We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on Kauai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best hotel on Kauai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the opportunity for a six night stay at this wonderful hotel. The grounds are kept up beautifully and the staff is all very nice and professional. The rooms are very clean and the bed was comfortable. We really enjoyed the nightly happy hour at seaview terrace which overlooks the entire grounds and the Pacific Ocean. We saw humpback whales go by 4 out of 6 nights with 2 of the whales breaching! They have yummy things to eat except I didn't care for the paniola pizza. The quesadillas were good though. The fruit plate is also very refreshing. And we want to thank Tanya for being such a wonderful server while we there. They have live music, usually a solo guitarist doing Hawaiian music. We got the extra treat of having Christmas songs. So much more to say but if you like to be spoiled then this is the place to venture. Also would recommend coming after thanksgiving and two weeks before Christmas. Rates are good and the whales are in town until March or so. Hyatt Hospitality is the best.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,869
    770
    231
    89
    46
See reviews for
1,046
1,953
46
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Since this was my first trip to Hawaii I have no other hotels in Kauai to compare this to, however, this was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. The pools, property, and beaches were beautiful! There are so many pools and places to sit at that at times it felt as if you were at you're own personal pool. And the pools and jacuzzis are opened 24 hrs! The staff was extremely friendly and everything was clean. Although the hotel initial seems big and confusing, it is extremely easy to figure out where you are going and it is very enjoyable to walk on the property with such beautiful scenery. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed the first week of December. We were in a spectacular deluxe ocean view room. Large rooms with nice large walk-in shower. The hotel is well layed out with plenty of walking!!!! Our package included the breakfast buffet and access to the spa. Anara spa was soooo relaxing and the attendants did a great job remembering your name making every effort to ensure privacy and relaxation. The lava showers were the ultimate!!!!
The pool area is so large and never felt busy. The chairs were so comfy that we never wanted to leave. Lush landscape everywhere and so well maintained. We enjoyed happy hour at the sea view terrace. Beautiful views not to be missed.
We had the breakfast buffet and definitely recommend it. There was a large selection every day!!! The best sunset was at the beach house restaurant. The dinner was good too, but the dessert was out of this world-bananas foster- to die for :)))).
We truly had a wonderful anniversary at the Hyatt. It was our favorite hotel on all of the Hawaiian islands. Every single employee we encountered would do anything to make our stay perfect!!! You will not regret staying here!!! We can't wait to go back!!!!!'n

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The Grand Hyatt made our first trip to Kauai an enjoyable one. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. I did not encounter one rude worker. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The views are amazing. The pool area awesome. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent seven nights at the Grand for our first trip to Kauai. Looked a multiple different options before booking and it was the best decision of the trip to book here. The moment we arrived we were greeted by wonderful staff. We especially have to talk about Malaika at the front desk, she was outstanding and literally elevated the trip for us. She placed us in a wonderful room, recognized our anniversary with a bottle of champagne and answered all our questions throughout our stay, we would specifically ask for her whenever dealing with front desk. The hotel has beautiful grounds, great beach access, wonderful views, great restaurants. Stevensons Library is a great place to relax after a day in the sun. The rooms are large, well appointed and kept very clean. Overall we had a wonderful time and we would definitely go back (actually planning the next trip already!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We loved our stay here, our second time. The pools are so fun, the lagoon and beach as well. Such a great staff, especially Victor that greeted us daily and showed true aloha spirit and genuine friendliness. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in July 2012. This place is so amazing, beautiful, and accommodating! We bought a package that included daily breakfast and I highly recommend this, it is very worth it--breakfast is not just bagels and fruit. It's an actual breakfast buffet with tons of selections! We stayed in an ocean view room and it was so worth the extra money! The view was spectacular! We sat on the Lanai every night and enjoyed falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean waves!!!! The hotel itself is gorgeous with great local vendors daily, fantastic pools, restaurants, all employees were friendly and very accommodating, gift shops, property is beautiful, Shipwreck beach is phenomenal. I cannot say enough good things about the Grandy Hyatt!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.