We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stat Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Gardens Restaurant

Plantation Gardens Restaurant
2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
(808) 742-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Plantation Gardens Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Plantation Gardens Restaurant & Bar is located in a beautifully restored plantation manor on the Hawaiian Island of Kauai. Dating back to the 1930's, the estate once served as the plantation manager's home for Hawaii's first sugar plantation, the Koloa plantation. Later, the estate was acquired by the Moir Family who built the world famous gardens that surround the restaurant. Our menu reflects the heritage of old plantation Hawaii, which celebrates the abundance and beauty of the Hawaiian Islands. Our fresh fish is caught daily by local fishermen in waters off Kauai. We use organically grown vegetables and herbs picked fresh on nearby farms and from our own gardens. Guests may choose to dine on our lanai overlooking tranquil gardens, lily ponds and tropical foliage or in our exquisitely refurbished dining room which features gorgeous Brazilian cherry wood floors, woven bamboo tables and plantation ceiling fans.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Stat Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

When they have wedding parties here, the music is so loud you can hear it over at the down, beach!! WHen asked to turn it down, they said "NO". The food is not that good, the management is rude, and there are other places to eat. Stay Away!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Manager at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
My sincere apologies for your experience! Here at Plantation Gardens we take pride in being one of the top wedding venues on the South Shore of the island. We try our best to accommodate both our Wedding Parties and the resort guests. We are permitted to play music until the 10pm noise ordinance at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, which we strictly abide by. I'm sorry to say we did not receive any noise complaints at the restaurant or else we would have softened the music right away. We will definitely speak with the Front Desk of the resort to make sure we are notified with any noise complaints so we can correct the situation immediately. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    224
    88
    45
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our first day at he Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. The setting was beautiful, overlooking the garden. The waiter was attentive. The food was delicious. It was a nice, relaxing end to a long, long day of traveling.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This restaurant has beautiful gardens and a lovely setting on the veranda. The food was ok, and our party of 6 found the portions on the small side. The staff was not very friendly compared to the similar priced restaurants on the island

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We sat on the lanai for dinner just after sunset. The gardens looked beautiful. We started with the Shrimp roll which was very tasty. I had the Pork and my husband had the Pot Roast. I was surprised when the waiter Justin said they were the two most popular dishes with the local residents- a change from fish. Dinner was very good, cooked well and very tasty. The service was attentive without being intrusive. Given the location prices were reasonable too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ate here years ago, so I had to come back on another visit. Love the setting. As others have said. We ate outside which is a must. Our service (Justin) was excellent. Reminds you of Joey from Friends. The menu is very limited so I had the pot roast $26.95. Not something I would be ordering in Kauai. It was good, and I had leftovers to have another night in the condo. My wife had a pork dish for $27.95. Beers were $5 and chard wine was $6.75. Skip their ice cream dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plantation Gardens Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Plantation Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Gardens Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.