We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Kauai Luau

Grand Hyatt Kauai Luau
1571 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI
+1 808-742-1234
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Koloa Rd
Description: The Grand Hyatt Kauai Luau - Poipu's best Polynesian review. Sumptuous Island-style buffet, tropical beverages, and a spectacular show produced by Tihati Productions. Thursday & Sunday.
Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

.. but com early to get a good seat! Was a highlight of our honeymoon. not "too touristy" - just right. we had a blast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    20
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was my first Luau so I don't have a lot to compare it to... but after reading reviews on the Hyatt's Luau and other Luau's on Kauai we decided to book this one based on convenience (we were staying at the Hyatt). I was a little disappointed after reading the reviews that the Luau would most likely be held inside the ball room (which it was) because it wouldn't feel authentic. I have to say that although it ended up being held inside (which wasn't so bad because you don't have to worry about getting rained on - because it does rain often), the show was phenomenal and the food was delicious (except the poi - which you have to try at least once). The dancers and history was great and they even did the flame/fire show even though it was indoors. The food was great and there was soo much of it!! The service was amazing... our poor waiter/cocktail waiter was sweating because he was running around so much and so quick with refilling our mai tais!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Ten Year Annivesary Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

While most folks would take in a fine dining restaurant on a milestone anniversary, my Wife and I decided to go to a Luau instead. It was an excelent choice. The hula dancers, fire dancers and other performances were top notch. The food buffet was quite good with many interestng & tasty choices and the included Mai Tais were quite good. As the weather was cooperative, the Luau was held outside in a very nice open air setting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Luau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you've never done a luau before, this is a good one to try. The show was wonderful, the drinks kept on coming and the food was very good. Even dessert was great. Everyone should do a luau at least once. Touristy yes but it's a good one time experience if you've never been to one.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I thought the luau was great and the food was awesome! There are unlimited mai tais and beer available and tons of food. The fire show was exciting. Overall, a good activity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Hyatt Kauai Luau also viewed

 

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Kauai Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.