We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a gorgeous resort! The service was awesome...staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet every morning with tons to choose from. Greek yogurt with granola and pineapple...delicious! We attended the Luau one evening that was spectacular! It rained a ton on the island so they had to have the Luau indoors, but that didn't stop the fire dancer! The show was incredible! Hula girls were so fun to watch! The resort had cute shops with lots of variety.

We played a few holes on the PGA golf course, took advantage of the tennis courts that came along with the resort fee, laid by the pool and slid down the giant water slide at least 20 times. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,557
    703
    210
    83
    42
See reviews for
872
1,782
41
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Beautiful, lush and definitely one nicest hotels on the island. Wonderful, warm staff. Beach isn't really swimmable. Hotel is spread out which may mean a bit of a walk from A to B, but with such a lush setting and incredible views it's always a pleasure. Also, they make the best Bloody Mary on the island. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Kinnagoebay,

Thank you for your raving review and Mahalo for staying with us on the Garden Isle.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our property as our staff works very hard to maintain the lush beauty of our 52-acre landscape. Our Grand Hyatt Kauai Ohana love to share their aloha with the guests and provide service that is authentic and memorable - we are glad to have been able to show you our aloha. It's an honor to know that your loved our Bloody Mary and can't wait to serve you up another on you next stay with us - we will be waiting.

Warmest Aoha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was over a decade ago when we first visited this beautiful hotel located in the sunniest part of Kauai. The hotel has a lot to offer, golfing, beach, spa. The beach is a little small and this might be a weaker piece of the property. The rooms are well kept and modern. They have even installed electronic bidet systems. I must admit being intimidated and wondered what the hoses were all about. Once I did try the remote, my wife was laughing as she heard the "Oohs" and "Ahhs" coming from the bathroom as I bravely experimented! Try the kalhua pork nachos by the pool (you have the protection of the previously described electronic bathroom devices if you need them so you have little to fear!). Splurge on an ocean view room. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Poipu wing is far from the lobby but ocean facing rooms offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha travelingman826,

Thank you for returning with us and Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests loved their previous stay so much that they return for more.

We are happy that you and your wife took notice of our new bidets that we are currently working on installing into all guest rooms. So far, we have received great feedback regarding the installation of them, and we thank you for yours. Thank you for your kind words regarding the different things our property has to offer and Mahalo for your feedback on our rooms cleanliness and decor. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the property for another stay soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Location and layout of the hotel are very nice, but the place shows ist age. Rooms are small and run down, corridors are dark and rather dusty. Beakfast is bad, don't go near it, not worth the money and in general below fast food Standards, e.g. fruit and juices from the can, very limited buffet selection, Service unfriendly and often slow. Value for money is a disgrace. Spa is aging as well, not too well concerning the pool, e.g. Games room looks like it was once well used, same is true for the library bar, both have seen better times. To finish on a good Thing: the pools are nice and were planned well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I can see why this hotel is rated one of the best in Kauai. We stayed in early November which is off season and practically had the place to ourselves. The concierges were very helpful in helping us plan our excursions away from the hotel. The golf course next door is also amazing and a must do if you play. The pools are very nice, although the beach at the hotel is a little lacking. But there are plenty of nice beaches nearby that you can drive to. Our room was very nice, but not spectacular. Close to a couple shopping areas with plenty of restaurants if you don't want to eat at the hotel. A hotel I would recommend to others!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Jeff L,

Thank you for your recommendation and Mahalo for your great review. We are absolutely thrilled that you felt our property was amazing and we are honored to have you with us here on the South Shore of Kauai.

Having the feeling of 52-acres of Resort all to yourself is magical and we are glad you found enjoyment not only here on property but also at Poipu Bay Golf Course. We are happy to hear that the concierges were helpful and we are please that they could be of assistance to you. Again, we thank you for staying with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai and we hope to welcome you back to the island again soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Kauai was a "bucket list" trip and this was an ideal place to stay. Beautiful property and grounds, clean comfy rooms, great location from which to explore the island, excellent service and amenities. Fitness center is really nice, with morning yoga classes outside by the ocean. The spa is world-class - though I didn't enjoy any of their services, my friend did a few and loved it. Several dining options with breathtaking views. We ended up eating offsite a lot to enjoy more local flavor but the meals we did have onsite were pricey but decent. Pools are nice and well maintained and they have a waterslide! Their luau was fun, too.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room next to the pool so I was concerned there would be noise, but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha Jessica A,

Thank you for your 5-star review and Mahalo for staying with us here at the Grand Hyatt Kauai on the South Shore.

We are honored to hear that you got to cross Kauai off your "bucket list" and we are even more thrilled to know that you did so when staying with us! Thank you for your kind words regarding our property's beauty and guest rooms. We have great staff that work very hard to maintain the beauty and cleanliness of the property - your comments are greatly appreciated.

The Fitness Center provides great state of the art equipment for our guests to enjoy in a cool and clean environment - we are happy to enjoyed it. Anara Spa is also a great location that provides our guests with a great experience. Lava rock showers, a lap pool, the steam room, the sauna, and so much more.

We are happy to hear that you were able to explore the local flavors of the island, but also found our dining options as breath-taking. It's great that you got the best of both worlds with trying both on and off property venues. We hope the next time you stay with us, you have the chance to explore even more.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Wow, the grounds were amazing. Many amenities and nice touches. The rooms were average but you don't come here to stay in the room. There is a salt water pool as well as a regular pool. The adults only pool is nice. they have a slide for kids and I guess for adults too. The grounds are immaculate and I had the best time taking pictures of all of the different types of flowers. You don't need to pay to visit a flower garden with all they have here. It fronts Shipwreck beach which is not the best swimming beach but great to lay on the sand. they also have cabana's to rent that are right up to the sand. The views are amazing and it is close to shops and restaurants. They have a luau here each night but I didn't think it was anything special. Large property and depending on where your room is you can walk forever to get to the pool. Nice open air lobby with high end shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha NorCal-traveler08,

We are so thankful for your review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and Mahalo for staying here on the South Shore of Kauai.

It's an honor to hear all the things you loved about our Resort. Our team works very hard to maintain the lush beauty of the property and we're thrilled that you found them to be amazing. Capturing the beauty with pictures are definitely a great way to do so while taking a stroll around our 52-acres of property. Another great way to enjoy the scenery is to rent a cabana, like you mentioned. Watching the waves roll in with an Ocean-front cabana or having the turquoise pool steps from your cabana is always a good way to relax. We hope to have you with us again to hopefully take a walk up to Shipwreck cliff to take a look at the property from a different perspective.

Again thank you for your kind words regarding your stay and Mahalo for staying with us on the Garden Island. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.