We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush, perfectly landscaped resort in sunny Poipu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lush, perfectly landscaped resort in sunny Poipu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Of all the hotels on Kauai, the Hyatt does the best job of creating the lush, tropical playground that most people imagine when they think of Hawaii. The resort's highlight is definitely its pools and gardens -- several acres of winding pools and lounge chairs surrounded by dense tropical foliage and, at night, tiki torches in every direction. The spa used to be one of the best on the island but now seems tired and in need of a renovation, but the two marquis restaurants -- Dondero's for Italian and Tidepools for fish -- are both as good as ever. Tidepools is my favorite restaurant on Kauai in part because the food and service are great, but mostly because of the setting -- wooden platforms in the the midst of a tiki torch-lit lagoon.If you're looking for a lush, troplical resort vacation, you can't do much better than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay, and enjoyed the well manicured grounds of the resort! It is great that you were pleased with Tidepools and Dondero's as well. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warmest Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,557
    703
    210
    83
    42
See reviews for
872
1,782
41
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I got married in Kauai in May 2012 and stayed at the Grand Hyatt. Our stay was wonderful! We had a great room with a balcony that overlooked the ocean/pool area, beautiful! The hotel had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived, which was lovely. Very convenient having the multiple restaurants in the resort, as well as the convenience shops downstairs. The room was very clean and housekeeping was very responsive in any requests we had each day.

My only complaint is about the room service. As I was getting ready for my wedding in my room, I ordered a couple bottles of wine, only to have room service call me back TWICE to say they didn't have my two choices available, and this was after about a 45 minute wait! Word to the wise - wine/beer is sold at one of the stores downstairs at a fraction of the price. So if you can take the elevator down, you'll save about 200% ( found that out after my experience). Overall though, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I would request a room closer to the pool area if you plan on utilizing it. The entire resort is VER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Top Contributor
627 reviews 627 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Was at a meeting and this was where we all stayed. Rooms are large and quite comfortable. Meeting spaces for conferences were ample and not too cold. Only real criticism was the food served during the conference and at conference sponsored events... Mediocre for the most part, limited selection, food lukewarm or cold, and little variety. However, since one does not come here for the food, the facility is beautiful and a nice spot for a vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is the perfect setting for a hotel in Kauai. Everything is so hawaiian just like you would dream of before you planned you vacation. I think everyone needs to see hawaii at least once and this is where they should spend a few days

Room Tip: This is a very large resort so you need to decide if you want peace and have to walk a ways or be by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for being our guest. We are happy to hear you had a great stay! We too agree that Kauai's classic Hawaiian feel and charm is not to be missed. We hope to welcome you back for another escape to paradise soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great white north
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This ties with my honeymoon in London?Paris as one of the greatest trip I have ever taken. We actually went in 2010 but I can imagine it's still the same. Kauai is an amazing island and I'd go back in a heartbeat if I could.Poipu is on the south shore which can have kinder weather and smoother seas. But we did get pounded on by the waves when we went out. Thank God for the salt lagoon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are overjoyed to hear that your Kauai vacation was one of the best you've experienced! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back to the Garden Isle soon!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again),
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a little nervous booking such a large resort as I typically prefer something a little smaller and more intimate. However, I was so pleasantly surprised by this property. The grounds were absolutely stunning. While you can't really swim at the beach because the surf is rough, the pools were fantastic (there were several really cool free form pools including a lagoon, adult only pool, and great hot tubs throughout). The beach was perfect for enjoying sunset and taking a beautiful walk. The room was a bit basic but very clean and nice size with a great view (we had partial ocean view which was terrific and not far at all from the lobby) and had a fantastic and HUGE bathroom. The location itself is terrific. On the sunny side of the island and near some great restaurants (we loved the beach house, dolphin for sushi, and plantation gardens - all very close to the hotel). The golf course attached to the hotel (Poipu Bay golf course) was beautiful but make sure to bring a collared shirt (both men and women) even if you just plan on going to the driving range. The tennis courts were quite nice and if you don't feel like dragging all your gear you can borrow a racket (they had several to choose from) for just $5 and there is was no charge to use the courts but did need to call earlier in the day to reserve. All in all, this is a fantastic hotel and doesn't feel like being at a massive resort. A perfect couples getaway!!

Room Tip: If you prefer the quieter side ask for the Poipu section but make sure to ask that you be not super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is a tropical beauty. The attention to detail, the quality of the staff and the location made for a great visit. The restaurants beautifully designed. The only disappointment was the lack of a gourmet restaurant. The indoor/outdoor public areas are very spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in a room that overlooked the pool area to the ocean. It was surprisingly quiet and sparkled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your warm comments about our staff and the service they provided. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another "Kauai Treat"!

Warmest Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.