasonable cost.
If you want to surf the waves are about ten feet on any given day. We stuck to the pool. Only drawback was the company VALVe had the library booked for several days and it was not available for the guests who paid to be here. I will blacklist VALVe for the future and give a thumb down to the Hyatt for this! P.s. The library is a bar and sushi restaurant with billiard tables, martinis and great port.

Room Tip: Most areas are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,356
    656
    195
    81
    37
See reviews for
784
1,664
40
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

kauai is stunningly beautiful, and if you love nature and mountains and beautiful beaches then is a great place and the hotel is fantastic. is pricey as hawaii is and hyatts are. Clean and comfortable rooms and wonderful restaurants. beautiful beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Gorgeous grounds and pools. Probably the best of any hotel I've stayed at in Hawaii. The food is also good and not any more expensive than anywhere else of that caliber. The service at the hotel is also good. The rooms are dated and probably the least impressive thing about this huge property - but how much time are you going to spend in your room? We were with a wedding party
and had a lot of group activities and groups at the pool. It was really fun. The luau at the hotel is good, fairly standard but entertaining. It is a large property but with so many pools on different levels and lush landscaping, it feels less crowded than it really is when you spend swim days at the resort. I've stayed at the St Regis in Princeville which, which is beautiful, but a little stuffy and pretentious. This Hyatt is in the same league but not snobby and has a more relaxed island friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived late in the evening around 7:30pm and got checked in fairly promptly. Received our leis from the front desk staff but would have been nicer to get it when we walked in (no big deal). We upgraded to th Grand Club only after we arrived which may be why where we stayed was quite a long walk to the wing where the Grand Club was. We didn't really mind too much as it forced us to walk at least a little bit each day. We had a deluxe ocean view room on the top floor (6th) over looking the pool area. It was very nice with a large bathroom with separate little water closet. Fun surprise for us and the kids was the electric toilet - sprays water to wash you and has a dryer to dry you off! Good sized room with a king bed (maybe not a full king since it seemed a bit smaller than our bed at home) and a queen bed. No real sitting area though there was a single chair with ottoman at the end of the room. Had a little fridge which was nice to put the free bottled water they gave us each day (wish I'd known that we could get all the bottled water we wanted because we had bought a case at Walmart which wasn't necessary at all).

The pool is great and well laid out because it was quite busy at the Hyatt on our last weekend but because of the layout it never seemed too crowded. The lagoon is interesting but the "sand" around the is not really sand but small little stones or stony sand. Maybe they used that so the sand doesn't track into the pool area?

Beach is nice though the red flag indicating not good conditions for swimming was up the8 nights we were there. But on calmer days people still went swimming nd surfing, you just have to be smart and know how far to go and not let younger kids go in.

Ate at Tidepools and Donderos at the hotel. Both are the more expensive restaurants there and likely on the island. Tidepools was in a lovely setting and we really enjoyed our meal there. Donderos was an Italian restaurant and okay. Although we had realistic expectations for Italian food in Kauai we did expect better than what we got for such a pricey place. The pizza was a mistake - I shouldn't have ordered that. I think I was hoping for a Neopoitan style margherita and got something pretty bland and not great - even if I had lower expectations.

All of the staff at the Hyatt were good - from the restaurant staff to the Grand Club which had great servers there.

Be sure to sit and have a drink at the Seaview Terrace in the evening which has the best views. They had entertainment every evening and it is a beautiful terrace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed as a family of four (2 adults, 2 teens) for five nights and had a great time. The property and surroundings are spectacular. I was a bit concerned beforehand about the size. We tend to travel to more out of the way places and stay in more intimate hotels. I was really impressed with the level of service and how comfortable the resort felt even though it was at 95% of capacity. I guessed it was at about 60%. The grounds are extensive and well landscaped, and the pool -- more a network of pools -- is endless. The beach is pretty though the ocean swimming (at the directly adjacent state park) is not for children. Nonetheless, for older kids and boogie boarding, the waves were pretty good when we were there. The park has a nice trail that easily gets you away from any development. The food was pretty good though at resort prices. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We had an ocean view which was worth a bit extra. We will go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha dspdx,
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with others on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you did the walk to the east of the hotel that goes over to Mahaulepu beach. I never tire of it! It's nice also to hear that although we were nearly sold out it did not seem busy.There is so much space everyone can find their own niche.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Enjoy your day, Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corry, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Checked into this resort for 5 nights for a conference my husband was going to. Resort is beautiful and they upgraded our room from a mountain view to one with a tiny beach view and garden view. The room was huge and very clean and nice. Large flat screen and refridgerator in room. Only real issue is our room is at least a mile from the lobby, I am not exagerating, I have never had to walk so far from my car, takes at least 15 if not 20 minutes.The walk through hallways, past shops sometimes open on one side to the outdoors is nice but come on who wants to walk that far from the lobby. The walk to the pools and beach are shorter, also beautiful but there is no point is using the gym, I get at least 4 miles in a day just getting place to place. Cost is high here and don't eat breakfast, even with 50 percent off my breakfast one morning cost me 20 dollars. I guess I just am not rich enough but it was a lovely place and lovely experience. If it wasn't for a conference I never would have stayed here. Beach isn't swimable to hazardous, but it is beautiful to sit out and look out over the water,. They have some saltwater lagoons and multiple pools to sit by and swim in.

Room Tip: I would ask for one closer to the center of the resort and not off on the edges though it was very q...
See more room tips
Green Features: Kept the grounds and pool areas very clean and requested reuse of water bottles
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 6 nights on our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for more. Here's a quick breakdown of the important pieces if you're considering this resort (comments for families as well)

Facilities: Majestic. The entrance is grand, and the view through the lobby to the ocean is something out of a movie. The resort seems to be never ending east to west but is beautifully laid out with immaculate landscaping. The resort is pristine and the effort shows. This place is also great for couples and families. There's an "upper deck" with an adult pool, and a lower lagoon that gets much more action. Kids would love the water slide, pool basketball hoops and lazy river (tube rentals for $8, buy it for $13). Few hot tubs are real nice later in the day as it cools off. With the way the resort is laid out there's an abundance of sun at the pool, lagoon and beach all day long. Poipu also seemed to be much drier and sunnier this time of year but you will see rain regardless. Up north and on the Napali coast there was a much more rain.

Service: People actually seem to enjoy their jobs here. Why not, the island is amazing. Everyone smiles and is very willing to help and share their knowledge about the island. The staff seems to share the same opinions on many of the top spots to eat, beach, hike, etc., and they were always spot on.

Rooms: deluxe oceanview if possible! Our view overlooked the pool area to the ocean where you could see the locals surf and hear the ocean crash at night. We left the door open (screen closed) to sleep and there was nothing more relaxing. My wife actually recorded the "soundscape" and wants to play it on loop when we sleep back at home. The rooms were always cleaned thoroughly and everything was clean and new.

Food: poolside food and drinks are as expected with any top notch resort. Service was always good. Try Tidepools restaurant for an awesome ambiance and incredible fish. Moon fish (Opah) was phenomenal, but note it all comes at a premium - $30-40 plates. Sea view terrace is a great casual spot to grab dinner with a great view overlooking the resort and live music.

Things you cannot miss: Beach House restaurant. Polihale state park beach (go as far down as you can), Mahaulepu beach (20 minutes on a dirt road right by the resort), Kalalau Trail, Ke'e beach, any helicopter tour (recommend blue Hawaiian), Waimea canyon and Island Taco.

Other tips: free laundry - $2 for detergent, but came in very handy to wash dirty hiking clothes and food-stained outfits. Also, expect rain!! Every day!! In short spurts at the very least. I mentioned it before but poipu seemed to be much warmer and drier. It all makes for part of the experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha Brosef,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort to assist others. Thank you too for recognizing how pleasant our staff is, I agree, I do think most enjoy their jobs, and why not with the lovely views and fresh air they have all day. I love the recorded ocean waves soundscape idea! Hope to see you again for an anniversary!
Enjoy your day, Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.