We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fantastic resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am staying here for the second night. Fantastic resort definitely the wow factor. Only complaint was we booked a double room with 2 double beds. As we are 2 adults 2 children 16 an 13. We were put in a king bed room with 1 rolla bed with my daughter having to sleep on a chair. We were upgraded to an ocean front room. This was an inconvenience we were told it was fully booked. Considering we booked in february why did this happen? The pools are fantastic and not crowded there is plenty of lounges the captains bar were very friendly especially Mark the bartender. Only disappointment was the bedding situation.

Room Tip: The beach view rooms weren't too far and not too noisy around the 2030's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha Aussiefamily2012,

Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share your experience at the resort with us. It is a honor to know that you and your 'ohana enjoyed the pool facilities and the spaciousness of the resort. We are happy to hear that the bartender, Mark, provided you with great service, and we will be sure to commend him for his aloha.

We regret to hear about the bedding situation you encountered and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused. At our property, we are unable to confirm bedding, however, we do our very best to meet all requests as much as possible. We hope to welcome you and your 'ohana back to exceed your expectations and provide you with the bedding requested. Please feel free to contact us here at the resort should you visit us again. A Hui Hou (Until we meet again)!

Warmest Aloha,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    630
    188
    78
    37
See reviews for
765
1,592
39
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 5 nights in room 1038 which is a 1 bedroom ground floor garden suite with full ocean view. It was the nicest hotel I've had the pleasure of staying in. Included an in room fridge and Keurig coffee maker which was a huge bonus since I love coffee time in the morning before breakfast. We had a 10 month old baby with us and they provided a good crib and pedestal fan for white noise. Bed was very comfortable and I am super sensitive to strange beds. Great bathroom and bidet. We ate lunch poolside every day out of convenience and while very pricey the food and drinks were delicious. The grounds are beautiful, pools had plenty of lounge chairs while we were there, renting a cabana was totally unnecessary. Beach is gorgeous, but rough conditions so not good swimming. I loved hearing it and watching it. The resort is expansive but I did not find it to be too much. We stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa 5 years ago and that was way too big.

My only complaint is that I called several times to make sure we were given a room in a quiet area since baby is in bed early and naps twice a day. While we loved our room and it was a convenient location it was located adjacent to the large lawn area that they use for the luau, weddings, and any other parties that take place and was very loud at those times. The baby did great anyway but it stressed me out and kept me up a few nights since we had a six hour time change and were ready for bed by 8 or 9 most of the time.

Room Tip: Room 1038 was a wonderful ground floor garden suite, fairly close location to main lobby and pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha LAinMI,

Thank you for your great review - we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here on property. Mahalo for your kind words regarding the resort grounds and pools. It's a pleasure to know that you found our beds to be perfect to your comfort expectations and we were able to provide you with a good crib and pedestal fan for your baby's comfort. However, we regret to hear about the noise you experienced in your suite and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused you. We understand your frustrations and we hope to improve our services by reviewing your comments with our staff. In addition, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your 'ohana back in the near future.

Warmest Aloha and A Hui Hou,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our second stay at the Grand Hyatt Kauai, both were for business conferences. It's obvious why the company keeps coming back here - the setting and grounds are gorgeous, the service is impeccable, the facilities are exceptional. You'd never have to leave the resort if you didn't want to.

Our room faced the beach, so it was lovely sitting on our balcony listening to the ocean and feeling the breeze.

What a special treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
435 helpful votes 435 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our third stay at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. After nearly 20 years since our first stay (when the resort first opened), we came back last year (see my previous review), and enjoyed our stay so much we decided to come back again this year.

For this trip we reserved an ocean view, Grand Club room. The room itself is no different than any other room in the hotel and is probably the only negative aspect about the Grand Hyatt.
There’s no doubt that the property is one of the lushest, most beautifully appointed and maintained resorts that you’ll find anywhere. You are simply blown away when you first pull up in the driveway and walk into the open air lobby with the cobalt blue ocean filling the background. The pool complex, waterfalls, gardens and unique restaurant settings such as Tidepools, all exceed your expectations of what a five star resort in Hawaii should look like.

So when you finally arrive at your room (especially an upgraded room such as an ocean view Grand Club room), you expect to walk into the type of room worthy of a Grand Hyatt, or even a Park Hyatt or a room at the Four Seasons. Instead you’ll find a room resembling something more along the lines of a basic Hyatt business hotel or a standard Marriott. That’s not to say that there’s anything necessarily wrong with the rooms but they could use a furnishing upgrade and better interior design planning in order to bring them up to the same level of quality found throughout the rest of the resort.

The Grand Club is a nice option provided you take advantage of all the perks offered for the extra price you’ll pay versus a non-club room. The club is open 6:30AM to 9:00PM. The breakfast offered is a nice selection of fresh fruit, breads and pastries, cereal, at least one hot entrée item and the usually selections of juice, coffee, tea and even a cappuccino machine. Having breakfast here instead of the buffet at the IIima Terrace will save you at least $30 per person per day. There is also a nice spread of appetizers and desserts along with a reduced price honor bar at night. Throughout the day soft drinks and snacks are offered. If your room rate didn’t include wi-fi service or if you’re not a Platinum or Diamond member, The Club provides a free wi-fi connection.

Another perk of being in a club room is the complimentary access to the gym and spa. This can cost up to $60 per day per day per person. The spa facilities are some of the best you’ll find anywhere. A full size lap pool (as if this hotel needed yet another pool!), hot and cold whirlpools, steam and sauna rooms and nicely appointed locker facilities including my favorite feature the open air, lava rock showers.

The Grand Hyatt’s best feature of course is its pool complex. Located on multiple levels, there are several pools including an enormous saltwater lagoon pool with its own beach. There are slides, rivers, waterfalls, multiple hot tubs and an adult only pool. All of this surround by lush and meticulously maintained tropical gardens. Other onsite recreation includes a professional quality tennis facility with a pro shop that also rents bikes. They have high quality, well maintained mountain bikes available but their supply is limited so get there early if you’re interested in renting one. Poipu Bay Golf Course is located right next door.

There are several restaurants located throughout the property but my favorite, and one of the best restaurants on the entire island, is Tidepools. Located in what look like over-water Tahitian huts, the food, especially the fresh fish, is some of the best you’ll find anywhere. A bit on the expensive side but what isn’t on Kauai?

We had a great stay and look forward to coming back again, more than likely next year.

Room Tip: Don't overpay for an ocean view room. They are set back so far from the ocean that you see more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for the first 5 days of our Hawaiian honeymoon. We were told by our travel agent when tossing around the Grand Hyatt, the smaller boutiquey Koa Kea nearby, and the St. Regis up in Princeville, that we wouldn't regret and couldn't go wrong with the Grand Hyatt; she was right. While I am not positive that I wouldn't try one of the others on our next trip, the GH really hits every mark.

The area is perfect -- Poipu is a beautiful part of the island; the weather here is sunnier and better than Princeville. We drove through downpours the one day we explored the Hanalei/Princeville area confirming this rumor for us, and didn't see a drop in Poipu. The beaches and area is breathtaking, but then again, so is the rest of the island. The nearby shops and restaurants at Poipu Shopping Village and The Shops At Kukuiula‎ were pretty and plentiful, and a nice option for beautiful meals outside of the hotel grounds, but not more than 10 minutes away. The town of Koloa is also only a few minutes away and is laid-back and charming as well.

The entrance of the GH is stunning - a friendly valet, lei greeting, efficient helpful concierge all pale into comparison of the view of the Pacific straight through the lobby. The hotel is really large... I see the pros and cons here (hence why I might consider the Koa Kea on a visit) -- there is a great selection of restaurants and shops. Our breakfasts (buffet, included in our rate) were wonderful (we especially loved a different Benedict variation every day), and we had a great dinner at Yum Cha over by the golf course one night. The pools and grounds are truly magnificent -- it is so large that there are a million places to get lost, benches to watch the sunset from, hammocks to close your eyes in, etc. We did a cabana rental at the salt water lagoon one day, which we loved. There were a lot of families with children, but I didn't feel that they got in our way at all....the resort is over 52 acres, so there is room to spread out.

Our room was comfortable, though not mind-blowing or super luxe, it had more than everything we needed, a very lovely and well-appointed bathroom, and a great ocean view (we had partial ocean view and were quite happy with the view from our balcony). The super comfortable bed and blackout curtains had us sleeping soundly through our stay.

While I am sure it's very likely we would love another of the properties I mentioned, I stand behind the statement: you can't go wrong with the Grand Hyatt, you won't regret it. We would love to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha VLnyc,

Mahalo nui loa for your review! We're honored by your kind words and thank you for your recommendation! We're glad that you enjoyed the resort entrance, pools and lagoon, and we are especially glad our resort hit every mark for your. The "Sunny Poipu" area is definitely a great spot for all of ones needs and we're delighted to know that you not only loved Poipu, but the entire island of Kauai. Thank you again for your kind words and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future - until then we send our fondest Aloha & A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!

Mahalo,
Kayla H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were here three nights. Just got back. Beautiful property, great service. The staff were so nice, especially the concierge lady Mele who arranged a few tours for us. A few issues: found a roach in the shower. But they got their staff to the room right away to spray, clean, etc... and they gave us a little discount on the hotel fee.

And the meandering pathways outside were a little confusing. They should have big maps of the pathways showing the way to the lobby, etc.

But overall, it was paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha Jean De d,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. Thank you for your gracious comments regarding our property and service we provided - we will ensure that Mele is recognized! However, we sincerely apologize for the unwanted guest and want to assure you this is a rare occurrence. We are pleased to know that our staff was able to assist in this situation. Your feedback is valued and we will use it to improve upon.

We hope to welcome you and your family to resort again soon.

A Hui Hou and Warmest Mahalo,
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Of course the fact that your are in Kauai is enough but this hotel made the stay what I have dubbed "The best stay/vacation of my life". We have saved up for a looong time to afford this vacation and chose to stay somewhere nice as we usually stay somewhere cheap to afford more activities. This was a great decision. For me (public servant) this hotel was very very very expensive. We took a chance and found the rooms were spacious with a large bathroom with separate toilet (Godsent) and the beds/linens were the best I have encountered in a Hotel. We awoke to the sounds of the ocean. They have a LARGE pool area with multiple pools and hot tubs which would be great for families (waterslide) yet it never once got remotely crowded due to the size and amount of pools they had. Great beach and access to ocean. The thing that stood out the most for this Hotel was the staff. Every time we would walk out the lobby valets would offer us bottles of water and towels. You heard me right, as many towels at once as you can stand and they do not make you sign over your firstborn for one like most resorts. From housekeeping we passed in the hallways to the servers in the restaurants the staff was warm, greeted you everywhere, and had a "I can do that " attitude. The restaurants and drinks at bars are pricey but several other options are within a few miles of the resort that better fit our budget. Best vacation ever and I would say it was 20% the location and 80% due to the Hyatt and our stay as we had more fun at the resorts and took less excursions due to the activities they had. We are already starting to save for another. Go Hyatt!! Oh also they provide diving lessons FREE! They had a local dive master come in and let you try and practice in the salt water lagoon. If that isn't cool then your a dud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is in the perimeter of the pool area. It looks over the ocean as well as all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla H, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha Wisemanwhosays,

Mahalo nui loa for your kind words! We are extremely thrilled you had a great vacation here on Kaua'i and thank you for taking the time to speak about your memorable experience with us! Sharing the "aloha" spirit with our guests is something we take great pride in here at our resort and we are delighted that the service we provided stood out to you. A scuba lesson is a great way to spend time in the salt water lagoon and we appreciate your positive feedback regarding it. In addition, we are happy you enjoyed your room size and location and will ensure to keep those preferences in your profile for the next time.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your 'ohana back in the near future.

A Hui Hou and Mahalo nui,
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.