We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Maka Guest Suites

Hale Maka Guest Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Maka Guest Suites
Save
You added Hale Maka Guest Suites to your Saves list
1690 Keleka Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9582 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Gem in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We just came back from spending 7 nights in paradise. Kathie and Lee has a beautiful place, it's immaculate, the location is superb. And to top it off, they have 2 adorable mini-schnauzers! It was our first trip to Kauai and we loved every bit of the island, but we definitely lucked out picking Hale Maka Guest Suites! Kathie and Lee went way beyond our expectations. I am itching to plan my second trip already.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — would have loved to stay another week or month!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

Imagine that your friends design and build their dream home on Kauai, just a short walk from one of the island's most desirable beaches. These friends LOVE to have houseguests, and go out of their way to make sure their guests have a wonderful time. THAT'S what it's like to stay at Hale Maka.

Over the past 20 years we have stayed at numerous B&B's all over the US and in Ireland (and we frequently stay at resorts and 4* & 5 * hotels, too) and Hale Maka was one of the most impressive and enjoyable experiences of them all.

This gorgeous home is located near the Grand Hyatt Resort, amongst immaculate lawns and lush, tropical flowers and vegetation.

Our large, bright room had a firm, comfortable mattress, large modern bathroom, plush fluffy towels, and high quality bed linens. The closets in our room held dozens of hangers, and an ample supply of additional bath towels and beach towels, and we were invited to use them freely. Not a single corner was cut in building this home and creating a comfortable oasis.

We were welcomed to our room with a plate of assorted fresh fruit and cookies -- replenished during our stay -- sitting on a table in a comfy nook. There was also a basket of granola bars and macadamia nuts, fresh coffee and teabags, and the fridge was stocked with sodas, water, beer and a bottle of wine. All the serving items were provided too: utensils, corkscrew, placemats, wine glasses, tumblers, plates, napkins. There was also a small microwave in our room. The bathroom was stocked with plenty of extra paper goods, as well as items such as bug spray (very handy for the nearby Botanical Garden!) and first aid supplies.

Spotlessly clean, the whole house is contemporary, airy and bright, with beautifully tiled floors, enormous windows, unique and elegant artwork, and stylish furniture. We were encouraged to use the large built-in pool & Jacuzzi, and to help ourselves to their assortment of beach mats, beach towels, and boogie boards to take to the beach. You can help yourself to their extensive dvd collection of recent movies that you can either watch in your room or in the comfortable common area on a larger screen tv. The yard is bursting with magnificent flowers, lovingly tended. Several beaches are within a short walk, and there is an extensive walkway system that connects the surrounding resort communities with the beaches, so you don't have to walk on the road. It also makes a convenient jogging path.

The B&B experience is different than a commercial hotel, and one has to match expectations accordingly. For example, we have *never* stayed in a B&B in which the beds were made up for us daily, so although another reviewer noted this as a negative, we found this to be completely normal. (and no big deal)

Everyone has a different travel style. If you want the "known-quantity" hotel experience, where you can come and go anonymously, and can expect the list of amenities spelled out by the chain's corporate office, then a B&B is probably not for you.

But if you want warmth and personal connection, where the hosts are the ultimate concierges, putting their personal touches into each amenity, suggesting their favorite restaurants and attractions, and treating you like honored guests in a beautiful private home, then a B&B might be your cup of tea. We found Hale Maka -- and its proprietors -- to be exemplary. We are already scheming to return with dear friends, and would not hesitate for a nanosecond to recommend it.

  • Liked — Gracious, elegant environment near the beach
  • Disliked — Checking out and going home!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

I looked all over the place on Kauai for a place to stay on my honeymoon, and almost everywhere was pretty expensive - even for pretty poor looking hotels. Finding the Hale Maka Guest Suites was a lifesaver.

Not only was it incredibly reasonably priced, but it was in a PERFECT location. Just down the road from Poipu beach (the nicest area on Kauai, in my opinion).

The property itself was gorgeous - Kathie and Lee keep it up very well.

PROS:
- Great location
- Amazing house
- Delicious breakfasts
- Unbeatable price!

CONS:
- Did run into a lizard and a gigantic spider in our room on the first night, but I suppose they're all over the island

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

On the whole, this place is indeed delightful, as everyone else has said. However, I did experience some eyebrow raising irregularities here.

The first was that they don't make up the rooms! So much for basic expectations. They do take out the trash once in a while. This lack of basic service makes the dollar value significantly less than what it seems -- though it's certainly still worth staying. But it's not exactly the pampered experience you might think when you first walk in the door.

The other oddity was with the billing. When Kathie sent me the preliminary invoice before my visit, I pointed out that she was incorrectly applying the Transient Accomodations Tax. She was calculating the sales tax on the room charge and then applying the TAT to the subtotal of that, so I was getting taxed on the sales tax as well. To make a long story short, we exchanged several emails about this, and I even sent her documentation from the State of Hawaii that clearly showed that she was wrong. She never conceded, and instead curtly stated that she had been an accountant for many years and therefore she must be right and suggested that I stay someplace else instead if I didn't agree. Needless to say, I didn't press the issue -- the difference was only a dollar or two, but since I was traveling on business, it's awkward to present reimbursement charges when you know they're incorrect and will be reviewed. I also double checked previous bills from hotels in Hawaii that all confirmed the normal computation. I didn't raise it again, but when I left, I did leave a copy of the State of Hawaii documentation, with the relevant sections highlighted. I hope this means that she's now calculating other people's bills correctly, but she certainly never acknowledged this, much less apologized or thanked me.

On the other hand, the breakfasts were fabulous, and Lee is bend-over-backwards helpful. The free wireless internet worked great, too. Those who are allergic to dogs should be informed that they have two small dogs. On the whole, it really is a wonderful place to stay, barring these relatively minor irregularities.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Hale Maka over New Year's. We enjoyed it very much. KAthie and Lee are very gracious hosts and Kathie's breakfasts every morning were a great way to start the day. Very yummy in the tummy. Huevos Rancheros is a hit! My wife loved the fruit plate every morning. Kathie is a great source of information, she is fun to chat with while she cooks breakfast, and will offer great tips on what to do and where to go.

Hale Maka is two bedrooms that Kathie and Lee rent out of there home. They are downstairs from the main house, so privacy is not a concern. The rooms are very clean, the bed is very comfortable and Kathie has the fridge filled with water, soda and a bottle of wine on arrival. Also there are some snack foods in a basket.
The beach is just a short walk away through a very nice neighbourhood, and at the end of a beach day, you can come back and enjoy the pool and hot-tub. Big Bonus.

We are animal lovers , so we enjoyed having the two dogs around, Nikki and Keri, they were lots of fun.

All in all a great place to stay for the $$. If your going to Kaui, you can't go wrong staying at Hale Maka.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Hale Maka Guest Suites and loved it. It's not a typical B & B except in the sense that the hosts do provide you with a bed and breakfast. The owners, Lee and Kathie, have a gorgeous home in the Poipu area within walking distance to the Hyatt. They rent out two rooms on the bottom floor of their home for $125 per night including breakfast. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable with an en suite bath, flat panel tv, mini fridge and microwave, and a queen size bed. There is a small sitting area right outside the rooms where you can watch DVDs (she has tons and they are all recent releases) or read a book.

Kathie's breakfasts were extraordinary. Each day we were offered tea or coffee, juice, a big plate of fresh fruit, and copious amounts of freshly cooked breakfast items. She made us an awesome banana souffle one morning, a veggie frittata another morning, and bacon and eggs another morning. We were also offered toast and fresh mango bread to go along with our meals on most days. She was happy to chat with us as she was cooking breakfast and then would bid us goodbye and send us on our way for the rest of the day.

You have access to a washer and dryer here, free Wi-Fi, free parking in the driveway and use of things like a cooler, beach mats, boogie boards, and surfboards.

The house is about a 10-15 minute walk from Poipu Beach and it is an easy drive to the Poipu Village Shopping Center which has a good number of restaurants.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo,HI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

When we booked there was only one review. We did not know what to expect...the price was reasonable and it sounded nice. Everything was beyond our expectations. The room was very nice-super soft sheets and towels- clean- nice bathroom. Kathie and Lee even took the time to put a few things in the fridge for us.
Breakfast was always very tasty and plentiful, it was a great way to start the day.
The neighborhood has walkways throughout so you can reach several destinations (the beach, restaurants, other resorts)without ever walking on the road. Poipu was a great area with nice beaches.
Kathie and Lee were accomodating in many ways- we took surfboards they had the perfect spot in their garage for them - their were beach chairs and boogie boards we could use- beach towels-
We can't say enough about this B&B we would definitly stay there again. (wish we were still there! =)

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Maka Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maka Guest Suites

Address: 1690 Keleka Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9582
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hale Maka Guest Suites Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Maka Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.