We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuhio Shores Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Save
You added Kuhio Shores Condos to your Saves list
5050 Lawai Beach Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

You can't go wrong with unit 116 at Kuhio Shores. It's nicely furnished and clean. In fact, the entire complex is immaculate. But what makes this ground level unit so nice, is the fact that you are about as close to the water as you can possibly get! Wheather you are in the kitchen or on the couch, you have a great view of the ocean. There are also plenty of places to eat and shop, all within walking distance. in fact, there is a great restaurant right next door! We spent every morning on the lanai having coffee and watching the sunrise, turtles, and the occasional whale. It was pure relaxation. We enjoyed it so much, we have already booked this unit for March 2012.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    40
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
238
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, ga
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at Kuhio Shores #418 May 22-30' 2011. The condo was immaculate with every convenience you would need on a vacation. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots and pans, cooking utensils and even some "basics" like olive oil, salt and pepper and other spices. The views are magnificent! Off the well appointed balcony, you can view the surfers while watching snorkelers from the side windows in the living room. The owners take great pride in keeping this condo in tip top shape. This end unit provides a fabulous sunset view. The owners also provide allmof the beach amenities you could possibly need - beach chairs, umbrella, snorkel equipment and boogie boards. I would highly recommend this condo to the most discerning vacationer. You wil not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Kuhio Shores #116 for the third time. We love the location of this condo. It is always peaceful here and very easy to sleep in the comfortable bedroom. We always get parking right outside the condo and this is very convenient. Everyday we sit outside for hours watching the surfers and boats and turtles. The sunsets are incredible each evening. This condo is comfortably furnished and has everything that we need. It also has beach towels to use and a cooler to take along on outings. The owner is Ann Breedlove and she is very nice to deal with. She is very good about answering all questions and returns emails promptly. It is our hope to return to this condo many times.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was our 15th visit to the beautiful island of Kauai, and the 3rd or 4th time we have stayed at Kuhio Shores Condos. Of all of our stays in condos in Hawaii, both on Maui and Kauai, Unit 110 was the best ever. Super clean, very well equipped, fabulous view, great bed, next to the Beach House restaurant, Poipu Golf Course close by, and I could go on and on and on. If you are going to Kauai, I would highly recommend this unit you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed in condo #414 at the end of April 2011 and had a wonderful time. The condo is a much better value than the pricey hotels down the street. We had a front row seat to the sunset, sea turtles and surfers. The condo was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities of home. We especially loved the snorkeling gear, boogie boards and beach chairs. What more could you ask for? It was centrally located to several restaurants and beaches in Poipu. We especially loved the Beach House restaurant next door and Casa di Amici. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We have just returned from our 15th vacation in Unit 118 at Kuhio Shores. We have stayed in other condos at Kuhio Shores too, but none compare to our favorite condo! One of the reasons we like #118 best, is the fact that it is a corner unit, which allows us a much better view than the other condos. It is also a ground floor unit, and has what feels like its own private back yard. Being able to walk out onto a manicured lawn without having to walk around the entire building to do so is very convenient.

The owner is a builder in San Diego. He is constantly updating the condo. Every time we go back, something in the condo is brand new. We cook a lot while staying in the condo. #118 has brand new Kitchen Aid stainless steel appliances with a convection oven & microwave. The carpets and tile flooring is new too. And we loved the new plantation style louvered teak doors that were recently installed in the condo.

How many owners of rental condos would put expensive Tommy Bahama furniture in their rental? Not many, that's for sure. And get this! The owner has even put incredibly expensive chrome Dolphin and Sea horse faucets in the condo.

I should probably warn all you husbands that might read this! Your wife is going to want to buy new things for your home after staying in this condo. So maybe you shouldn't stay in #118. It might cost you a lot more than you thought it would. It has me!

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Kuhio Shores #403 in late April 2011. We were very impressed with the complex including its cleanliness and wonderful location at the west end of the Poipu Beach area. The ocean is right out the door and it was amazing falling asleep to the sound of the surf. The only slight knock on the condo complex is that that there is no pool, but with everything else to do in the area it's not much of a minus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Address: 5050 Lawai Beach Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuhio Shores Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.