We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sayville, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pure Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you're planning a trip to this glorious isand, don't even think of staying anywhere other than the Grand Hyatt Resort. It's absolutely breathtaking from the moment you arrive.

After being greeted with leis, the staff welcomes you from the start, and strives endlessly to make your stay beyond perfect every moment you're there.

The grounds are magnificent, the daily breakfast beyond compare, and the rooms are immaculate. The folks at the concierge have one clear goal---to make you happy every step of the way. They even have pre-printed directions for every place you might want to venture off to see. There's nothing they won't do to make every day special whenever they can, and my wife and I were in our glory being there from beginning to end. We've already planned our return with a longer stay next year.

We attended the luau one night, which was wonderful, and honestly, you can't go to Hawaii without doing a luau, right? Great food, great entertainment!

I was able to make use of the spa facilities, and they were beyond anything I'd experienced. Loved the sauna, steamroom and lap pool, and the amenities were spectacular.

We've traveled all over the world, and have stayed in lovely places, but none even come close to this magnificent resort. It truly becomes your home away from home, and the people there make you feel like you're with family. We couldn't have been happier, and we are grateful to all of the people at the Grand Hyatt for making our special trip so wonderful. Mahalo!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,102
    592
    177
    73
    35
See reviews for
685
1482
38
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just returned from 9 nights at this resort (on hyatt points) and as someone who's spent over 300 nights in the past 2 years this is the probably the nicest hotel I've been able to stay in. The service is great, the best I've seen at a hyatt including the park hyatt i've stayed at. The pool and grounds are fantastic, the only drawback might be the beach is not fit for swimming, but they have a saltwater lagoon available.

We had dinner on my birthday at the tidepools and it was absolutely fantastic, don't miss that fabulous chocolate desert! As a Hyatt Diamond member we had access to the club lounge which had a fantastic breakfast and treats throughout the day, In the evening they had a great salad and some sort of finger food all of which were very good. As in a number of the Hyatt's I stay in, dinner is really not needed. We attended the luau, which because of Rain was indoors. Honestly, I've been to another one on the island which I thought was better but the food was great and if you wanted to lose your mind on maitais you certainly could. The show was good, but as I say I think the other one is better.

Our room was on the pool and it might have been nice to be on an upper floor but that's a trade off between convenience and the grander ocean view. One point I would make is that I thought the beds were a bit too soft, but that's perhaps a personal taste.

Overall, this hotel is great and I'm giving it an enthusiastic thumbs up! Booking again for 2015

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

There is nothing wrong I can say about this resort. They have got everything taken care of for you. Beautiful comfortable room. Great, friendly service. Amazing and fun pool. Beautiful beach front. You will do nothing but relax here. The Spa is fantastic. My husband and I had a couples massage in the outdoor cabanas. I highly recommend it. It was beyond relaxing to feel the fresh hawaiian breezes and listen to the waterfalls as your being massaged.The food at all venues was great. Already planning our next vacation here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was the second hotel in our Tauck tour of Hawaii. Gorgeous! Very comfortable beds, beautiful property! Very clean and the staff was very friendly. If you can't walk far distances, be sure and ask for closer rooms, Because the property is so spread out and you may have to walk a distance to and from your room to other parts of the hotel. Nice pools laid out amongst the gorgeous landscaping.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We just got back from Kauai and LOVED this Hyatt property. The grounds are INCREDIBLE, as were the pools, rooms and service. Plenty of activities for everyone- you will not be bored here! The ONLY negative (and I am digging here) is that although the beach that fronts the property is pretty - it is not suitable for children or any novice swimmers for that matter - very rough currents big waves and a rock bottom make for potential disasters. They are NOT kidding when they tell you this beach should only be used by surfers and boogie boarders- we saw SEVERAL GROWN MEN (ahem) with slings and abrasions who failed to enjoy the beach. This is a large property so you do not feel crowded when they are full. No fights for pool chairs, towels and no nickel and diming for the extra's - like bottled water (2 bottles each day are free for guests). If you go to Kauai in the Winter months, do NOT stay north or you will likely get rained out- A LOT- stay down south at the Hyatt and have a wonderful and relaxing SUNNY time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Beautiful property, well maintained, friendly staff! Excellent location. Close to attractions. Fell in love with Kauai here! Loved the large shower and room configuration. On site activities. Highest recommendations!

Room Tip: partial ocean views amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Mountain, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were always very friendly. They greeted my husband and I with leis. Room service was quick and precise. It was clean, family friendly and located in a beautiful area of the island. Particular things we loved... The departure lounge was a huge help as we didn't leave the island til 11:00pm so we were able to play on the beach and at the pools all day, then being able to shower before our long plane ride home. We loved the scents of the shampoo, conditioner and lotion... It was really good quality. The llima breakfast buffet has a big choice of foods that were quality.
The only negatives we found at this hotel.. The pool was pretty cold. It wasn't even fun to swim in most of the time unless it was super hot outside. Also, the beach front it's located on is pretty rough and little kids aren't safe to swim there at the hotel. The prices of the food at the hotel are outrageous which I guess is to be expected at a nice Hawaiian hotel. We had a wonderful time at the grand Hyatt and would go back for sure if we go to kauai again. We had a pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.