We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wayland, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our experience at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa couldn't have been better. Besides the obvious fact that Kauai is beautiful, this resort was gorgeous without being ostentatious. Everything you could want was there. The staff, from the bell hop to the concierge, were all wonderful, giving you "local" insight as to places to eat, places to see, etc. The food was great. The hotel room was beautiful and clean. We had an ocean view room, and the view couldn't have been better. The pools were always clean. Every morning at 10 a.m. 3 different-colored Macaws and a beautiful Cockatoo were placed in the arboretum, which is part of the lobby, and removed at 2 p.m. All of the tourists loved these birds. It seems as if they would pose for you. Also on site, black swans, a mute swan, and other assorted colorful, tropical birds. They also have an on-site spa, but I didn't use that. Will definitely come back.

Green Features: There are recycling bins everywhere in the hotel. They also have informational sessions on the endangered Hawaiian Monk Seal and what we can do as a culture to help save them.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha Barb K,

Mahalo for your kind review and we thank you for staying with us here at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa. Kauai's beauty is truly amazing and as a Resort we wanted to ensure that we embraced our surroundings instead of being pretentious.

Our staff takes pride in sharing the "aloha" spirit and sharing insights on what "locals" like to do and eat - we are glad we were able to provide you with both. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the views and our wildlife in the lobby. We hope the next time your with us, you have the chance to check out Anara Spa, because it is the place to discover relaxation with the unique feeling of being in your own paradise. We think you'd love it.

We hope to welcome you back to Garden Isle soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,989
    557
    169
    68
    33
See reviews for
633
1401
37
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the second of four resorts we visited during our trip to Hawaii, and although they were all very good, this was our favorite. The natural beauty is its biggest asset. We rented a cabana and then walked up and down the beach and up a nearby cliff. The water was black, green, and white, and not another soul was visible. We could have been alone in the world. The hotel provided luxurious rooms and great service, including food delivery to the cabanas. We had outdoor massages, which were lovely. Real surf sounds instead of a recording!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha J1a1y1,

We are humbled by your review - Thank you! We are honored to hear that out of all four resorts you visited, the Grand Hyatt Kauai was your favorite. The natural beauty of Kauai and our property is truly unique and breath taking and it's a pleasure to know you appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed our time in the cabana and along the beach. We are pleased to know that your room and our service stood our to you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here the first part of our first trip to Kauai. Easy to find. They have an an amazing and dramatic view of the Ocean from the lobby and you instantly know you're in paradise. Once you check in, they give you a lei. Front desk staff very courteous. We stayed in a partial ocean view room. Our partial view seemed like a full ocean view so if you want to save a few bucks, book a partial and ask for room on the 5th or 6th floor. Room: spacious and they give you 2 free waters everyday. The bathroom had a bidet! Views: awesome, you're literally right next to Shipwreck Beach. Pool: awesome as well. You don't even have to get there early to get a pool chair like most hotels. They have a lazy river as well as an adult pool section. Breakfast: definitely go to Ilima Terrace for breakfast buffett. Staff there were top notch. Bellman: always nice and helpful. When you leave the lobby, they are always making sure you have everything from waters to towels. They also have free self parking! I definitely would recommend to stay here if you're planning on staying in Poipu

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View on the 6th floor
See more room tips
Green Features: They have bins in your room so that you can recycle!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha Bbear0814,

Thank you for your review and Mahalo for staying with us. The view from the lobby does take people's breath away and it's a pleasure to know you enjoyed it. We are glad to hear that your check in process went great and that you were happy with your Partial Ocean View room. Mahalo for your kind words regarding the pools and especially our staff. The Grand Hyatt Kauai Ohana strives to share their "aloha" spirit with all guests and we are glad we were able to serve you with our authentic hospitality.

Mahalo nui loa for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had not been to the Hyatt for several years. It was great. The hotel upgraded us to a pool view room. We loved being on the ground floor and could walk out our door and to the adult only pool. Hotel was not very busy so it was quiet and the room A/C worked great which is important to me. I did miss having a bath tub as the rooms only have showers. They accommodated a late check out. The check in process was friendly. I wish I would have gotten the name of the clerk. She had braids in her hair and a great attitude. She should be recognized. The valet staff was also very friendly. Every single one of them. It's the little things that make a big difference. They always offered us towels and water every time we left the hotel. My only complaint would be the cocktail waitresses poolside spent a lot of time chit chatting with each other versus checking on drinks. We and several others had to go to the bar for drinks versus being served.

Room Tip: Near the adult pool, ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha KStaut,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure to be able to provide you with an upgraded room and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenience. Some rooms are equipped with bathtubs, but we are pleased you liked your shower. We are also glad to hear that the AC in your room was comfortable to your satisfaction.

We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding the check-in agent and the valet staff, these employees truly embody the "aloha" spirit. Thank you for your feedback regarding your observation at the pool and the issue will be addressed. Mahalo for giving us the ability to improve our services from your valued feedback. In addition, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another 5-star vacation.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful resort with multiple pools!! The lagoon is awesome!! Loved the hotel and location! Beautiful place and can't wait to go back!! We loved that it had places for us to run as well to get our fitness in!! Restaurants on site and so much to do!!

Room Tip: We had partial ocean view which was like full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha surfergal3233,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you loved the hotel and the Poipu area. Our Resort offers something for just about everyone and with Anara Spa's fitness center, you can even enjoy fitness as well. Mahalo for your kind words regarding the properties beauty, the pools and lagoon.

We would be honored to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future and we are excited to hear that you can't wait for your next visit.

Warmest Aloha & Mahalo,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel was definitely one of my favorite hotels of all time! Everything was just easy! We got to check in early and immediately found a comfortable lounge chair with an umbrella by the pool!
Our ocean view room was very spacious! The resort is huge, so it took some time to get from our room to the pools, but even walking through the halls, I appreciated the openness of the whole resort, I glanced up and where there should be a wall, there was tropical foliage and the ocean in the distance. It was nice being Diamond Club members and having a room close to the club lounge where we could help ourselves to coffee, teas, sodas, and snacks through the day. The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed the evening appetizers and inexpensive cocktails during sunset!
What makes this hotel one of my favorites is the meandering river- like pools and the salt water lagoon. The river pools have little caves and waterfalls, and the foliage is so perfect and colorful, that for a moment I thought it was fake. I bought a tube and just floated around, it was very relaxing. The beach seemed a little dangerous, with waves breaking right on shore, and the current very strong. It would be very easy for someone to get swept away very quickly! But who needs the beach when with all the awesome pools! Also, I liked all the shady loungers that were available around the pools. The main problem with this hotel is, one might be tempted not to explore the rest of the island. We met one couple in a lounger next to us that had been there all week and hadn't left the hotel! I can definitely see how that could happen and we are looking forward to staying here again when we return to Kauai

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha tammlynn,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and Thank you for being a loyal guest twith Hyatt, as a Diamond Memeber. We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding the Resort and it's a pleasure to hear that the Grand Hyatt Kauai is one of your favorite hotels of all time.

Making your stay easy is definitely what we strive for at our Resort, and getting you into your room early is our pleasure. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your ocean view room and found it to be spacious and convenient to Grand Club. The Resort is definitely large in size and our staff works very hard to maintain the lush foliage and the vast pools and lagoon - we greatly appreciate your gracious words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself in the pool facilities and even found no need to go to the beach - we're humbled.

Again, thank you for your raving review and we appreciate your time. We hope to welcome you back to Kauai again soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I traveled from NY to the Grand Hyatt Kauai in August 2013 for part of our honeymoon. We had a wonderful stay with very few complaints. Upon checking in we were given our reserved Garden View Room, however was offered complimentary access to the Grand Club (Food and Drinks all day long). This was nice as it saved us money on breakfast and snacks everyday. Mid week, they upgraded us to an amazing suite on the top floor. The suite had a living room, dining room, full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, wrap around balconys overlooking the ocean. Amazing!! We loved the pools as they never felt crowded because they were so big. Our only complaint was that you couldn't swim in the ocean. Red flags everyday and no lounge chairs on the beach. We really wish they at least had lounge chairs on the beach. Nevertheless we had a fabulous time and hope to return some day. The drinks and food are pricey but they do have many options which is nice. Thank you GHK for a great trip!

Room Tip: Don't be shy about asking for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort
Grand Hyatt Kauai
Hyatt Kauai
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.