We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, relaxing time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Point at Poipu to your Saves list
The Point at Poipu
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1613 Pe'E Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Ojai, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, relaxing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how large our condo was and how it was decorated. The resort employees were all courteous and very nice. The grounds are well taken care of and clean. The pool has the illusion of being a lagoon...a great place to lounge by or swim in. A perfect place for families or couples.
Our room was directly located next to building 6 they are redoing. Even though they worked on it from approximately 9-5, it was not loud inside of our condo. If you are considering taking a trip in the next few months request a different condo than building 7, if construction bothers you at all.
Overall...we had a fantastic trip and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the parking lot unless you don't mind walking quite a distance. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    239
    69
    26
    11
See reviews for
228
187
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Friends had the unit for a week and we stayed there our first night before changing resorts the next day. The location is beautiful and the resort is kept spotless and is totally updated. We loved the grounds with koi ponds and waterfalls, the pool had a sand beach, very cool, and a tiki bar. It was a short path walk to the ocean and sea turtles could be seen playing in the surf. We even saw whales spouting offshore. The unit was a two bedroom and very nice, the guest room had two twins but it was easy to slide them together. Large walk in closet and black out curtains and two full baths. There were fans and central air and the appliances were all newer. It is a quite resort which we really appreciated and the staff we did meet were all friendly. Would definitely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Point at Poipu! We hope you get the opportunity to return here for a longer vacation, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The Point at Poipu was perfect for our vacation with our friends. It was a two bedroom suite with a kitchen. The views from the check in center were fantastic. We were tucked away in a corner with views of the garden and a cart path. We still enjoyed it thoroughly. In fact our linai kept us fully protected from the winds and with A little walk and we were soaking in the views. The pool was the perfect temp and they have a good size spa. We took the liberty of walking next door to the Grand Hyatt several days and even had lunch there on Mother's Day. We walked the grounds several times because you just can't get enough of the beauty there. We had signed up to listen to a timeshare presentation just to get a great deal on a plane ride, but the times they had available didn't fit with our schedule so we cancelled. We were not pressured at all to do the time share presentation. Would do it again here. Very nice and relaxing. They even have a workout center "Aloha Center" where they have various activities for all ages.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very nice, well maintained, but too big for me. We prefer a less intimidating environemnt for our annual Hawaii trip.We usaully go for 10-14 days, so like to be in a more low key environment. Although we paid for an ocean view, our ocean view was only over an embankment, and only for a far away open ocean. Perhaps something other than the ground floor would have provided a better view, but ground floor access was desirable. That said, a short walk took you to the magnificent shoreline, where there were excellent walking paths. The staff was quite accomodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: If you truly want an ocean view, go up a few floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Point at Poipu was a wonderful way to start our Hawaiian holiday. Our room 8-203 was awesome, we had full ocean views from each of the bedrooms and the living room, a great balcony with full out door setting to take in the beautiful views and all the comforts of home including two bathrooms and a washer and dryer. The pool is huge and very clean with a nice spa and plenty of lounge chairs. The poolside snack bar is reasonably priced and the activities offered if not free, are great value. They have onsite bbqs that are free to use also. The staff were very friendly and the free food to go and feed the fish made my 5 year olds day. After asking us to once and being told no the time share staff left us alone, not a problem. A car is a must to enjoy all this beautiful island has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Our aim is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experiences and we hope we will have another opportunity to offer you an enjoyable stay again in the future. Your coming back would be the best compliment we could ask for, until then however, we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently returned from a stay at the point at Poipu. A nice relaxing resort beautiful view. Upon check-in they gave us a room next to the construction, I noticed that and immediately asked for room farther from construction which they happily gave us. We had a room in building nine on the first floor and had a great view of shipwreck Beach to the left and the ocean to the right. Any day you walk down to the rocky coast in front of the resort you can see the turtles feeding in the bay. We also saw a local fisherman catch a very large – and bring it up at least 50 pounds, neat! Parking is very easy in building nine as the parking lot is right behind. This resort is located near many restaurants and points of interest. The resort itself is very quiet laid-back. A small bar by the pool is pretty much the only place to get a drink or snack. The bartenders Colleen and Mel were both very helpful with the local area. They also make a good Mai Tai. On Thursday the resort throws a meet and greet for all the guests. Honestly it's not really worth your time. Two dollars for watered-down Mai Tai’s or 6 ounce Bud lights. They were constantly out of food which was nothing more than chips and carrots. They do have nice natural gas grills that they keep very clean and we did use one night. The maid service was great and kept our room clean and the room was very nice. Next of the pool they have a little shop where you get towels rent boogie boards or snorkeling gear. Ajia worked at the shop most of the week during our stay, she is a superstar. She set up our scuba diving, helped us make decisions on restaurants, kept us informed of the local weather, and helped us pick out other excursions. She went above and beyond the call and made our stay very pleasant. I really can't say enough about how much she helped us. In particular the scuba diving outfit “Dive Down Under” was really great. Guillaume the dive master, was informative professional and lots of fun. Pointing out lots of things that we were not used to seeing from the Caribbean.
Overall the Point at Poipu was a nice resort, clean and situated in a great part of the island. Very quiet overall with a good staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which overlooked the new construction with a partial view of Shipwreck Beach. The construction noise wasn't bad at all and only bothered us a few times as we weren't around too much during the time they were working. My only complaint was that the washing machine was so noisey that we had to be very careful about when we used it so we didn't bother anyone. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Poipu is a great area to stay in and we enjoyed both Poipu Beach and Lawai Beach for snorkeling. The resort is close to shopping, restaurants, churches, and beaches. There is a nice walking path along the coast, but the resort is not right on a beach. All in all we would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pe'E Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point at Poipu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.