We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Hotel Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Paradise Hotel Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This resort has it all--beautiful rooms, great restaurants, beautiful landscaping and a waterpark. We had lots of fun enjoying the pools and lazy river one day. The view from our lanai each morning was simply breathtaking. And the staff could not be more helpful! We went to the island orientation the first morning and were so glad we did. The recommendations on food were spot on and while we had already planned our activities, the information reinforced our choices and made us want to come back to do more another time. Also loved the location on the island because it was in the middle of everything--halfway between the 2 end points you can drive to and close to lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,495
    691
    205
    83
    42
See reviews for
837
1,746
40
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Love this resort! Clean, beautiful, and accommodating. We look to this resort every year now to provide us an atmosphere to relax and unwind. Staff is always helpful and personable. Grounds are always clean and well kept.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This resort is sincerely exceptional. It is possibly the most beautiful hotel at which I've ever stayed, thanks to the tremendous landscaping and use of the natural landscape. The views are gorgeous, and the pools are simply beyond -- both the lazy river and the salt water lagoon are beautifully, beautifully done (and really fun -- the water slide is legit!). The staff was amazing: INCREDIBLY friendly and helpful, from the bellman to the wait staff at the pool to the valets to the women at the coffee cart (which has perhaps the best view of the ocean ever). The rooms are Hyatt-y, but totally nice, with comfy beds and really good water pressure (the bathrooms are large, and have a separate toilet area, which I like). Even garden rooms have a nice view. Basically, you will never want to leave. I see no reason to stay anywhere else on Kauai. I went with a friend on a girls' trip, but saw tons of honeymooners, little kids, retirees -- very VERY family friendly, yet also still romantic (there's an adults only pool and several hot tubs as well). An unmitigated rave. Also; go to the luau, it's expensive but super fun and the guy who juggles the fire is AMAZING,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been to other Hyatt resorts, but this one stands out. This place is picture perfect, and the upkeep of premise is impeccable.

The Grand Hyatt is 52 acres big next to the golf course. The view is stunning at the lobby. The landscaping is beautiful at every turn. The swimming pool and game room are so much fun, for not just the kids but for the adults as well. The exercise room was very well equipped. We did not get a massage, but the facility seemed nice. Grand Club put out excellent continental breakfast. It is a little weak for the rest of the day.

The concierge desk was adequately staffed. They were patient with our questions. They arranged four activities,we were very satisfied with all four.

This resort is on top of my list for a return visit. Our 13-year-old daughter agrees too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Grand Hyatt on Kauai is a magical place to get away and unwind. The resort is thoughtfully designed and beautifully maintained but it is the people that make it truly special. Everyone we encountered (really, every single staff member) went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and to ensure that we were getting the most out of our stay. From the valets who offered towels and complimentary bottles of water every time we went out to the desk clerk who offered the use of the departure lounge to shower before our evening flight we were constantly impressed by the level of care and attention we received.

We stayed in a Grand Club room and found that the upgrade was well worth it due to the included access to the Grand Club lounge. We took full advantage of the lounge enjoying breakfast every morning (including the high end machine for espresso beverages) and the afternoon snacks, appetizers and (reasonably priced) honor bar.

The one small issue I have is with the outrageous drink prices throughout the resort. I expect to pay a price at a high end resort (particularly poolside) but $14 (everywhere) seems a bit over the top. We enjoyed meals at Tidepools, Seaview Terrace and poolside and found the food to be very good and the service was excellent. Food prices were in line with expectations.

The excellent customer service extends across the parking lot at the Poipu Bay Golf Club where we enjoyed three rounds. It is a beautiful and scenic course that is very playable for higher handicappers while still presenting a nice challenge for those who want to tackle the back tees. I want to go back and try it again when the wind isn't quite so stiff.

Other local gems to not be missed:
Puka Dog - Hawaiian twist on hot dogs at the nearby Poipu Shopping Center
Beach House Restaurant - best meal on the trip (amazing ahi and macadamia mahi mahi)
Brennecke's Restaurant - amazing fish and chips (fresh local Ono)
Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour
Tunnels Beach on the north side is amazing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I go to Kauai a couple of times a year, and this is by far the best place to stay on the South Shore. It's reliably wonderful, and we've been there several times. The facility, views, and staff are all top-notch. Everyone who works there seems like they are truly happy, and many of the employees have been there for several years, which tells me it must be a great place to work, in addition to being a beautiful, impeccably maintained hotel. The workout facilities and Anara Spa are also terrific.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Shipwreck Wing if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early June. We tried to check in early but there was no availability to do so. We had a ground floor room with a garden view that was pretty far from the pool. The room was nice with a comfortable bed, nice linens and good shower pressure. I could see this being a world class resort when it was first built. It is still quite nice but feels a bit older for the top tier prices being charged.

The pool was the main draw of this place as it was the most spectacular resort pool I have ever seen. Tons of seating areas and swimming areas including a slide. If you are coming to Kauai to lay by the pool it would be completely worth paying these prices. If you are more active and plan to explore the island and do outside activities I would save your money and stay elsewhere. As with any nice resort drinks and meals are very expensive as well. Overall we had a wonderful stay but I might try another hotel next time given our vacation lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.