We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Linden, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I loved the hotel. The room was clean and the view was quite peaceful..There were nice shops to buy gifts. I liked the spa treatment I received. The food at the in-hotel restaurants was really good. The staff was awesome, especially the concierges(Natalie was the best!)

The hotel surround was so beautiful. The pool area is very unique; there were goldfish in the pools;tranquil waterfalls. . I especially enjoyed walking the 2 mile trail on the ocean side.

I would definitely stay at the resort again if I come back to Kauai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,103
    592
    177
    73
    35
See reviews for
685
1482
38
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We travel for a living and found this hotel over the top in quality of property, service and spa services. We are afraid my wife won't leave after our week here. The property has everything for individuals, couples and families. The only question when to come back. This should be on your bucket list.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for your kind comments about your experience at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa! We appreciate recommendations by guests, and are thrilled to be highly noted from world travelers such as yourselves. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort and Anara Spa, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Aloha and A Hui Hou,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The good:

1) Our suite was fantastic affording an excellent ocean view from the 6th floor, a comfortable bed as well as a spacious bathroom and living room.

2) The Hyatt club was also very good when traveling with young children as it affords quick and easy access to breakfast, drinks and snacks. The staff members at the club were excellent. There are even trays and disposable plates and cups available to bring breakfast back to your room.

3) The pool and salt-water lagoon are large and inviting. Their size prevents either from feeling crowded despite the size of the hotel.

4) Internet access is complimentary and fast. While previous comments and information from the hotel suggested there might be a change this wasn’t the case for us.

5) There are complimentary washer and dryers for guest use – very helpful when traveling with children who are apt to spill the food and drinks you carry back from the lounge on the provided trays.

6) The staff members at the kids club were also very friendly and accommodating.

The challenges:

1) The hotel is very large. From where our room was it took almost 10 minutes to make our way to the pool when you included waiting for elevators and walking the entire length of the hotel. Walking from our room to the washer and dryers, which were in the same wing but on a different floor, took about 5 minutes in each direction. By the time you walk back and forth a few times to do laundry you can skip the fitness club. No doubt these are first world problems be aware and consider making a request for a room close to whatever facilities you expect to frequent.

2) The beach at the hotel has very strong waves. There were plenty of people surfing and wading in up to their knees but anything in between these activities may turn you into an involuntary surfer. There was a red warning flag up every day of our stay.

Room Tip: As the hotel is very large, request a room close to facilities you plan to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Two adjoining rooms on the club level one for parents and the other for our two kids. Club level was a great value as breakfast and afternoon snacks are included.

Kids absolutely love this place. It has a large light-saltwater lagoon to frolic in and kayak and snorkel rentals. Also has a great water slide and lazy river so plenty of exploration and adventure for the kids.

Service was excellent generally, very friendly and happy staff and the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.

If possible, be sure to explore the path next to the beach. To the left is a trail to a big rock, past which are great coastal views. To the right walk past the point around to the second cove below the point marker. My son and I saw a family of sea turtles playing and rolling in the surf there. Killer.

Room Tip: Sixth floor in the Poipu wing. 6018-ish close to the large suites that are rarely occupied. Specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are happy to hear you and your Ohana (family) had a wonderful stay! The Club level is a great value for families, as you have experienced. We're glad your kids enjoyed the many activities at the resort, and that you also spotted some Sea Turtles on the coast! We hope to welcome you all back for more adventures!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently returned from staying here for our honeymoon. It is the best hotel me or my husband have ever stayed in. The service and attention to detail were exceptional. It was great value for money, even though it is expensive, it was worth every penny.
The staff were very helpful, friendly, attentive, without being over the top, accessible, willing and very capable, obviously well trained and they all seemed to want to do their job and enjoyed it. Even if staff were put out you were never made to feel like an inconvenience.

The pool is incredible, its huge, with lots of different areas so it never felt crowded, there was plenty of seating, and the pool staff were attentive and helpful and never very far away.

The hotel itself was delightful, very large but well laid out so it felt much smaller and intimate than we expected. It was very clean and well designed, and they utilized the spaces very well, including hosting a weekly Luau in another part of the hotel each week.

There is a daily $25 'resort fee', which seems to get a bad wrap, however we found greta benefits such as 'free' WiFi every day, all over the hotel, and as far as we know we were not charged for valet parking. Other hotel charged $45 a day for the equivalent, so I think this is reasonable.

The onsite Concierge, Maren, was amazing! She booked all our activities, advised us well, gave us top tips on other 'non-tourist' things to do, was friendly and very efficient. She even gave us driving directions to each location with the time we had to leave the hotel each day (this meant we didn't have to think which is exactly what you need after a wedding.....did too much thinking planning the wedding - I needed the break!) I had never used a concierge before, although my husband had, but I am a convert and will use them all the time in the future!

We ate at Tidepools restaurant one evening, the food was spectacular, well worth the money! The server was very attentive, had a great knowledge of the menu and accompanying wines, was friendly and helpful. Again this confirmed our experience across the whole hotel, very consistent staff.

Our package included breakfast everyday, we could eat in the buffet or at the neighboring golf course (also owned by Grand Hyatt). Both breakfasts were incredible. We ate at the buffet most mornings, the food selection was excellent, very fresh and tasted great. You could order off menu too, and there was an omelette station where you could custom order omelettes. More than enough food and again the service was exceptional.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, with exceptional service and attention to detail - book this one - you will not be disappointed. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We god upgraded to a pool view room - amazing - it looks over the pool and the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing honeymoon on Kauai, and congratulations again on your recent nuptials! It sounds like you experienced much of what our resort and Kauai offer; a great way to spend your time by relaxing some days at the pool and exploring the island on the others. Thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience here, and for also recognizing our staff for their service, especially Maren. We will be sure to share this with her respective managers and their team. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back, maybe for an anniversary trip?

Until then Mahalo and A Hui Hou,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on a conference (with commensurate conference rate). It is located about 35 minutes from Lihue airport and easy to find even at night. The welcome is a low key and the desk staff professional and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room #5003 which was quite a long walk from the lobby but it suited us fine. Impressive grounds.

Good things: great pool area. Plenty of space and they have a water slide! Excellent gym facilities although the complimentary headphones are rubbish. The rooms are on the old side but function well enough. The bathrooms are quite fancy. Wifi included in the resort fee. Massive lobby.

Bad things: the ilana terrace breakfast buffet. Crowded, limited food selection and small birds constantly trying to pick things off your plate the moment your back is turned. Seaview Terrace had terrible service at breakfast. Don't bother. The porterage fee of $9++ when arriving and leaving. I presume this means that no tips are required?? The cabanas and covered beds by the pool and the beach are $100 and $50 respectively. Huh?

The conference facilities are excellent.

Some shops to cater for those who don't want to leave the resort at all.

Overall a great place to relax. I would suggest don't bother eating any meals at the resort; head out, there are great places in Koloa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are glad you had a nice stay and excellent conference! It's great that you enjoyed the resort amenities such as the pools, water-slide, and fitness center during your time here. Thank you for also providing additional feedback about the outlets which will be shared among our management team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Mahalo and A Hui Hou,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beautiful location and property, for sure, with wonderful staff. I know this may sound like I'm unclear on the concept, but can a place be too laid-back? Pools great. Restaurants great. Beach great. After two days, looking for something to do. Drove to the Waimea canyon. Spectacular. Drove to the waterfalls. Not so much.
Then what? Back to the pools and the beach. So, the lesson is this: If you want to spend days in the water and go out to dinner, it's great, but if you want any kind of variety to break up that routine, the Poipu region offers very little. We had looked forward to the promise of jazz in Stephenson's Library on the property, but the night we tried it out, there was no jazz to be heard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Thank you for being our guest, and for providing your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed the pools and restaurants, as well as exploring the Waimea Canyon, a must when visiting Kauai! Our apologies that the Jazz band wasn't playing the night you went to Stevenson's Library, we hope you otherwise had a great time! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.