We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service - Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service - Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

First time in Hawaii and we have just arrived home from our 10 day stay in this lovely place and hope this will be helpful for those trying to decide on a place to stay. The staff at the Grand Hyatt Kauai couldn't have been better and our room was just beautiful - we had a deluxe ocean view with a view over the pools which was luxurious, private and very quiet. We felt like we were the only ones on the floor. From the front desk, to the concierge, to the bar and restaurant staff we were most impressed with the friendly and professional way in which they treat their guests. The place itself is a huge 52 acre property so be prepared to walk everywhere (which suited us well) and its not hard with the breathtaking views! Fantastic facilities and wonderful service will get us back hopefully very soon!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Ocean View was well worth the money and gave us a lovely balcony with a view to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,355
    655
    195
    81
    37
See reviews for
783
1,663
40
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel had everything you could want on a vacation in paradise.
The room was lovely with a big bathroom. Even the toiletries supplied were
wonderful.
The pools were super with a "lazy river" meandering from the top adults only pool to the
bigger pool below. I even tried the water slide. Fun!
The buffet breakfast was yummy and the on site dinner restaurants were tops.
Many honeymooners were and I could see why. It's a very romantic spot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I knew that we wanted to travel to Hawai'i. We planned our trip for Thanksgiving week. We just had to decide which island we were going to visit. Neither one of us had been to Hawai'i before, so I started going through combinations of islands and hotels. After an active trip to Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon, we wanted something a bit more relaxing. We also made no plans to rent a car, so wherever we stayed would have to be a self-sufficient location. Since Hawai'i may not be on our radar again for a few years, we did want this to be special trip and would not spare any expense. Many of the Four Seasons hotels on the other islands looked fabulous but also quite expensive. The St. Regis in Princeville looked tempting as well, but we ended up going with the Grand Hyatt Kaua'i, partly because it was little bit less expensive (but still expensive), partly because the online pictures seemed to capture the Hawaiian look that we were going for, and partly because Kaua'i seemed more laid back than Oahu or Maui. And good reviews on TripAdvisor did not hurt.

So, how was our stay? Since we had no car, we reserved to-and-from van transportation from the airport to the hotel (Speedi Shuttle). Although I had provided the confusing airline information for the shuttle service, our driver did find us (which was good because we arrived in Lihue after 11pm). Upon arriving at the hotel, we received a lei greeting (which was wonderful since I had been too cheap to book one separately upon arriving at the airport - I figured if the lei greeting is a typical welcoming ceremony, I should not pay separately for my own greeting).

We had reserved our partial oceanview room well in advance to get the early bird savings. The partial oceanview (really a full view from our lanai/balcony) was well worth the extra bucks. On a couple of days I spent an hour or two sitting on the lanai, in the shade, reading my book, while enjoying the view of the hotel garden and the ocean. The room was perfect for us with a standing shower, instead of tub, which we prefer. Two sinks for him and her. The mattress on our bed was probably a bit too soft, as we are used to more firm mattresses at home. Of course, aside from sleeping, showering, and the occasional lounging on the balcony, we did not spend much time in our room.

We did a few things outside the hotel, including small tour through Outfitter Kauai, walking over to Poipu for lunch, and hiking down the coastline. The walk to Poipu is just over a mile but seems longer in the heat, and there is no sidewalk to speak of. In that sense, a car would have been nice, if we had wanted to see more of the island, such as driving to the north shore. However, the Grand Hyatt resort is pretty self-contained. We took full advantage of the pools, the salt water lagoon, the restaurants, and the shops. In addition to the fixed shops, every day artesans would bring their crafts for show and for sale near the hotel lobby; some of these made for perfect souvenirs. We spent a lot of time walking around the hotel, the grounds, including over to the Poipu Bay golf course and Shipwreck Beach located adjacent to the hotel. Poipu Beach Park is the more popular beach in the area for swimming and for families, but Shipwreck Beach, in my opinion, is more picturesque. Most of the beach has too much reef to allow for any swimming, plus the waves are too choppy for any swimming, although this was a prime location for surfers. However, the beach was still good for sunbathing and not nearly has packed as Poipu Beach Park.

The food at the hotel is somewhat pricy, but that really should be expected. There are small convenience stores at the hotel, however, if you want to stock your refridgerator with less expensive drinks. [Actually, the fact that the room refridgerator is empty for guest use rather than stocked with expensive items was a really nice touch.] The Seaview Terrace is great for small meals, either breakfast or early dinner, and Tidepools is a signature restaurant not just at the hotel but on Kaua'i. We also enjoyed meal service while lounging at the pool, and the Ilima Terrace offers an all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast, if that is your thing. We did try the buffet once; the selection is great, but it's a lot of food and relatively expensive. Since this was our first trip to Hawai'i, we also took part in the lu'au organized at the hotel. It was a wonderful polynesian revue with a nice evening buffet dinner. Definitely recommended.

We did not even take advantage of everything the hotel has to offer, such as the spa (we thought about it but felt like we had already done enough) or the golf course. The hotel offers something for everyone. A lot of families had come to stay with their children, yet for the most part, the kids and their shenanigans did not ruin our peace and quiet.

Ultimately my favorite part of the visit was simply walking around the hotel and its gardens. By the end of the trip I had the various hotel views burned firmly into my memory, and I will fondly remember my visit for years to come. If you can afford it, I strongly recommend staying at the Grand Hyatt.

Room Tip: Rooms with a partial or full oceanview are desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel on Kauai with great food and view, this is it. You have no problem in seeing the nice sunset sitting at the Seaview Terrace and have a beer at the same time. The room is clean and comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly. The grounds are kept immaculate and clean; the grass is kept to golf course standard. Try lunch at the golf course club house, food is great, service excellent and the view over the course and the distant view of the mountain is picture perfect. I had dinner at the Tidepools Restaurant, the food is excellent.

Room Tip: You do not have to pay a higher price and get a room facing the ocean, the hotel is at the beach fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We asked our travel agent to book us in a nice, but not over the top hotel. This place is a huge village. You can get lost just trying to follow the curving, intermingling paths from the hotel to the ocean. We did have a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the tide pools, gardens and glimpses of the ocean. Don't get me wrong; you will not want for anything - they will take care of your every need, even before you know you need it.
We got the breakfast buffet package, otherwise it would be $62 for two. It must be the best breakfast buffet in the world: fresh lichis (I never had them before - awesome) and other tropical fruits; every morning there was a different kind of benedict; greek yogurt and delicious bread pudding!
The hotel is an extra-sensory experience. Everywhere you look there is some wonderful thing happening ... music, singers, artists, shops, dancers, birds, plants, water pools ... whew!
All we wanted was a romantic get-away on this lush island; to walk on the beach hand-in-hand in quiet simplicity. We didn't find it here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt In Kauai for the 3rd time during the Dec 31 2012 to Jan 4 2013 time frame. We first stayed here almost 20 years ago and the rooms, and grounds have been well maintained over the years. The property has excellent restaurants, pools. common areas and a world class spa. One issue for some may be the distance from the lobby to some of the rooms. We stayed in room 6007 in the Poipu wing with access to the Grand Club. The walk from both the self service parking lot felt like it was a mile. Another issue with the placement of the room was there was no elevator service in the proximity of the room and we had to walk up at least 3 flights of stair to our room. Second issue is I paid over $700.00 a night for the club room, but had to pay an additional amount to have a drink in the club. Most of the 4 and 5 star hotels I have stayed in provide an open bar with no upcharge in their clubs. Also 5 star hotels have complete turn down service including slippers and a cloth or rug placed next to the bed at night. The turn down service which has to be requested here only includes the removal of extra bed pillows, the top sheet folded over and an orchid placed on the bed with a couple of mints. Soap in the bathroom was only replaced once during our 4 night stay. With the housekeeping limitations I can only award a 4 star for this property, that does have 5 star potential.

Room Tip: The resort is adjacent to the Poipu Golf Course. My preference for breakfast is the Golf Course res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the first week of January and I must say it now ranks among our favorite hotels of all time. There was a major conference going on at the time, so I assume the resort was near 100% capacity. And yet, it never seemed the least bit overcrowded. Multiple pools and a man-made lagoon offer ample sunbathing opportunities.

The grounds are amazing. The common areas of the hotel are spectacular. Breathtaking views everywhere you turn. Incredibly responsive and well-staffed concierge desk. They sold several problems and got several "unavailable" reservations at local restaurants for us during our stay.

About the only "complaint" I can think of is the sheer size of the place. Our oceanview room -- fabulous though it was that was --was located at the absolute farthest end of the south wing of the hotel. It was easily a 5- to 10-minute walk back to the lobby, longer still if you were going to the pool. Just be prepared for quite a hike upon check-in, depending on where your room is.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.