We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Awesome place. Well worth the money. Excellent all around. Even like the stores. So very well maintained and clean. Pools fun - ocean a few steps away. Very picturesque. And the Asian restaurant was outstanding. Best Asian food we have ever had. Pricey, yes. But so is all food in Hawaii. Appetizers were different than we usually get -- but are we glad we got out of our comfort zone. Awesome!

Room Tip: We had ocean view -- loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,201
    609
    182
    77
    36
See reviews for
740
1535
38
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Kauai is beautiful and the parts of this hotel that highlight the natural beauty of the area are stunning. Not that it's a bad thing, but if you are into resorts that feel like Disney, Vegas, cruise ship destinations and you enjoy the comforts of suburbia, clearly they are gearing themselves to you. If you are interested in the local culture, beauty, care about local and delicious food, this is probably not worth the $$.

More specifically:
The front desk staff was fantastic. She made us feel welcomed and got us into a room quickly. The honeymoon perks she threw in were very nice.
In fact, all the staff of the Hyatt were friendly, helpful and seemed really proud of their work.
The beach towels and water bottles were wonderful, and the staff out front were very helpful.
I also personally enjoyed quiet mornings in what I think is called the Seebreeze lounge. The breakfast items there were reasonably priced and I loved the quiet and the view. It was spectacular.

There were three main negative things, in our opinion.
1) We were appalled by the quality of the food. Undercooked risotto? Overcooked fish? We expected menus that would highlight local seafood, and tropical fruit. We felt like were were loosing our minds when we heard many other guests raving about the food. More GOOD vegetarian options would have been appreciated. After the first day, we stopped eating in the hotel and found awesome vegetarian friendly food elsewhere.
2) Our room was not very private. We couldn't leave our blinds open; we could see folks walking by.
3) The concierge service was terrible, compared to other Hyatts we've stayed at. The oddest and most upsetting incident to us was when we asked about local farmers markets and one of the concierge women tried to dissuade us from going, saying that we would overpay for fruits and vegetables. Isn't Hawaii supposed to be know for its produce? Isn't it good for tourists to support local farmers? She begrudgingly printed something from the internet we could have printed ourselves. The other problem with the concierge is that they kept pushing the same lame 10 tourist activities. They told us a few times that they don't know much about other activities or the north of the island, because most of their clients want to stay near that hotel. Again, they would just go to websites or call various places to get info we could have gotten ourselves.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor if you can help it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We really like this resort. The facilities are outstanding. If you want to lay by the pool there are many choices. Our room is extremely comfortable. We enjoyed our dinner and my wife enjoyed playing golf.
We have visited Hawaii over 20 times. We have stayed on Oahu, Maui, Hawaii, Kauai and Lanai. We like this Grand Hyatt more than other hotels on the other islands.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned from a six night trip at the Grand Hyatt Kauai and the resort was a dream! I have never been so blown away by the beauty of the grounds and the helpfulness of the staff at a hotel before. We stayed in an ocean front room and let me tell you, it is worth the extra money! The views we had were fantastic. We were on the ground floor and were able to walk right out to the beach whenever there was a good sunrise/sunset we wanted to capture in a picture.

The food is some of the best on the island, as long as you know where to go. Tidepools and Donderos are the two favorites. We enjoyed Mahi Mahi and Filet at Tidepools and they were both excellent. At Donderos, it was the same story. I would steer clear of Yum Cha - the food there was very mediocre at best.

We visited the other resorts on Kauai to get a perspective and in my opinion, this is by far the most luxurious and beautifully landscaped resort on the island. It brought the whole experience of the trip to a new level. If you are questioning this or another property, this is the way to go!

Keep up the great service, Hyatt! We were well taken care of everywhere we went and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: An ocean view is worth the extra money! Also, try to get something on the ground floor so you can w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We planned our Kauai trip 8 months in advance so you can imagine our anticipation. From the minute you walk into the lobby with a grand view of the Pacific Ocean, the sound of the birds and the many "aloha" greetings you are transported to paradise. We worked with Lorraine Wichman, concierge for all those months and she was tremendous. Offering great recommendations and then organizing all the reservations for our group of 11 for the week. We chose an ocean view room but others had partial ocean views and all were beautiful. I do think we had a great location on the 3rd floor near the "Club" room (well worth the upgrade for the breakfast alone and see Helen when you are there because she is so welcoming), near the Spa (must do the aroma therapy massage with Anne from Wisconsin) and near the gym. But you may want to be closer to their amazing pool, tennis or golf course. We had a wonderful meal at Donderos and our special event gathering was at Tidepools. Again, I worked with Chef Ken and manager Andres for months on our special wine and food pairing meal at Tidepools. They even advised me to fly in my special champagne and they would charge a corkage and it would be much less expensive. The special strawberry shortcake was THE BEST! We reserved 2 large cabanas for our group and "Andy" the man in charge of recreation made sure all was well. The property is a garden paradise and it is well laid out that it never feels crowded or hectic. There is no rushing to reserve your spot at the pool. And even though the beach at the Hyatt had a "red flag" warning you can walk a few feet to a public beach and venture in if you want and I did! The waves were fun but exhausting. They were very accommodating with our check-out and though we could not have a late check-out they hold your bags and the folks at the spa welcome you for showers and changing. I will be back and I highly recommend. Mahalo to all at the Grand Hyatt.

Room Tip: For me the good room was on 3rd floor near "club" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This resort is beautiful, and the customer service is beyond expectations. We arrived during a tsunami warning, and the crew was very helpful and even brought around sandwiches and water for guests evacuated to upper levels. They worked right through the chaos. The grounds were breathtaking, with many different pools and spots to relax in. For the best views, hike the Heritage Trail (see concierge). It's a great place for honeymooners--don't forget to mention you're on your honeymoon because they have a nice package including a free cabana, discounts at the spa, and a free bottle of champagne! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a garden room, and with the little amount spent in the room on a tropical vacation to Hawaii...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha SharonMDK,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had an amazing honeymoon, and enjoyed the special added amenities. Mahalo for also recognizing our staff and their diligence during the tsunami warning. Our goal is to ensure the comfort and safety of our guests during an unexpected occurrence.

It is great that you experienced hiking the heritage trail, which boasts stunning views of the coastline. Be sure to visit during whale watching season (Dec-Apr), this hike is especially famous for many sightings whales playing and breaching.

Mahalo again and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Hyatt Grand Kauai, overall, was a really great place to be. It had lots of options for eating, dininng and relaxation, but you have to be early and quick. If you don't get to the pool area by at least 9:00, all the decent spots are either taken or marked. Dining was awesome and the restaurant variety is just great. Left the sliding glass door open at night and hearing ocean was terrific. Only complaint we have may be that the resort is actually too big and has way too large an occupancy. Gloria, the wife, and I were only able to spend one morning poolside out of a whole week we were there, way too crowded and kids everywhere. The staff at the resort was SUPERB and treated you like royalty. If you have kids this would be a great place to go...

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor, facing southeast and it was just great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.