We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Englewood, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pure luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 6 nights at The Grand Hyatt on our honeymoon and it was pure heaven. Staff was very accommodating, knowledgeable, and nice. For our honeymoon they gifted us a bottle of champagne, a free cabana, and a dessert at one of their restaurants. The hotel property is huge and walking to the rooms can be a bit of a hike, but overall the hotel is just absolutely gorgeous. The views of the ocean are spectacular, the pools are amazing, and the flowers around the property are really just gorgeous. The person who designed this hotel really thought about this because there are just so many spectacular view points. When you walk into the hotel it is just a breathtaking view of the ocean with palm tree's....it almost looks like a fake picture in photos. The rooms were big and spacious (we were in a king ocean view with club access). The beds were very comfortable and had a great shower and bath. Every room has a balcony. We had club access which was great for buffet breakfast and early evening appetizers.

We had a cabana by the adult pool one day, where we did nothing but swim, eat, drink, and hang and it was pure heaven. A perfect way to spend a day on our honeymoon. The food and drinks were great but on the expensive side, which we expected for Hawaii, although not far from NY prices. We ate at the lunch restaurant inside the hotel one day too, which had terrific food (we had the turkey burger and Caesar salad...we were impressed). The lava rock pools and the salt water lagoon were great. The beach is not really a swimming beach because of the rocks and the rough water. We ate at Yum Cha and Tidepools restaurants, both which were great. We did a half spa day doing the "lover's escape" and it was truly wonderful. One of the best spa's I have been to. I highly recommend this place for couples and families. Overall, a truly wonderful experience. We hope to be back next year for our one year anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far from the lobby since some rooms are a very long walk. Also, we asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha gymnastjenny09,

Congratulations on your nuptial and mahalo for choosing to stay with us for your Honeymoon - we are humbly honored! We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was "pure heaven." Your kind words regarding our staff is very much appreciated and we will ensure everyone is commended on a job well-done. It was our pleasure to be able to help you celebrate such a special time with the amenities we provided you with. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the property and the facilities. In addition, thank you for your kind words regarding the Anara Spa and mahalo for your recommendation! We are thrilled you were able to experience the Spa as a couple with hope you will join us again for your Anniversary!

Mahalo nui loa for your taking the time to share your amazing experience with us!

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    666
    200
    83
    37
See reviews for
805
1,697
40
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a great family resort. Diverse room selections. Great amenities, dining options and plenty of space provides your own tropical paradise even when property is sold out. Pool and lagoon are wonderful. The location of the beach creates the closest thing to an accessible private beach on Kauai. Poipu is some of the best weather on the island to boot.

Room selection - location - is key. Staff has been there for ages and is very helpful in this and all regards.

We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Dan L,

Mahalo for your kind review! We are glad you found the Resort to be great for the entire family. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our diverse room selections and dining options of which we offer. The pools and lagoon are definitely a hit with out guests and we always appreciate when guests share how much they love them - and for that, we thank you! In addition, it is a honor to know that our staff provided you with service that exceeded your expectations as they extended their 'aloha' spirit and expertise of the property to find you the perfect room.

Again, mahalo nui loa for your recommendation and taking the time to share your experience. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you and your family back soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. The view is just breathtaking, especially in the area by the coffee bar/patio. We sat there every morning, and it was our favorite part of the day. The room itself was lovely, with a gorgeous bathroom and shower, and all the amenities you could want. Our room faced outward (garden view), but it genuinely was the front lawn/garden, not just code for "parking lot view." Breakfast was fantastic, with more choices than your average Hawaii hotel (i.e., a lot of choices). We don't have kids and aren't swimmers, but we were still impressed by the pools - we swam in both the lazy river and the lagoon. We had room service a couple times by necessity and although room service is always crazy-expensive, the food was better than expected. We took a helicopter tour (highly recommended - take the tour with doors-off), and our pilot said that the Grand Hyatt is the only hotel he recommends on the island. It's on the sunny-drier side of the island, it's in a quieter area than Princeville, and the pools are amazing. On check-in we requested an upgrade, and it wasn't available, but they put our name on an upgrade list. On the last day, they gave us "treats" because they weren't able to accommodate our request.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha julieAskimagine,

We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience. It is a pleasure to know you and your family "loved" the Resort. The view from Seaview Terrace is one of our favorites as well. We are glad your children found the pools fun and that our pools and lagoon impressed you. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the amenities it include. We do apologize for being unable to provide you with an upgrade during this stay, but we are thrilled you enjoyed the "treats" that were sent. We hope to be able to upgrade you to an interior facing room for your next stay with us.

Again, mahalo nui loa for your review and recommendation!

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here with family of four and loved this resort. The lobby, views, etc are stunning. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Fabulous concierge experience (Alicia was amazing!)We ate at most of the resort restaurants (except Tidepools) and found the food to be excellent. I wish the Seaview Terrace stayed open later (last call was at 8:30) but otherwise it was excellent. The grounds are beautiful as is the pool. It was always easy to find a comfortable chair with an umbrella. The beach is pretty rough and not recommended for swimming so if you want to spend the day at the beach you have to travel a mile or two to a calmer beach. Spotty wifi (they say free but there is a 25$ resort fee) but free laundry machines. Would definitley recommend this resort

Room Tip: we stayed in wing closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha Lovetotravel5525,

Mahalo nui for your review and recommendation! We are glad to hear that you and your ohana loved the Resort and found the views of the property "stunning!" Thank you for your gracious words regarding our staff and the service they provided - we will be sure commend Alicia for providing outstanding service as well. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants on property and hopefully next time you can try Tidepools and their award winning food and service.

Again, thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to share it your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful property! Especially enjoyed option for adult only pool as we do not have children. On-site restaurants were excellent and staff was very friendly. Excellent gym and spa facilities.

Hotel was very busy during our visit and breakfast can get a little hectic with the long lines if eating at prime time in the morning.

Room Tip: Upgrades were not available as a gold member. If you want an ocean view during prime season, will l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha Elizabeth M,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear about your great stay at the Resort! Our staff works very hard to maintain the property and we are honored that you found it beautiful. Thank you for your kind words regarding your our restaurants and staff. In-addition, we are glad you were able to enjoy our gym and spa facilities as well.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Westin is a very nice property with a VERY friendly and helpful staff. Beach access (as is the case on most of the resorts) is limited, but this is a great place to serve as base camp while you explore Kauai and makes for a great day by the pool sipping your favorite drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I don't think I have ever been so relaxed in my life as I was while staying at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every moment. I highly recommend purchasing a swim tube so you can float in the salt water lagoon with a cocktail. If the water is calm, you have a perfect view of people jumping off the cliff at Shipwreck Beach. All the restaurants were great, with the exception of Stephenson's Library. We tried the sushi there and it was awful but otherwise, everything was perfect. The resort is located on the South shore of Kauai and is close to a lot of local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha michellewarn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you felt "relaxed" more than ever while staying at the Resort. Floating in the lagoon with a cocktail and a view of Shipwreck must of been amazing. Mahalo for your kind words about the restaurants, however we regret to hear about your experience at Stevenson's Library. We thank you for your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve upon. Again, mahalo for staying with us and we hope to have you with us again soon.

A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.