We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just came back very relaxing Hotel....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston SC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just came back very relaxing Hotel....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Was here for 5 nights attending a company event. Everythong was paid for so I ebjoyed it immensely. Could order what ever we wanted when ever we wanted to. Drinks food it was great. Since the orices are $$$$... The hotel is all open to the ocean brezes so can be a little chilly at times. The rooms seem a little dated but ok.. My room was on the first floor on the ocean side so every morni ng I could just walk out and over to the edge to take photos of the sunrise . Sooo beautiful. The workers are very nice but did notice that most are not native Hawians interesting...

Room Tip: we were in 1003 but get use to walking most of rooms require a lot of walking which was ok with me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,203
    612
    182
    77
    36
See reviews for
742
1537
38
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a few Hyatt Hotels and the Grand Hyatt Kauai lives upto and exceeds expectations. From the friendly and warm greetings with traditional Hawaiian bead and floral necklaces when we arrived, right through to the spaceous room and all the great food we had and various activities we undertook, the staff were very efficient and nothing was too much bother. However, in some of the multiple pool areas, when busy the staff did struggle to cope with demmand.

The layout of the pool and swimming areas has been very tastfully and not cluttered as with a lot of other similar resorts, most of all even though the hotel was at a high capacity, the different pool as well as the sea water lagoon (not the beach because strong currents and waves advised against actual sea swimming), were all laid out well and the entire complex fitted in with the surrounding landscape. The various restaurants on site provided a good selection of their individual country dishes. The variety of activities were all managed very efficiently thro the many activity desks both in the main reception and down by the pools. As an example, and because I scuba, the Seasport guys were recommended by one member of the concierge team, with easy access to good nearby reefs from a well equipped boat. Offering visual sightings of the continual migrating humped back whales, both mothers for calving and males for the breading season.

The resort occupies some 50 acres, which is very well spread out providing excellent ocean / garden fronted views. Although you would expect to pay a little extra for the quality, I feel it would warrant another visit in a few years time.

Mahalo ....

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha JJ Whitmore,
It's nice to hear that our resort exceeded your expectations. Nice to hear you were able to do a dive with Seasport as well. We hope to see you and the family back again sometime.
A hui hou, Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Others have said it but worth re emphasizing. It is really expensive to stay here. Sadly that's not the end of the cost. Everything is expensive. For example breakfast from the cafe that included fruit a sandwich and a coffee -$30. Just seems a little steep and since the location is not near much you are locked in
Service and facilities are nice. The spa like everything is pricey but if you are here find out what free classes are being offered and try them out
Beds were really comfortable
Pools are nice but again food and drinks expensive.
Overall loved the place but not sure that the cost was justified
Lower grade for location because of isolation making for lack of choice for food etc

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha DrNic1,
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of the drink specials at our rotating happy hours where it's nearly always happy hour at one of our bars or restaurants. Also glad you were able to enjoy some of our fitness and yoga classes offered for guests.
Aloha, Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is everything almost all the other reviewers have said it is. But some might find the $400+ a night rates a little steep for their budgets. This is just to make the point that you don't actually have to stay there to enjoy many of the hotel's wonderful features. Though staying in a fine, but less expensive, place nearby in Poipou (a condo at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation), we visited the hotel several times to enjoy the public spaces and amenities open to anyone. For example, one day lunch at the Yum Cha restaurant in the Poipu Golf Course Clubhouse. Delicious Korean specialities and not that expensive. Saturday evenings on the Terrace (from about 6 to 8) they offer a delightful Hawaiian themed show with singing and dancing. The drinks may be a tad pricey but are large and tasty as is the quesadilla. Then there is just strolling the magnificently designed gardens with pools, lagoons, beaches and play areas ending up overlooking it all with a drink and a hugely loaded plate of nachos ($12) at the Captain's Bar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Vvmjr,
Thank you for appreciating the beauty of our grounds and recognizing the many amenities there are to be enjoyed. You're right, it's a great place to come for a meal and enjoy the view. A cocktail and snack with live Hawaiian music at Seaview at sunset is a great way to wrap up the day. The one thing you can't do unless you are a guest though is enjoy our water wonderland with saltwater lagoon, quiet adult pool, lazy-river pool & more.
Hope to see you again. Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in early September as it was the official hotel of the Kauai marathon. The hotel was pricey but my parents, myself and small son loved the hotel and the location. I upgraded to a CLub level room which came with a nice breakfast, snacks and drinks during the day, appetizers in the late afternoon and cocktails. We found that we only needed to eat lunch out most days. The view from the room was lovely. The hotel is HUGE so be prepared. It is actually possible to get lost I think but the staff are all very helpful and nice. I used the spa after the marathon and LOVED it! I had one of the best massages of my life in an outdoor cabana. My son is 4 and he enjoyed the Camp Hyatt one day. They toured the hotel's organic garden and ate lettuce, made a petroglyph card and just generally had a great time. There is a coffee place near the lobby if you are a coffee addict and you have to try the Coconut Mocha! Wow... like drinking a Mounds bar!

Room Tip: Pick a room in the Club wing, it overlooks the grounds where the luau is held. You can watch from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Geogrrl,
Wow, sounds like you had a great stay at the resort. I'm so glad you took advantage of the spa's post marathon specials, I'm sure it helped your muscles recover. You're right, Grand Club is a great option for families and people that might like to eat light throughout the day saving for a fabulous dinner our. Nice to hear your son enjoyed Camp Hyatt - it's a fun way to spend the day.
Hope to see you again sometime, Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were here for our Honeymoon in October and could not have been more impressed! From a lei greeting a check in to a gorgeous Ocean Front room, our entire stay was amazing. All honeymoon couples get 15% off at the spa and a free cabana for the day, both of which we took advantage of. I highly recommend the couples massage, as the spa is great! The only downfall is if you are staying on the opposite end of the hotel you have a far walk back to your room.

Breakfast was included in our package, we tried the buffet but preferred using our breakfast credit at the golf course restaurant instead. It is much less crowded and the food was great! I would also recommend eating at Tidepools, the setting is very romantic and the food was great.

Overall this is a great resort and was an amazing honeymoon!

Room Tip: Ocean Front or Ocean View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Krissy M,
Thank you for choosing to share your honeymoon with us. I'm so glad to hear you took advantage of our honeymoon specials at the spa and poolside. I too agree, breakfast at Poipu Bay Clubhouse is great! Hope to see you for an anniversary sometime.
Aloha, Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel: fabulously beautiful, meticulously landscaped and maintained grounds, with a huge salt water lagoon stye pool; friendly staff members who seem to really care about each guest's needs and requests; great, soft sand beach; and a very comfortable room spotlessly cleaned each day. Really impressed by it all! Had a wonderful week; can't wait to come back next year, if we can.

Besides the many lounge chairs, there were a variety of comfy, cozy spots to hang out, thoughtfully arrayed in scenic spots by the ocean: swinging seats, hammocks, benches...all great places to see the sunrise/sunset; look for humpback whales (tons of 'em in winter!); and just watch the surf.

Had an amazing couples massage at the Anara Spa: totally fabulous and memorable, albeit expensive, but hey, it was worth it! Also, enjoyed dinner at Yum Cha and sushi and cocktails on the patio at Stevenson's Library (plus the live nightly music). Also liked the variety of classes in the Fitness Center - even tried Meditation!

Only tiny quibble: need new enforced rules to restrict children under the age of say, 12, to stay out of the hot tubs (which are great otherwise). Little kids were using them as their swimming pools, jumping in from the surrounding rocks. Very dangerous for them, and no parents in sight. Best left for us adults!!!

Room Tip: Large variety of room locations...ask specifically about the view. We had an ocean-front with a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKauai, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha LoveThatView,
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear you visited our spa, enjoyed Yum Cha and sushi and music at Stevensons. The flavor combinations on the sushi rolls are so creative and delicious. Thank you also for the news of kids jumping off the rocks into the spas. I know the Recreation Attendants say "Don't jump off the rocks" many times a day, but we'll remind them to keep an eye on the jacuzzis.
Enjoy your day, Diann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.