We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for that island feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keoki's Paradise

Keoki's Paradise
2360 Kiahuna Plantation Drive, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
(808) 742-7534
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Keoki's Paradise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Road
Transit: Kauai Bus stop about a 5-10 minute walk on Poipu Rd.
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place for that island feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place was fun! Loved the ambiance. Went for dinner, the service felt a little rushed, but we were enjoying ourselves and didn't really pay attention to that. We did not make a reservation, so we had to wait(not an issue at all for us). We had salads before our meals, they were delicious! My husband had the caesar and I had the dinosaur kale salad(yum!), I had the catch of the day prepared in macadamia nuts and panko crust, husband had the teriyaki sirloin, everything was prepared well and delicious! Definitely recommend and would go back. Also, for dessert, since it was our honeymoon, they gave us the mint chip hula pie on the house! We would have paid, it was so delicious, but it was nice :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    753
    251
    65
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went with friends (2 of them from Oahu) to Keoki's and we were impressed with the prompt 7:00 seating. It was quite a surprise to see the lushness of the garden which really gave it a Hawaiian feel. I think the garden is in view wherever you sit. Cat, our server, knew the menu to a T - especially the different fish that can be prepared the way it says on the menu. That was confusing, because it doesn't say what kind of fish is available. We had been to Roy's on a previous trip, and told Cat that Keoki's was better because it's not stuffy. 3 of us shared the hula pie. That evening, there was a person entertaining on one side of the restaurant, but on our side, it sounded like recorded music. That was a little disconcerting - would have rather enjoyed the live performer's sounds instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, very romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We made reservations based on advise, definitely a good idea as this place is very busy. We were seated in a lovely spot and received excellent service. Food was delicious and the chocolate mousse was to die for. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Finally a true hit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wow!
Great restaurant!
One of our top two during our visit (Tidepools was the other one).

We arrived for their happy hour (3-5 pm). Reduced price drinks and a few appetizers and some entrees. Here's the link to this event;

http://www.keokisparadise.com/menus/bamboo-bar

They also have a sunset menu from 4:45-5:45 pm. Here's the link;

http://www.keokisparadise.com/menus/dining-room
Click on Chef's Sunset Menu button on top row.

We ordered a really good Mai Tai ($6) and a local brew ($4) publicized at 29 degrees.
It was. Also ordered the Aloha pork spring rolls ($5).
The spring rolls were awesome with their sauce. The only two "misses" were the lettuce garnish under and around the spring rolls were wilted and not fresh looking and the lime on the rim of the Mai Tai glass was dried out on the sides. The ONLY "misses" all evening.

You can really see the standardization here. This restaurant is part of the company that owns Duke's, Hula Girl, Leilani's, Kimo's and a few others. We've eaten at five of them and we can see the same attention to detail;
Well prepared and presented food made with quality/fresh ingredients, reasonably priced menu and wine selections, impeccable service and furnishings are fairly consistent from facility to facility.

There are numerous chickens, some with their chicks roaming around the tables. Kinda fun. They don't bother you, but they do like "handouts, lol. Bring your cameras.

After happy hour (only in the bar area. Yes, they do have tables you can sit at), we waited briefly for a table by the waterfall. Gorgeous property! Little stream runs through it with lots of vegetation, parrots, sparrows.

Ordered a Pork Belly Wrap for starters. If you don't like spicy, don't get this. Has some Kimchee that packs some heat, but very good. My wife got the Farmer's Market salad that was so very fresh and flavorful with most, if not all the greens grown locally.

The wife got the SEAFOOD RISOTTO;
Lobster, shrimp, scallop and fresh fish, shiitake mushrooms, and chardonnay herb risotto.
Awesome preparation and a lot of it. The risotto was cooked perfectly with lots of seafood. Nice.

I got the CHEF'S FRESH FISH DUO;
A combination of two Hawaiian fresh fish. Misoyaki seared and herb grilled, cirtus vinaigrette, Thai coconut jasmine rice, and locally farmed vegetable. The fish were walu and opah, perfectly cooked.

We were too full for dessert.

What a great experience. The service, the food quality and the ambiance of this establishment deserves a visit. Make sure you make reservations. It gets crowded FAST.

Stay hungry my friends.

Until the next review...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had lunch and dinner there. Very nice garden venue. Excellent food and beverage choices. A little pricey but worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keoki's Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Keoki's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keoki's Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.