We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spouting Horn

Spouting Horn
South Shore, Poipu, Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Attractions in Poipu
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Water forced through a lava tube produces hissing and a plume of spray.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This natural attraction is definitely worth your effort. Water shoots 30+ feet in the air followed by an amazing "huffing" sound. Have never seen anything like it and it's one of the few free things you can see and do on Kauai.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    555
    374
    44
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice but the one on the Big Island is more spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was very nice and "safe" -- the one on the Big Island is better because you can actually walk down to it and get sprayed with the water (though people have also been "clueless and stupid" and fallen in and died there). Probably better in the winter months with heavy surf -- we went in June (though there was a heavy surf advisory) -- it was nice but not amazing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sea-bound geyser”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This isn't a destination where there is a lot of activities, there is a bathroom, chickens, and a rather cheesy collection of souvenir stands that you must walk by on your way from the parking lot to the viewing area. But no one is a hard sell and you can walk by without being hassled which is nice. The viewing area is a very small corner that overlooks a flat lava flow with a few jagged rocks. You must devote at least 10-15 minutes until the crashing waves find just the right angle to hit and then... You are rewarded with a geyser of water shooting between 20-25 feet in the air with a loud hiss of sound. An interesting note is that during our morning visit in mid July there was a group of 5 sea turtles swimming among the rocks to the right of the spouting horn. We stayed an extra 20 minutes or so just to watch these creatures.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“10 minute stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We first seen this when we went here 10 years ago, and decided to stop here in 5/13. The first time we went there it held more of a mystery to us. I guess we knew to expect this time around. I never get tired of the scenery. It is a water spout that is caused by the force of the waves coming in from the ocean. There is plenty of parking. They still have the vendors in the parking lot. Worth the stop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Little Patience ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I suppose one could consider Spouting Horn to be Kauai's version of a geyser. It is fun to watch -- and listen to -- the water spout from below the heavy rocks, and I suppose one could use one's imagination to consider the rocks a whale and the water spewing from its blowhole ... but that's about all that's worth seeing. Once, and for just a few moments. I was more impressed with the vista from the shore ... looking out over the vast sea.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spouting Horn also viewed

 

Been to Spouting Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spouting Horn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.