We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Puka Dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
2360 Kiahuna Plantation Dr, Poipu Shopping Village, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)
808-742-6044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Koloa
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Puka Dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Absolutely the best lemonade I have ever had sweet but not overly sweet that it makes you sick. The Puka dog itself was excellent with wide selection of relishes and a lilikoi mustard that made this an excellent experience worthy of returning to multiple times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    484
    181
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had heard some great reviews of Puka Dog. I am not really fond of dogs. We stood in line, be prepared to wait. It is well worth the time you spend in line. The unique presentation of the dog in the bun and the variety of toppings/sauces you can have is great. I loved the dog. If you have the chance you need to try this unique food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

BEST Lemonade I've had in my 56 years. The Puka Dog (polish sausage, mild garlic sauce, mango relish and Hawaiian mustard).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love me some Puka Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We visited in 2008, and it would be one of my first stops if I ever get back to Hawaii. These dogs are amazing! What makes them so awesome, is how unique they are. The bread is fantastic, the wide range of sauces and the lemon garlic butter is outstanding! This place is a hole in the wall, that you DO NOT want to miss! Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gotta Try One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Well, in our case we had two! On our drive to the farthest drive able point in the north shore we enjoyed a Puka Dog for lunch. It is a genius venture and I'm do happy for the person who made the hot dog Hawaiian! I had the polish dog with no special sauce, coconut relish and lilikoi mustard and my husband had the polish dog with spicy sauce, pineapple relish and lilikoi mustard. This is not fine cuisine, these are hot dogs. BUT they are a must try on Kauai and darn good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puka Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.