We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely eclectic restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Amici

Casa di Amici
2301 Nalo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9779 (Koloa)
808 742 1555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa di Amici is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Koloa
Cross street: Hoone
Cody, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely eclectic restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Although the name is Italian, this restaurant has something to please everyone! Very close to Poipu Beach, my family was looking for a nice evening away from our hotel and discovered Casa di Amici. Wonderful Alfredo, fresh catch, shrimp scampi and everything from steaks to contemporary Asian dishes. This family owned restaurant aims to please with excellent service, too!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    87
    43
    47
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food, romantic deck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were really sad to hear about the closing of Pomodoro's, but understood about the retirement and moving on. Fortunately, some friends of ours had invited us to this, "out of the way" restaurant near the Poi Pu beach, Casa di Amici. We were lost at first, but then saw the sign and remembered it was up the dead end neighborhood road. We were lucky we got in as the place is small and fills up early. We also were able to get a table on the lanai. They have great wines, salads and pastas. My wife and I split a Misto salad. She had the ravioli and I had penne w/ sausage. Wow, were they good! They have such a great menu and their Specials sounded too good to be true, but we were looking for pasta and we found it. We did not have enough room for desert, so we ordered one to go. It was great later that night! Plan ahead and call or stop by to get a reservation.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, outdated and scary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We came to this restaurant ten years ago and had a mediocre experience but wanted to give it a second chance. Big mistake. Restaurant decor looks like it hasn't been cleaned or updated since we last visited. Food: expensive for no reason. No table clothes or placemats, cheap Formica tables, the cheapest flatware and mismatched dishes we've seen outside of Diners & Dives. My wine glass had a crack which had been glued! Baked tomato appetizer: cheese slapped onto a few tomatoes, baked until so hard we could barely cut it. Lobster Bisque? How about Campbell's? Entrees tasted like something your college roommate throws together on a Monday night. Awful. Server had good intentions, but ditched us once the meals came and knew nothing about fine service at a restaurant where $28-30 is the average entree price. Piano player was very good. Only highlight. We'll never come back here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A diamond find on this island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I wish I would have found this on the beginning of my vacation , the food was very fresh and original . Will be back to enjoy this

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not much good to say”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

30 minutes to get some soggy garlic bread followed by very tasty Italian food and then a quick grab the check and leave. I could have enjoyed a fast food experience just as well for a fraction of the price. My tip reflected my level of enjoyment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa di Amici also viewed

 

Been to Casa di Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Amici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.