We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation (as always)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family vacation (as always)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Doug has the best staff and the most amazing resort I have ever had the privilege to visit (and I travel the world). This is heaven on Earth and the Customer Service is first and foremost the emphasis at this world class resort! This is our 4th visit and we will be back very soon for our 5th!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Eric G,

We're overjoyed to hear your kind comments about our resort and staff! It's an honor to be noted as a top resort, especially from a world traveler such as yourself. We're thrilled you and your Ohana had an amazing stay, and we can't wait to welcome you back for your fifth visit!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,864
    767
    231
    89
    46
See reviews for
1,039
1,953
46
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem! The landscape, the pools, and the rooms are all paradise. The food was delicious and the staff were extremely helpful! I would have to say that this was absolutely the nicest hotel that I have stayed in! I would recommend this hotel to anyone/everyone! Paradise!!! So romantic:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha penelope431,

Thank you for your recent review and for being our guest. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and honeymoon! Congratulations once again! Mahalo for sharing your warm comments about the resort and our staff; it's great that you enjoyed pools and restaurants around the property. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is just what a large resort hotel should be. What stood out was the high level of service and the pool area. The staff goes above and beyond without hesitation. The pool area was a varied landscape of tiered pools. Our family favorite was the man-made lagoon (a nice touch since the ocean front, while beautiful, is incredibly dangerous surf). Our 2nd room was nice. The first room assigned seemed dark and dingy and moving just next store made all the difference for some reason. We had a pool view room that provided a lovely view of the pools area and a side view of the ocean--really beyond our expectations for that level room. We are going again this September and reserved a deluxe ocean view and hope to be amazed.
The breakfast buffet is really amazing. It came as part of our package. This year it's not included so I'm not sure we'll bear the expense.
Tide Pools Restaurant was wonderful -- ambience, food and service -- all precise and flawless.
We traveled with our 2 year old and the koi fish feeding and parrot talk were very nice activities for him. The majority of guests seemed to be honeymooners and couples. Families less so.
A lot of people note the long walks to anything from the rooms. Except for those with difficulty walking, it was what we would expect for a resort of this size. But I agree that if the pool area is on your agenda several days, the wing on the pool side makes sense.
Overall, beautiful resort. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're happy to hear that you and your Ohana had a wonderful stay with us last year, and even more excited that you will be returning once again this September! Thank you for sharing your warm comments about our staff and the service you received. It's great that your son enjoyed some the wildlife activities, and spent time in the lagoon which is perfect for small children to play. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The facilities were immaculate and beautiful. From the moment we arrived until we left, we experienced excellent service. Staff was very responsive to our every need. I have diabetes and we mentioned at check in that I needed to refrigerate my insulin. When we reached our room, they had already delivered a mini-fridge that was perfect.
I hope we are fortunate enough to come back. It was the best vacation in memory.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Dave G,

Mahalo for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you had an incredible stay, and that your expectations were exceeded! We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the resort. It would be a pleasure to have you join us once again!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt Kauai was everything we could have hoped it would be! The facility offered beautiful views, warm friendly staff and a very comfortable room. This trip was for a special occasion, which was acknowledged by the hotel with a special treat delivered to our room. The staff was exceptional! At the beginning of some evening entertainment, there was a huge downpour, which delayed the show and caused the first few rows of seats in the atrium area to get wet. Staff members got the doors closed, and then quickly got some warm towels for guests to dry off and stay warm, since the temperature had dropped substantially. The show was delightful, with students from a local hula school participating. We absolutely LOVED our stay here, and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Kauai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Beth W,

Thank you for your recent review and for being our guest! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay and fun celebration of your special occasion! Mahalo for your kind words about our staff and the service they provided. It's great that you enjoyed the nightly entertainment and hula show. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, MI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What makes this hotel is the Lobby and pools. The rooms are nice but the hotel pool and facilities and ocean access are what makes this a great hotel. Kauai is pretty and this location is nice since it is on the dry side of the island.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the pools and architecture spectacular! We appreciate your warm comments and thank you for sharing your experience. It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved it, loved it, loved it. What a beautiful place to stay. It is on the pricier side but I cannot fault them at all. Staff were great, restaurants nice food. The hotel was just a great place to relax. Rooms were beautiful and clean. If you ever go to Kauai stay here this is the pick of all the islands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Skybie,

Mahalo for sharing your experience and expressing your Aloha for our resort! We appreciate your kind words about our staff and the service you received. It would be a pleasure to have you join us in the near future!

Warmest Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.