We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon of a lifetime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Car & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
“Honeymoon of a lifetime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I just loved this resort. It has everything you would want in a vacation spot and more. The resort is beautiful and we had a great corner suite with an ocean view and it was wonderfully decorated and spacious. I don't really have any complaints about this place other than the fact that it is a little expensive; however, we planned for it and expected it. They had a great breakfast buffet area that overlooked the ocean. We loved Stevenson's Library for a drink before/after dinner. Tide Pools was yummy, but we never went to Dondero's because we didn't want to eat Italian in Hawaii. We are originally from Chicago so we didn't think we'd find anything better in Hawaii. They have a great terrace in the front of the lobby that is wonderful to sit, listen to some music and grab an appetizer or drink. Their spa was unreal. If you get a massage there ask for JENNY. It was the best massage I've ever had! The concierge staff was very helpful. They set up all of our excursions and dinner reservations. The gave us recommendations on good places to eat outside of the resort as well. We loved the valet staff. So hilarious and fun! The pool area is spectacular. There are two bars, adult only areas, a lazy river, a salt water lagoon, slides, walk path to the beach, cabanas, plenty of places to lay out and yummy lunch food items/drinks. We spent majority of our days at the pool for some R&R. I definitely felt special at this resort. Everyone was very polite and helpful to us. I would LOVE to go back for an anniversary!

Room Tip: We LOVED our room; however, it was right above Stevenson's Library so you could hear the music l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha Elizabeth R,

Mahalo for sharing your honeymoon experience with us, and once again congratulations! It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and relaxing experience! Our warmest thanks for taking the time to commend our team members, and we will ensure that Jenny at the spa is recognized for her outstanding work, as well as our valet and concierge teams! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your anniversary.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,355
    655
    195
    81
    37
See reviews for
783
1,663
40
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived for a 5 night stay at the Hyatt and we were relieved to find such a great place to relax after all of our wedding festivities. The only hiccup was when we arrived I was dismayed to find that room 3084 was actually the ground floor, walking out to the parking lot. We didn't book a garden style for the view, but I hate the ground floor. I like to open the shades and have lots of light, so I didn't want people from the parking lot or the path that goes by the hotel on that side to be able to look straight into my room! They were able to move us up exactly one floor to room 4084. Not an upgrade or anything, but I felt much better about it. The room itself was great. Spacious, clean, comfortable. We were also on the side of the hotel with the pool which made it easier to access.

That first night we arrived we ate out at the terrace restaurant. I was completely exhausted by the trip out, but the burger I had was great, and they have live entertainment out there each nice which was also nice.

In honor of our honeymoon stay we received a bottle of champagne, a free dessert at Tidepools, and a free cabana for the day. All of which were great. Our package also included the breakfast buffet each day. Without the package I think it would have been a little pricey, but the buffet itself was great. Three choices of fresh juice everyday, a fresh made omelette station, and a great assortment of hot and cold breakfast choices (the macnut pancakes with coconut syrup were most excellent!). With our east coast jet lag we were there right when they opened at 6 and it was pretty much empty at that time so it's easy to get a great spot near the balcony. The staff at breakfast were great, very attentive to get you more juice. And they offered us to go cups for the coffee and tea if we wanted to take a cup. One morning we were in a rush to get to one of our excursions, and they offered us a to go box to grab a muffin or something to take with us if we were worried about not having enough time to eat. Having the buffet each day was great, no need to worry about finding a place to have breakfast, and we were so full we didn't need lunch most days. We didn't eat at the breakfast cart or terrace, but if the buffet is not included in your package these also looked like reasonable options.

One of the mornings were were up quite early and we made our way up to the top of the rock you can see out to the east of the hotel. A little tricky of a climb in the dark, but not too bad. And a great view of the sunrise! Since we were already up there we took the path that leads to the petroglyphs. A nice little hike, took us about 2.5 hours. We weren't able to find the glyphs when when got there but the walk itself was nice and we did see a rare monk seal sunning itself along one of the secluded beaches along the way. Part of the path goes along the edge of the golf course. As we were on a honeymoon we didn't plan for any golfing, but this course looked fabulous, such a great view from the cliffs.

We spent an entire day at the Waimea Canyon which is absolutely a must see. If you don't hike, they have many easy lookouts along the drive that you pretty much just drive up to. If you enjoy hiking and want to see more of the canyon there are a lot of great options. This was the top spot I wish we'd had more time to spend. We hiked from the last viewing station along the Pihea Trail (overlooks Kalalau Canyon and the Na Pali coast) for about a mile to an overlook. And we also took the cliff trail which was maybe 2-3 miles or so (we were able to drive down further with our jeep, if you don't have 4 wheel it's a longer hike). This hike had great views from inside the canyon. Ask either the concierge, or at the visitor center in the canyon for other hike recommendations based on your ability. We heard from other travelers that the swamp trail was amazing, we just didn't have time to do it.

At the hotel we ate at Tidepools on our last night. The food was great, and of course the free dessert for our honeymoon was a nice touch. We didn't get one of the tables right on the water, and there wasn't much of a view for sunset, but overall the ambiance was lovely. During the trip we also ate at the Beach House 5 minutes down the road, which had food that was at least as good if not better, and the view of the sunset there was almost unbeatable.

The day we took advantage of our free cabana we got one at the adult pool area which was great. The pool side service was very attentive. The drinks were on the pricey side, but they were very good. We also got the hummus platter which had a generous portion of hummus and was very good for an afternoon snack/light lunch.

Per the concierge's recommendation we took Captain Andy's Sailing trip to see the coast. I thought it was a great trip, but you might be able to find a cheaper or smaller boat size if you booked it yourself. The breakfast they offered was very light, some fruit and light pastry, both were fine. We stopped early in the trip for what felt like a very quick snorkeling stop. After that we saw an amazing pod of spinner dolphins who were very active and fun to watch. There were great views of the coast. At the end of the sail out they stopped for lunch which was a hearty selection of very good lunch meats with bread, pasta salad, and open beer/wine bar for the rest of the sail back. When we turned back we spotted a pod of bottlenose dolphins who stayed with the boat for quite a while. The captain said it was very rare to see the bottlenose dolphins (though they see the spinners everyday). The rest of the sail back was full speed, and very bumpy! We took Dramamine that morning, and I highly recommend anyone else do so as well. At least 4 people got seasick, if not more than I saw on my side of the boat.

One of the days I visited the Anara Spa for a lomi lomi massage and a facial while my new husband took the helicopter tour of the island. He took the blue Hawaii tour which he said was great, except that his headphones didn't work so he didn't get to hear any of the music or commentary. As a result they comp'ed him a copy of the DVD of the ride. My facial and massage were great, the spa itself is pretty nice but didn't quite compare to the brochure. I'd also gotten the impression that most of the treatments are in the outdoor open air hales but this is not the case (I think those must be only for couples treatments). Given that it was quite pricey I'd suggest saving your money and going for a great massage when you get home (I find flying fairly stressful and wish I'd saved the treat of a massage until I got back so I'd have something to look forward to)

Given the time of year it was recommended we stay on the south shore and it seemed spot on as the weather everyday was impeccable. If we were coming in the summer, I'd consider staying somewhere on the north shore. The south is close to the Waimea canyon, several of the boat tours leave from both north and south ports, and many of the restaurants seem to be on the south shore.

Overall it's a very nice, high end resort. The prices are what you'd expect, but the quality all around is very high and met all expectations. The grounds and pools are impeccably kept up. There are hammocks and porch swings scattered about the grounds which made for delightful sunrise and sunset viewing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side might be more active, but ours was fine and we appreciated easier access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha hdempsey,

Mahalo for your review, and congratulations once again on your recent nuptials! We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing honeymoon stay with us, and thank you for sharing your exceptional experience and beautiful pictures! Hiking along the Shipwreck beach cliffs and at the Waimea Canyon are also some of our favorite things to do too, and it's also wonderful that you spotted several dolphins on the Napali Coast tour.

We're also pleased that you enjoyed the honeymoon amenities at the pool, Tidepools, and spa! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, as we do have an Anniversary amenity as well. Until then best wishes to the newlyweds, and A Hui Hou!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hyatt's are always nice but this was phenomenal. Rivers and pools in the back on looking the beach. Salt water lagoon and two bars. A few restaurants to choose from which were all very good, the ones we tried at least, all except Donderos and the poolside service. Drinks were great too, but everything is pricy, and well made. A team of concierges awaits you in the lobby everyday for what ever reservations or excursions you want to book. They were very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Staff was always wonderful!
Why to stay:
Pools and jacuzzi, there's 3 of them!, open all night!
Room service very late
tv was great(The tv matters) and the room, garden view simplest room, was big and very comfortable
Everyone kept saying, "where are you staying? At the Hyatt! ...Oh very nice!....Nicest hotel on the island...Did you win the lottery or something? lol It makes you feel special.
Most good restaurants close by
Why not to stay:
Also very nice hotels in the north where the the really nice beaches are
There are other hotels nearby almost as nice closer to better beaches
Most other hotels are cheaper and I mean a lot cheaper in some cases for comparable quality
Personally...the east or north would have suited us better for shopping and beach locations

All in all great hotel!

Room Tip: Garden view was fine no need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

Mahalo for being our guest. We are delighted that you had a great stay, and feel honored to be recognized as the best hotel you've ever stayed with! We'd also like to thank you for recognizing our concierge team and their excellent service! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warmest Aloha,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

You will not regret staying here. While it is quite expensive, it is gorgeous. The pool area is its best feature with numerous waterfalls, water slide, lagoons, bridges. The beach right next to the resort is nice, it's called Shipwreck beach. There is a large rock you can get on to watch sunrise. Staff were mostly very helpful and friendly. Many thanks to Christian at Iliama breakfast cafe, Mike at Tidepools, Malaika at the FD. They were phenomenal! Concierge was very helpful too. But if you would like to save on activities book with local agencies, you will save big. Everything they do at this resort will make your stay unforgettable and personalized, from a flower lei greeting to covering your meals on the breakfast terrace from birds. Kauai has so much to offer and see that you definitely need at least 5 days to spend. Renting a car is an absolute must to see all the beaches, get to hikes, canyon etc. Helicopter tour is a number one thing to do. Tunnels beach is about 90 min away from the resort, once you get there on your way back you can stop at many places, little towns and beaches that are also worth seeing. Poipu beach is very crowded, I would not recommend it. Luau at the resort is a great event with unlimited drinks and buffet, great show dancers and entertainment. And their Mai Tai is the best I have tried.... I can't wait to come back, and this time for a week...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for you review!

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you enjoyed many features of the resort including the pools, water slide, and beach. As you know, the Shipwreck rock is a gorgeous spot to watch the sunrise. We'd also like to thank you for commending our team members, and we have shared your warm comments with our staff and their respective managers,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a longer vacation, and of course with more famous Mai Tais!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week and had an amazing time! The staff was very welcoming, helpful and always smiling. The property is gorgeous with a great pool and beach. I would definitely stay here again and it is worth the price. The only negative thing I have to say is that I was not impressed with their breakfast, especially for the price. We did eat at Tidepools and had a great view of the koi fish, moon, and waterfall from our table. The food was delicious! We had a partial ocean view room and had a great view of the pool area and the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for commending our staff for their service and warm hospitality, it is truly what we strive for each day. Our only regret is that we did not exceed your expectations in regards to the breakfast buffet. However, we thank you for providing feedback and your comments will be shared with our culinary team to ensure future guest satisfaction.

Mahalo again for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

A Hui Hou,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just returned from an October 2012 seven day stay at the Grand Hyatt and could not be more pleased with the experience. The resort is beautiful, the staff attentive and friendly. The pools (salt water & fresh) are expansive, well designed and lovely to both be in and around. The landscaping at ths resort is unbelievable. I noticed staff out every day maintaining absolute perfection. This is a large resort, at 52 acres, including an adjacent fabulous golf course. Not a single foot of this place in unadorned or uncared for. The archtecture of the hotel itself is lovely, a real classic structure which blends beautifully with its surroundings. The beaches are gorgeous, although the water can be a bit rough at times. Nonetheless, they are wonderful to walk on, and there is a trail you can take to a bluff overlooking the east side of the resort to watch the sunrise. Frankly the pools are so extensive, you won't even miss swimming in the ocean. We did see lots of surfers and boogie boarders though enjoying the beach. The rooms themselves are nice, with large bathrooms.

We stayed in a room with Grand Club privileges and found it quite worthwhile. The club is open all day and presents a nice continental breakfast with cereals, bagels, cheeses, fresh fruit, and generally a hot item of the day, like eggs benedict. After breakfast the club is open all day with soft drinks, water, and snacks. In the evenings it has an open bar, including pretty nice brand scotches, vodkas, wisheys, rum etc., as well as an assortent of beer and wines, together with hot and cold appetizers. Later in the evening it serves cordials and deserts. Frankly, most nights the appetizers were enough for my husband and I for dinner. Our package also came with the full breakfast buffet, which is what we enjoyed most mornings. It was lovely, and served in a terrific open air resturaunt with gorgeous ocean views.

If you are trying to decide between the North Shore or Poipu, we definetely liked Poipu better. While we did not stay on the north shore we did drive up there, which I highly recommend. It is very pretty, but much more remote. We checked out the St. Regis and found the grounds of the Hyatt superior in every way. The St Regis itself is smaller although as you drive in you would question that description. However, the resort itself sits at the end of 2 mile road, which is chock full of condos. It just does not have the same type of resorty feel as the Hyatt. It does not have the extensive landscaped grounds. While it has an infinity pool, it did not compare to the multi leveled enormous pools at the Hyatt, which never feels crowded, as it is so fablously landscaped. We also liked the area around Poipu better, in that it was always sunny, and there were more resturaunts and shopping which were more easily assessible.

We would recommend Captain Andy's Southern Star cattamaran trip to the Napali Coast. Awesome. I was convinced at first I wanted to do the Blue Doplhin charter, since it received a higher rating in our Fodors book. However, the staff at the Hyatt (which made arrangements for everything for us) talked us into the Southern Star. I'm so glad they did. While I'm sure the Blue Dolphin is also very nice (and lets face it they all go to the same wonderful place - the Napaili Coast), since they all leave from the same port (Port Allen) we had the opportunity to see all the ships and there is no doubt, Captain Andy's new flagship, the Southern Star, is in a class by itself. It's the newest and largest ship, and rides very smoothly. No worries about sea sickness! The crew is friendly and attentive. We chose the afternoon sunset crusie, with dinner. We would also highly recommend Waimea Canyon, it's a spectacular drive, and very close the Poipu. There are several hiking trails there as well. The views are terrific, and the description of this place, as the Grand Canyon of the Pacific is no overstatement. We also enjoyed a helicopeter ride, which is a wonderful way to see the whole island. If you have to make a choice between the helicopter or cruise, I would vote for the cruise, which is also the less expensive option.

We have now been fortunate enough to visit all four of the main Hawaiin Islands, and we enjoyed Kauai the most. Although it does not have the extensive nightlife, it is by far the most beautiful of the islands. We found plenty to do, and even ran out of time to enjoy all the activites we had planned, like kayaking the river, and some other sight seeing trips, primarily because it was so difficult to leave the resort!

I don't think you will be disappointed in chosing the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review!

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous Kauai vacation and now favor it as the best of the Hawaiian Islands! You truly immersed yourself in all that the resort and Kauai has to offer, and it is the perfect way to experience the island! As you said the Napali coast is a must see, and we're glad you enjoyed the boat cruise. While the list of activities goes on, we hope to welcome you back for more adventures, including kayaking the famous Wailua River.

Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 10-year anniversary here from 10/13-10/16/2012 before we joined the rest of the fam on Oahu.

Yes this hotel is pricey, but sometimes you cannot put a price on paradise or a once-in-a-lifetime experience; some people like flat-screen TVs everywhere in their house, others like 20 different kinds of the same purse, and others like a perfect vacation. The Grand Hyatt Poipu (GHP) delivers on its promises....

*the self-parking is actually quite close to the main entry
*the open-air lobby rivals most resorts in Hawaii - relaxing, live trees and flowers, art, great seating areas with views of the ocean
*friendly GHP staff from valet to concierge to spa staff
*we were in Room 4068, which is ground level on the "Shipwreck" side - best room area for quick access to the lobby, pools, and parking lot (honestly)
*pools are a great reason to stay on site: lazy river with waterfalls, jacuzzis, a saltwater lagoon - and the pool system is so huge it just never seems crowded (or maybe we just stayed here at the right time). check for bar specials because the drinks start at $12.
*access to pools is 24/7 as far as we knew
*koi feeding at 9am - DO IT! it's free
*amazing spa experience (couples massage) with "are you serious?" type showers and saunas
*breakfast buffet overpriced at $31/pp, but lots of goodies so come hungry and stay a while (or find a package with the breakfast included)
*snack/breakfast bar serves Starbucks, local coffee, musubi, and huge $4 muffins (which were quite good)
*beautiful sandy beach, but water is very rough with dangerous rocks - swimming not advised unless you know the area (besides you have the pools)
*the grounds are manicured well and offer pretty much all-access for guests: yes, you CAN walk on the grass here!
*couples swings and hammocks nestled here and there on the grounds
*concierge service is very helpful and worth it if you're not into putting in the time to research the best ___ to do... otherwise, I've heard that they overprice by about $50-100 (do realize that concierge services get priority at many excursions though)
*the room: we had a std king POOL VIEW and it was very roomy, mini-fridge with two free bottled waters a day, large bathroom, rain shower head with additional hand jet attachment, 42ish" flat-panel HDTV, wifi (weak signal though), patio overlooking pool area, sounds of the ocean with the patio doors open, comfy robes, DON'T use the bag in the closet unless you want to buy it for $70
*guests steal the Do Not Disturb markers because they make nice shell bracelets I'm assuming
*we did not hear any noise from other guest rooms when inside our room
*there is a reasonably-priced convenience shop in the hotel for lotion and booze
*went off-site to eat dinner (Upper Merriman's down the street was decadently good)

I could go on, but just close your eyes and imagine what you'd expect from a resort in a beautiful, far-away location... You'll find it here at the GHP.

cheers/dom

Room Tip: Though our Room #4068 was ground level, it was close to everything. If you're not into walking 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaila A, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Aloha Dom,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us! We are so pleased that you and your wife had a magnificent 10 year wedding anniversary, congratulations once again! We are elated by your detailed and heart-felt words about your experience here, and it was our pleasure to have you as a guest! We hope to see you again, until then safe travels and A Hui Hou!

Warmest Aloha and Mahalo,
Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort Spa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort And Spa Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.