We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here on June 6th- June 11th. We came here for our 20th wedding anniversary. The check-in was quick, easy and informative with Robert. Our room was clean with a big bathroom and a special surprise for our 8 year old son that had his name spelled out with some small bath toys! One of the maids named Sam was so nice and helpful and she wasn't even our maid. I can't say enough about Sam and her friendliness and the joy she brought us during our time there. The entire staff was always friendly, helpful, and happy! This is our second time to stay here and we will be back again. My wife and I tried out the Anara Spa and it was very nice as well.

The grounds are beautifully maintained. The pool area is big and spacious with different areas for adults and children. There is a slide for the children which our son loved. It is a big resort so plan on doing a bit of walking but it is so beautiful you won't mind at all. The hotel is located on the south side of the island near Poipu beach which is great to snorkel and see fish and turtles.

The price is not cheap but for the location and level of service you receive, you would be hard pressed to find something similar for the same price on the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,349
    654
    195
    81
    37
See reviews for
781
1,661
40
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I have been to this resort a few times now and we always feel right at home. The service is very friendly, the atmosphere relaxed, the pools are incredibly fun, and the location is ideal. The buffet breakfast is a nice way to start the day, and the view is spectacular. At night they have performers in the bar area which is a nice way to wind down the day.

The gym facilities are also excellent as are their spa services. Overall, we have had wonderful visits each time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This resort has it all--beautiful rooms, great restaurants, beautiful landscaping and a waterpark. We had lots of fun enjoying the pools and lazy river one day. The view from our lanai each morning was simply breathtaking. And the staff could not be more helpful! We went to the island orientation the first morning and were so glad we did. The recommendations on food were spot on and while we had already planned our activities, the information reinforced our choices and made us want to come back to do more another time. Also loved the location on the island because it was in the middle of everything--halfway between the 2 end points you can drive to and close to lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Love this resort! Clean, beautiful, and accommodating. We look to this resort every year now to provide us an atmosphere to relax and unwind. Staff is always helpful and personable. Grounds are always clean and well kept.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This resort is sincerely exceptional. It is possibly the most beautiful hotel at which I've ever stayed, thanks to the tremendous landscaping and use of the natural landscape. The views are gorgeous, and the pools are simply beyond -- both the lazy river and the salt water lagoon are beautifully, beautifully done (and really fun -- the water slide is legit!). The staff was amazing: INCREDIBLY friendly and helpful, from the bellman to the wait staff at the pool to the valets to the women at the coffee cart (which has perhaps the best view of the ocean ever). The rooms are Hyatt-y, but totally nice, with comfy beds and really good water pressure (the bathrooms are large, and have a separate toilet area, which I like). Even garden rooms have a nice view. Basically, you will never want to leave. I see no reason to stay anywhere else on Kauai. I went with a friend on a girls' trip, but saw tons of honeymooners, little kids, retirees -- very VERY family friendly, yet also still romantic (there's an adults only pool and several hot tubs as well). An unmitigated rave. Also; go to the luau, it's expensive but super fun and the guy who juggles the fire is AMAZING,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have been to other Hyatt resorts, but this one stands out. This place is picture perfect, and the upkeep of premise is impeccable.

The Grand Hyatt is 52 acres big next to the golf course. The view is stunning at the lobby. The landscaping is beautiful at every turn. The swimming pool and game room are so much fun, for not just the kids but for the adults as well. The exercise room was very well equipped. We did not get a massage, but the facility seemed nice. Grand Club put out excellent continental breakfast. It is a little weak for the rest of the day.

The concierge desk was adequately staffed. They were patient with our questions. They arranged four activities,we were very satisfied with all four.

This resort is on top of my list for a return visit. Our 13-year-old daughter agrees too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Grand Hyatt on Kauai is a magical place to get away and unwind. The resort is thoughtfully designed and beautifully maintained but it is the people that make it truly special. Everyone we encountered (really, every single staff member) went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and to ensure that we were getting the most out of our stay. From the valets who offered towels and complimentary bottles of water every time we went out to the desk clerk who offered the use of the departure lounge to shower before our evening flight we were constantly impressed by the level of care and attention we received.

We stayed in a Grand Club room and found that the upgrade was well worth it due to the included access to the Grand Club lounge. We took full advantage of the lounge enjoying breakfast every morning (including the high end machine for espresso beverages) and the afternoon snacks, appetizers and (reasonably priced) honor bar.

The one small issue I have is with the outrageous drink prices throughout the resort. I expect to pay a price at a high end resort (particularly poolside) but $14 (everywhere) seems a bit over the top. We enjoyed meals at Tidepools, Seaview Terrace and poolside and found the food to be very good and the service was excellent. Food prices were in line with expectations.

The excellent customer service extends across the parking lot at the Poipu Bay Golf Club where we enjoyed three rounds. It is a beautiful and scenic course that is very playable for higher handicappers while still presenting a nice challenge for those who want to tackle the back tees. I want to go back and try it again when the wind isn't quite so stiff.

Other local gems to not be missed:
Puka Dog - Hawaiian twist on hot dogs at the nearby Poipu Shopping Center
Beach House Restaurant - best meal on the trip (amazing ahi and macadamia mahi mahi)
Brennecke's Restaurant - amazing fish and chips (fresh local Ono)
Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour
Tunnels Beach on the north side is amazing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.